Longevity logo

3 Things we see as "Not That Bad"

You may want to keep an eye on these

By Nicholas McKennaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Tirachard Kumtanom from Pexels

Every day we go about our lives without a care in the world. Not realizing that there are some problems we need to attend to more than we do.

Depending on where we live, most of us have it good. We don’t have to worry about where our next meal is coming from or where we will be laying our heads at night.

We have first world problems, but they are still problems. With that comes solutions and while we are oblivious to the problems, its important to know that.

Below are a few problems that may be coming up in the future and how to tackle them.

The Hearing Crisis

It’s coming and it’s time to lower your music volume 10% to avoid damaging your hearing.

Growing up most of us blasted our music through our headphones. I know I did. It was so loud anyone standing next to me could sing along.

But when you’re young do you really care? I know I do now. Just another one of the things I wish I kept a better eye on as I grew up.

There’s now ringing in my ears and while I can’t blame this entirely, I know it didn’t help. But what can we do to combat this issue?

There’s a default volume you can set on your phone or whichever device you are listening on. Lower that by 10 percent and you will thank yourself later.

Some may think it’s cool to have hearing aids. You can control who you listen to with the turn of a nob. I just know that not something I want to deal with.

There’s a Vitamin D Spray?

During the winter, I always talked about how hard it is getting out of bed. There might be a solution. With the lack of sun this time of year you need to find another way to get your vitamin D.

If you think you’re deficient, try a vitamin spray. I’ll try anything to get me feeling better in the winter. There’s not much worse than feeling tired and depressed all day.

Taking vitamin D spray in the winter to help regulate the levels of the vitamin. It’s a natural component of the immune system and can help prevent illness.

Don’t like spray’s? Try the lamp.

Why is it so important to make sure you have enough vitamin d?

How about having a strong immune system. This is what fights off diseases and with a certain virus going around right now, it might be beneficial to get enough sun light throughout the day.

Keep moving

This can be a life saver.

Sitting still for long periods of time can make you stiff and prevent you from focusing. Your posture suffers too.

We were not designed to be stationary for long periods of time. To prevent this, fidgeting is not a bad idea. I know I was told moving around too much in your chair was a bad thing but here it’s not.

Have a desk job? Go for a walk from time to time to prevent yourself from stiffening up. Your heart health will also improve.

Having a stressful day?

Just moving around your office or building can help by releasing endorphins that make us feel happier.

Taking a break from our everyday responsibilities is needed from time to. If we don’t, we become aggravated by what’s around us, stiffen up, and get fat.

Final Thoughts

While I don’t like thinking about my problems, I understand I need to have a plan for how to solve them.

Its not every day that we run into them but knowing what we need to do to fix them is important.

Hearing loss, vitamin deficiencies, and getting the proper amount of movement everyday are what I look for because they are all problems I’ve faced.

There are others that should be acknowledged and one day I may face, but for now these are what I need to focus on.

Take a minute and find out what you need to focus on and find the solutions to your problems. You may need to get bloodwork done or just look around to see what habits you need to change.

No one is going to do this for you but if you take the time to improve your life, you will see a difference in no time.

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas McKenna

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.