Longevity logo

3 things I learned from COVID-19

What happens when your usual routine suddenly disappears?

By SuziePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

First things first, let me be the first to admit that last week didn't go as how I'd imagined it. The mental pinboard of productive days, yoga, healthy eating and focus disappeared almost as soon as I opened my eyes and shut off the 7.00 am alarm I had set for a run. But, here's what I did learn from the first week of self-isolation and working from home.

1. I spend too much wasted time on social media.

Let's face it, who doesn't automatically pick up their phone when you find yourself with a few minutes to spare? That mental panic of silence and freedom is calmed by the auto reaction of a quick scroll, like or tap before you move onto your next task. After a few days of endlessly refreshing Facebook and watching videos of absolutely nothing, I decided to go for a walk without my phone. Now, you're probably thinking well "duh!, it's much easier said than done. But I did it- a whole HOUR without looking at my phone. And I felt better for it. Then, I actively started putting my phone in another room, picking up my Kindle instead of my phone and reading a book. It took some serious self-control, but I realised that the hours I'd usually spend being a social media fidget were actually filled with upping my step count, giving my brain some quality book time and noticing more intricacies of my neighbourhood that I wouldn't usually notice.

2. I miss routine

Now, let me start by stressing that routine is good! Routine helps me to make the most of my day, feel productive and keep my mental health in good check. Everyone is different and maybe you're a daily checklist sort of person, or even a total 'go-with-the-flow' type. I wish I could say that I'm totally the latter after a week of working from home. Unfortunately, I slipped into patterns of poor mental health without realising: sleeping in for most of the day, forgetting to shower, sitting and staring at nothing whilst thinking and feeling nothing. I'm a person who uses routine as a coping strategy, but also to make the most of my week. For now, my daily task list and diary are lying at the bottom of my bag and this is an opportunity to create a new routine based more around the little things. I need to learn to see the potential in the remedial.

3. There's beauty in the break down.

At the start of the week I woke up with an excitement about working from home: pyjama office code, unlimited coffee and my own choice of work soundtrack. This quickly turned into frustration and a feeling of resentment to an invisible force that has suddenly punished me by making me stay at home for most of the day for an unspecified period of time. (I need to add here that I strongly agree with common sense and following all government guidelines by the way!) Now, I am in a stage where I see that there is beauty in the breakdown of our usual, busy schedules and so many opportunities to create something new and beautiful out of the emptiness. Each second, minute, hour and day of the next week is mine to shape however I want it and I plan to start with the small things. I will take extra care and time to make a coffee, to take a walk, to check over work before I send it to my boss. And I hope you will too.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Suzie

A wee bit of a wanderer at life, places and people. All fuelled by a bit of gin and a creative mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.