Longevity logo

5 Things I've Learned During My Spiritual Awakening

Navigating a quarantine-inspired spiritual awakening

By Emily AdamsPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
5 Things I've Learned During My Spiritual Awakening
Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

Having a spiritual awakening during a pandemic doesn't seem all that abnormal, but it is not any less profound. In fact, I believe there is a very real shift in perception occurring all over the world right now and if you are a part of it you should consider yourself lucky. You are on a path to self-fulfillment and understanding. Enjoy the journey! (These are things I say now).

Here are 5 things that I have learned while transitioning from a nihilistic atheist into a mystic-christian with a flare for witchcraft.

1 Spirituality Can Be Whatever You Make It

The aspects I enjoy least about organized religion can be separated into two categories: restriction and judgement. I do not believe that these things belong anywhere near a person's spiritual path.

Human baselines tend to lead back to an abundance of ego, which often results in an urge to judge. Up until this point, I considered myself a decent person with okay morals. What I was not seeing was the pain I caused myself by judging others. The moment I started looking inwards, through meditation and learning about the wonders of the mystic universe, was the moment I realized how I actually interacted with the world; in constant judgement. I judged my boyfriend for not reading enough books, my friends for eating meat, myself for not working out, the Kardashians for existing, etc. The MOMENT I let go of judgement, I felt lighter.

Only believing in one God, or one way of being, is restricting. I have been warming up to Christianity because I am learning from places that are more on the mystic side and less on the I-will-attack-you-with-locusts-if-you-believe-in-other-gods end of the spectrum. Whatever you believe in, is fine. As long as it is based in love. That is the key.

I knew right away, on my own path love had to be the clue guiding me through the labyrinth. I will not subscribe to anything homophobic, racist, sexist, transphobic, etc. Because that is judgement and very, very far away from love.

2 Community is Helpful

I am lucky to know many people who live with faith. While they have completely separate faiths from one another, they offer me guidance and inspire me to continue learning. I consider them teachers and covet their influence in my life.

During this unique time in history, everything is moving to a virtual platform. Which is great for those who want to join a new community but are either too shy or live too far away to attend in person.

Personally, I have enjoyed a Zoom church service every Sunday. I drink tea in my pyjamas while still connecting to others. It's perfect for the chronic introverts out there!

3 Meditation, meditation, meditation

Meditate. I cannot stress this tool enough. You can do it for 5 minutes or an hour, it is completely up to you. But do it!

If I am being honest, it took me a while to really understand the power of mediation. I used to do it, get bored and then give up. When I realized that trying to control my thoughts was my issue, everything changed.

If you sit in a quiet place, put your ego aside, and follow your breath, some real universal truths may come up. If you're having a hard time staying focused, light a candle and focus on the flame. Alternatively, take a deep breath and hone-in on your out breath. The purpose is to quiet your mind enough to "hear" the messages you may miss from the Universe during the din of the day. It may take ten minutes for your thoughts to stop racing, but you will get there.

Meditation also aids in stress management and anxiety. Especially if you make a ritual out of it; light some candles, hold a crystal or two, smudge with sage or palo santo, settle in with good intentions and take deep, long breaths.

4 The Moon, The Witch and The Tarot

The beautiful thing about opening up to all things spiritual is exploring separate niches of the metaphysical world.

I've always had a proclivity to witchcraft; I love crystals, incense, and herbs. I attribute this love to my mother, who often had Nag Champa burning and made me sleep with an amethyst under my pillow to ward off bad dreams. But, I had never considered witchcraft as a spiritual outlet. Until now.

Luckily, my local hag-shops have all been available for curb-side pick up because I would have been lost without my daily tarot readings and smudge sessions. I have also been learning about moon magic, spells, chakras, etc. As long as it will help me be a better person, I am all for it.

Again, it is what you make it. Every morning I smudge, light the candles on my shrine, thank my spirit guides and mother nature, read about the bible, and then mediate.

Your routine may look completely different. And that's okay.

5 Ask and You Shall Receive

I wanted this. All of it. But, I was having a hard time getting past my stubborn, science-based point of view. I saw people in my life who were a part of something bigger than themselves and it truly looked appealing. So, I called my sister after another unsuccessful meditation session and proclaimed, "I just want a spiritual awakening!"

Lo and behold, a week later it all came flooding in. To the point of almost being overwhelming. I had this new passion and a lot of time to explore it. And that's what I did.

Since then, I have asked for signs from the universe and received them; had dreams that ended up being profound synchronicities with my sister; and have learned to notice when my guides want me to pay attention.

I have also learned a lot about myself and how my energy can affect the people around me. Creating friction against the natural flow of my life was my baseline and because of it my world was governed by fear. Now that I am in the flow, everything is easier, brighter and filled with joy.

If you read this and want to write it off as "woo woo" jargon, that is absolutely okay. But, if you are like me and want something more, all you have to do is ask for it. It will come to you and you will be transformed because of it.

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Emily Adams

I drink coffee and I write things. That is what I do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.