Longevity logo

10 Stress-Relieving and Relaxing Rituals in 10 Minutes or Less

Mind Relaxing

By lathika chamathPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
6

10 Stress-Relieving and Relaxing Rituals

in 10 Minutes or Less

When we are anxious, our bodies go into fight-or-flight mode, releasing chemicals like adrenaline and cortisol. The heartbeat quickens, and the breathing quickens as well. These physiological changes frequently result in a headache and tense muscles, which are the last things we need on a hectic day.

Stress and headaches

I was aware of all of this, but I frequently failed to identify the physical indicators of stress that I was experiencing at the time, so I disregarded them and pushed them aside. Then I began seeking for routines that would assist me in combating stress and, as a result, learning to relax more. I can't do much about external pressures most of the time, but I can choose how I respond to them.

1. A Recharged Morning Routine

Every day at 5 a.m., I get up and spend the first hour of my day performing a variety of rituals. I prefer viewing the sunrise while laying barefoot in the grass under a tree or simply sipping a hot cup of tea. I feel focused and eager to start the day afterward. Try to figure out what works best for you in terms of focusing and reducing stress. The finest time is in the morning!

2. Perform Mini-Rituals During the Day

Rituals assist us in becoming more calm more rapidly. I enjoy listening to music with a Schumann resonance (7.83 Hz) since it relaxes the entire body. I have a bottle of peppermint oil on my person at all times and use it on my hands multiple times a day. It makes it easier for me to breathe, and the perfume is quite nice. On my desk, I also have a clock.

3. Make eye contact with your body

If you're starting to feel stressed, try listening to your body. What exactly do you require right now? Touching your chest, stomach, and back, as well as giving yourself a massage with your fingers or massaging your hands, will often help. Standing with your feet in a rectangle on the ground offers you a sense of stability. We are accustomed to acting on the basis of our thoughts, but we often overlook the importance of the body and what we feel.

4. Eliminate Stress by Shaking Your Body

Unburden yourself, relax your muscles, and let go of your stress. I enjoy shaking myself. Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes I discovered this by observing my dog, who does this whenever he is stressed or agitated. So I started shaking my body for five minutes every morning (preferably while listening to music) and I started feeling better.

5. The Influence of Sound

Certain frequencies can help us relax our bodies and keep stress at bay. I've made my own mixtape with binatural rhythms (which I try to listen to with headphones). They are a type of entertainment technology that uses brain waves to instantly put you into a meditative state. Alpha waves are very effective at lowering stress levels. A group of British neuroscientists has developed a list of the ten most calming songs for reducing stress and anxiety. You may listen to them on Spotify.

6. Breathe Breathe Breathe

We have forgotten how to breathe deeply from the abdomen, despite the fact that it appears to be extremely simple. Place your hand on your lower abdomen and breathe deeply through your nose before exhaling through your mouth. Exhaling while creating a sound can help to remove even more stress. You've probably heard of breathing on both sides of the nose, which involves inhaling through one nostril and exhaling through the other. It has a calming impact on the entire body and is an excellent approach for stress management and relaxation.

7. Eating can be a stressful experience.

To receive a boost of energy, do you normally take another coffee or eat something sweet? Unfortunately, this method can backfire because caffeine and sugar increase stress levels rather than reduce them. Consider a decaffeinated coffee or chamomile tea. It doesn't seem too tasty, but

8. Nutritious Foods to Help Your Nerves

Choose foods that will help to keep your nerves in good shape. A handful of almonds, a banana, yogurt, or a piece of dark chocolate are all terrific options that are also healthy for your health. Avocados and ginger, cut into little pieces, are also terrific choices.

9. Engage All of Your Senses

How do you use all of your senses to listen? Place your feet level on the floor, hip-width apart, and think to yourself, "What do I see?" What exactly am I hearing? Is there something I can smell or taste? "How are my hands?" You may develop your capacity to concentrate by using this easy strategy to lessen stress levels in seconds.

10. Write As A Stress Reliever

I keep a booklet with me at all times because writing helps me manage my stress. Setting an alarm and jotting down whatever comes to mind is what free writing is all about. If you're at a loss for words, write that you're at a loss for words. 5 minutes of free writing per day can help you relax and cleanse your mind.

These practices assist me in times of stress. You can make some of them exactly as written and others in your own style. It's fascinating to see how diverse and similar we're all, and the most essential thing might just be to figure out what works best for you.

wellness
6

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.