Journal logo

Writing Under My Own Name for the First Time Really

I Wish I Had Thought of a Better Title

By Paul StewartPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
9
Writing Under My Own Name for the First Time Really
Photo by Clemens van Lay on Unsplash

I'm still not convinced that's the best image for this story. My very first on this platform. It feels a bit too forced. It's apt though. After all, this is the beginning of a journey of sorts for me.

I'm not really sure if it's as treacherous as traveling to Mordor or the island of Ithaca after the Trojan War. However, it still feels like a challenge.

I've spent the last 10 years or so writing for other people without credit. No byline or even "thanks to Paul for all his hard work". Which is fine. It's the nature of things and although there are times when I wished things were different, when I look at a client's site and think "you wrote that" or "that was one of your best, Paul", I do enjoy the anonymity of it in a way.

Besides if my name was attached to anything and everything I've ever written for a client that's been published online, Googling myself would be a very odd experience.

"Why You Need to Invest in Regular Maintenance for Your Air Conditioning Unit by Paul Stewart", "Important Reasons for Using Report Automation by Paul Stewart" (this was something I had to write about recently, though the title has been changed and that's why I chose the image below), and "Tips to Make Moving a Less Stressful Experience for Kids by Paul Stewart" alongside the countless pieces of content I have written on food marketing and cosmetic surgery sounds ridiculous in some ways.

By Lukas Blazek on Unsplash

I've toyed with the idea of writing on platforms like this or even running my own blog, but my confidence and workload always got the better of me.

I have started writing for Culture Slate. It means I get to write about some of the things I love with my name attached to it, which is a nice change of pace from what I normally write about.

Don't get me wrong, I know there are people worse off and at least I have an interesting job that I started with very few actual qualifications. I'm self-employed and although I have to deal with clients, the current crop I have are great to work with and it's better working with/for them than any manager or supervisor I've had in employed positions. I have skimmed off a few clients in recent years...but the least said about that the better.

This job is something I just kinda fell into and discovered I was good at it. Writing web content and for blogs seemed to come relatively easy to me. At least in principle. There was a steep learning curve as I had to navigate the various rules and standards.

One thing I do enjoy is the research and learning aspect of my job. I have lost count of the number of times I have been able to say "I've written about that" when someone has asked for advice about some random subject.

Photo by Anna Tarazevich:

It just would be nice to get some credit now and again. A concept in itself that I also struggle with because of Imposter Syndrome. That strong and unnerving feeling that I am going to somehow "be found out". To give you an idea of how bad, it's worth noting that I started writing the draft for this article several months ago and didn't return to it until now.

I mean, it's not like I am feeling considerably more confident right now, but I figure now as good a time as any.

After all, what's the worst that can happen.

I will soon see.

If anything, just as all of the 12+ years I've been writing for others has given me, this experience will give me experience. A chance to explore and improve.

I always wanted to be a writer of some description, but never felt capable. Now, at the very least I feel like I have a way in.

What can you expect from the next posts I publish? A random mix of everything and anything I want to write about!

humanity
9

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Look at you now - you are adored by millions! 😁 You are very self-deprecating Paul! I’m a bit similar in this way. And the whole imposter syndrome - I’ve struggled with that for decades.. Really enjoyed hearing about your writing job though and I think Vocal, has given a lot of people confidence in very many ways. ☺️

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Just now reading this, but I am so happy you've continued with your journey. I'd wager it's been a hell of a lot more than you bargained for, with the great community attached to the writing itself. That's certainly how I feel about Vocal! I'm not sure I've actually seen someone's introductory article yet; this was a pleasant way to get to know a little more about you! (Also, I agree with Donna; would never have guesses your imposter syndrome is as bad as you say, given how well and frequently you write.) ❤️ PS: Skimming off a few clients? I'm burning with curiosity now...

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was super interesting to read! You write with such poise and confidence that, if I hadn’t already read some of your thoughts on imposter syndrome, I would never guess it is something you experience.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    A lovely introduction :) And I love doing research. So glad you have a job you love despite the lack of credit. That can weigh on you for sure! I'm starting at the beginning to read through all your works.

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    oh...I don't know, Paul. A trip through Mordor would at least quicken the heart, the fires and dangers; here I often (too often) encounter empty praise and vacuous writing, saccharine. The challenges do keep me writing prose and poetry that I would not otherwise. I look forward to your work as well.

  • Reading about your journey was so interesting!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Your article is super relatable in so many ways. Now I get to enjoy seeing the progress of your journey (not through Mordor or Ithica) through Vocal.

  • Sandra Tena Coleabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed starting your journey today, and am looking forward to reading more to see where you took it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.