Journal logo

Why You Should Proofread Again...and Again!

Especially When Emotions Are Involved in the Writing!

By Paul StewartPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2022
33
Screenshot taken by Paul Stewart

Okay, so it may seem like I am just taking this opportunity to promote my most recently published piece, as featured in the image connected to this article. That is not the case. However, if you would like to read it, you can at Goodnight, Nonna, Goodbye, One of the Main Link to My Family I would greatly appreciate it as I am still new on this platform.

What's With All The Self-Promotion?

However, eagle-eyed readers, taking into consideration the title of this piece, may have already figured out why I have highlighted it so brazenly!

That "link" should really read "links" and if I'm honest, I am not entirely happy with the comma that precedes the word "Nonna".

It irks me a lot. Okay, so it's not a major issue, but because I feel strongly about that piece. It was quite a personal and emotive one based on genuine thoughts and feelings about one of my dearest relatives, who is sadly no longer with us, so I feel as if I have not done the subject matter justice.

Even if it is just one word and that seems a harsh judgement.

That word makes me twitch.

I could write to Vocal's staff and perhaps they'll kindly change it for me, but I actually felt it provided a nice teaching point.

Typos in First Editions of Famous Books!

While preparing this article, I thought "to err is human", but given the high pedestal that many put published authors on that sell truckloads of books, I wondered if there were any times when published works have featured typos.

Guess what? The internet gave me the answer.

Yes, there have been many times when typos have made their way into published works.

One of my favourites is from The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain, which reads "I took the bag to where it used to stand, and ripped a hole in the bottom of it with the was." Obviously, that "was" should be "saw".

Another, slightly ironic, and hilarious typo in a famous reprint was in the 1631 edition version of the King James Bible by Martin Lucas and Robert Baker, an amazing typos rendered the Seventh of the Ten Commandments as "Though shalt commit adultery"!

This led to more than just bruised egos and blushing in the pews, though. The publishers were taken to court and not only did they have their printing licences revoked but were fined £300. Although most copies were burned, some remained and were given the nicknames "The Sinners' Bible" and "The Wicked Bible".

Why I Won't Request a Correction, This Time

I know that I should proofread several times when I finish work. I've had that drummed into me on my mostly self-taught journey through writing for paying clients.

We all make mistakes, but you can often pick up the small issues just by running through your writing once again.

When I was writing this, I was letting my emotions out, so I wasn't paying as close attention to the grammar and spelling. I was thinking of my Gramma. (Pun intentional!)

So, how do you strike the balance between not restricting yourself to letting your feelings flow, while still making sure it is written nicely and correctly?

In my case, I should have saved the draft and then come back to it in the morning (I wrote that piece at some ungodly hour because that's when I was feeling emotional).

I should have probably just stuck it in a Word document first.

I didn't because I was in the moment and was feeling impulsive. I felt so strongly about it and wanted to publish it as soon as possible, so I didn't write something less emotional and less truthful.

Which is fine. But, it still would have looked a lot better and more polished, if I had just reined my emotions in a little and waited until the morning.

But, there it is. Staring at me.

What's the lesson? Always proofread, proofread, and, proofread again. Especially, if emotions are involved in your writing!

advice
33

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Burn Bookabout a year ago

    Definitely guilty of not proofreading enough sometimes 😢

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Thank you for posting this! I know what you mean! I edit half a dozen times before I send my books to be published and sometimes have to order two or three physical proofs to edit out the mistakes. I sometimes still find things later. LOL! Great article!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Yes! A worthy reminder - which is why I have come to appreciate the Quick Edit feature here, although I have a couple titles/subtitles with glaring mistakes I can't fix without emailing Vocal all because I was rushing to Submit without rechecking a few things. :) 😮

  • Erica Martin2 years ago

    Great advice. I've read other people's blogs and wondered if they even bothered to run them through Grammarly or proofread them before they clicked "publish."

  • Good advice! I always proof read but yet I still miss errors all the time! I really enjoyed reading this!

  • Kate McGovern2 years ago

    Agree wholeheartedly about the proof reading, many is the time I've hit publish too soon and then wanted to kick myself for not doing any revisions.

  • K. Bensley2 years ago

    Informative and interesting

  • Jason A2 years ago

    Good points. The only problem I find is that when we read our own work, we often see things as they were intended to be written missing some errors. Aside from using spell checking tools, grammar checking tools and reviewing for yourself, getting a second and more neutral pair of eyes on it is ideal.

  • Sam Hasler2 years ago

    Spot on. Emotional attachment to our writing does affect our proofreading. I never saw it quite that way until now. Thanks. I would like to put s link back here on my blog.

  • I definitely agree, but I also cannot tell you how many times I have repeatedly read something I’ve written, revised it to correct mistakes, had someone else read it who then informs me of errors, correct those errors, read and correct errors again, and then publish it just to find that I missed at least one error. Then I want to crawl into a hole and disappear for a while. 🤣

  • Deasun T. Smyth2 years ago

    it's most annoying when I hit 'publish' and forget to proofread. or when I proofread, but don't save the edit. anyway I'm still young, its not like I'm an infamous author.

  • Love the closing tip especially about proofreading, especially "if emotions are involved in your writing." I usually like to, at the very least, give myself a night to sleep on it. Even for short articles.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Excellent , Enjoy it while taking some advice 🥰

  • So very true! Although we all know that the best way to find mistakes is to proofread again and again, then publish, and casually glance at your article a few weeks later hahaha

  • Mike P2 years ago

    I perhaps should proofread more thoroughly. Good stuff tho how's Scotland? Looks majestic from what I seen.

  • I proof read too.

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I proofread my work...most of the time! Even when I do, I can truthfully say I always find a few mistakes usually after hitting 'publish.'

  • I agree with you. Proofreading is definitely something as a writer you should do. I will admit it, your work is a representation of you. I know no one is perfect. We are all human, and anyone, even the best author can have a typo or any type of mistake. Thank you for the advice, and when you can, check out some of my writing.

  • Daniel Freeman 2 years ago

    Honestly, I'd like to see a book where the author proofread and revised it multiple times, but kept the original material in crossed-out text to show just how much the editing process can improve a piece of writing.

  • Rebecca Fry2 years ago

    I am brand new to this platform. I liked reading this and find it inspiring. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.