Lifehack logo

The Key to Controlling Everything in Life

From Professional to Personal

By Corey JacobsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The Key to Controlling Everything in Life
Photo by Basil James on Unsplash

Could you control every single thing in your life? If so, what would that even look like, or feel like? What would you do, or not do? Interesting thought exercise, right!? My answer to this question is, why is this even a question, and why can’t you? I talk a lot about living a life of joy on my website Life By Corey

Let’s start with, what do you have already? I mean what do you HAVE that is outright yours? Something that no one can take, steal, depreciate, move, influence, give, manipulate, effect, or diminish. What is yours that, literally, requires only your permission to give, reveal, show, and/or use without needing anyone else’s involvement?

Basically, what do you own, or have, that is in you FULL control?

The Stoics (ancient Greek philosophers) believed that the only things in our actual control are

-          Opinion

-          Pursuit

-          Desire

-          Aversion

-          Our own actions

By Nils on Unsplash

They believed the things not in our control are:

-          The body (I assume he means this because we can’t control if we get old and deteriorate or get hurt)

-          Property

-          Reputation

-          Command (I assume he means who was placed in charge)

-          whatever are not our actions

By Júnior Ferreira on Unsplash

I believe this ideal fully. Essentially, the only things in our control is our reasoned choices, where we focus, and what comes out of our mouth. Everything else, is not. This may be a surprise, but no matter what you thought was in your control, it’s likely not. Even if you purchased it, it’s not yours (if you bought a car, it could break down or get stolen).

I personally believe the most control one will have, is knowing that they are not in control at all! Knowing this ideal is powerful because it’s liberating.  It allows you to let go of all the stuff you thought you had to do, focus on, or deemed important. It leaves a tremendously simpler path…what a refreshing feeling! For me, it’s like weight has been lifted off of me, and I can breathe easier!...I have more space to move.

It’s ultimately unproductive to try and control things, which are out of your control. Believe me because in my profession, I am a healthcare sales rep, and at the end of the day, I am not in full control of the sell

However conflicting, I must control the sell as much as I am able to do. I focus on what I can do today, and what is within my human power. I know that I am not going to sell my organization’s services to someone that doesn’t need the services, so I don’t waste time forcing this energy when it’s best used elsewhere. I do not spend my time using gimmicks to sell someone. I hate being sold to, but I do love being educated on something I may not be aware I need…so that is what I do.

Slimy Salesman

I would be all over the place trying to push and persuade someone, while stressing out inside. My time is better served selling to someone that needs what I am selling. I end up controlling my sell by asking questions to determine if they are in need. I then educate based on knowledge of my company’s capabilities or offerings. I cannot control, if a person likes me, needs my products/services, how much money they must spend, etc. However, I can control identifying the right people to sell to, educating them on what my company does, and its offerings. From there they determine if it’s worth it, then I move on.

There is a MAJOR peace in knowing that the most control we will ever have, is knowing that we are not in control.

This clears the clutter allowing us to see what we do have in our control. It creates space for us to focus on those. Therefore, allowing us to control EVERY-SINGLE-THING in our lives by simplifying what we thought we needed to do. We will flowingly move in life more efficiently and happier. Remember to give yourself permission to accept this principle, and I guarantee life will become easier, effortless, rewarding, and in your control. Feel free to check out my BLOG for more topics on designing a life of joy, adventure, and peace.

health
1

About the Creator

Corey Jacobs

I have a zest for philosophical learnings, travel adventures, physical movement, healthy cooking, real experiences, and deep meaningful connections. I express my artistry through writing. My mantra is Life is to Grow, to Inspire, to Play.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.