Longevity logo

10 Ways Raw Foods Changed My Mood

Here are 10 ways that raw foods changed my mental state.

By Amra BeganovichPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm not sure when I first heard about the benefits of eating raw foods. Maybe it was while watching a documentary or reading an article online. But at some point, I became convinced that consuming more raw fruits and vegetables could improve my health in myriad ways.

So, I decided to give it a try. I didn't go "all-in" right away but slowly started incorporating more raw dishes into my diet, both at home and when eating out.

And you know what? It made a big difference! Not only did I feel physically healthier, but my mood improved as well. Here are 10 ways that eating raw foods changed my mood for the better:

1. I had more energy.

My energy level increased noticeably after just a few days of eating more raw foods. At first, I thought it might be due to the fact that I was finally getting enough vitamins and minerals. But after doing some research, I learned that it's also because raw foods are easier for your body to digest than cooked foods. This meant that my body was able to better absorb the nutrients from the food I was eating and use them for energy instead of expending energy on digestion.

2. I slept better.

In addition to having more energy during the day, I also found that I was sleeping better at night. This is likely due to the fact that raw foods contain more tryptophan than cooked foods (tryptophan is an amino acid that is converted into serotonin, a neurotransmitter that promotes sleep).

3. I had fewer cravings.

One of the surprising side effects of eating more raw foods was that my cravings for unhealthy junk food decreased significantly. This is likely because raw foods are more filling than processed foods and because they provide your body with the nutrients it needs, so you're less likely to crave empty calories.

4. I felt lighter.

After a few weeks of eating mostly raw foods, I noticed that I was starting to feel lighter and less bloated. This is because cooked foods tend to be more inflammatory than raw foods and can contribute to water retention.

5. My skin cleared up.

Another welcome change I noticed was that my skin started clearing up. This is likely due to the fact that raw foods are rich in antioxidants, which help to protect your skin from damage and inflammation.

6. My digestion improved.

In addition to having less bloating, I also found that my digestion was improving. This is likely because raw foods contain more fiber than cooked foods, and fiber is essential for a healthy digestive system.

7. I felt calmer.

Another unexpected benefit of eating more raw foods was that I started feeling calmer and less anxious. This is likely due to the fact that raw foods contain higher levels of magnesium than cooked foods, and magnesium has been shown to have a calming effect on the nervous system.

8. I had more mental clarity.

In addition to feeling calmer, I also noticed that my mental clarity was improving. This is likely due to the fact that raw foods are rich in nutrients like omega-3 fatty acids, B vitamins, and iron, which are all essential for a healthy brain.

9. I felt more connected to nature.

Eating more raw foods made me feel closer to nature in a way that I can't really explain. Maybe it's because I was consuming more of the Earth's bounty or because I was preparing food in a simpler way. But whatever the reason, this connection made me feel more grounded and at peace with the world around me.

10. I was happier overall.

Perhaps the most noticeable change I experienced after switching to a raw food diet was an overall increase in happiness. I felt more energized, less stressed, and more connected to the world around me. And that made all the difference in my mood.

If you're considering trying a raw food diet, I encourage you to do it! You might just find that it makes a positive difference in your mood, as it did for me.

If you wish to read more about my work, please check out my agency (PR agency, hotel marketing agency and travel marketing agency).

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.