Journal logo

Why I Have Stopped Sharing My Work in Vocal Facebook Groups

I still love them, though.

By KJ AartilaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
24
Why I Have Stopped Sharing My Work in Vocal Facebook Groups
Photo by Degleex on Unsplash

Why I Have Stopped Sharing My Work in Vocal Facebook Groups

I have been a big supporter and advocate of joining Vocal Facebook groups to gain reads, followers and education. I still am, especially for the newest members of the platform. The groups have helped me immeasurably, but what I have found now is that my efforts are better spent on a different strategy for gaining reads and followers. I still read and comment on pieces of other authors shared in groups to which I am a member, but I rarely share my own stories there anymore, nor do I spend as much time scrolling in an effort to earn my reads in reciprocation. It’s just not a balanced use of my time at this point. There are several reasons for that, and below are listed a few other options to consider.

GROUP GROWTH

The Vocal Facebook groups have grown immensely, which is the intention of groups mostly. My posts get lost in the mix, corresponding to the growth, as do others. I miss many stories, and mine also don’t get read unless I spend an great deal of time scrolling, reading other’s stories and promoting my own work. This is not bad or unexpected, it just makes me tired.

SUBSCRIBER LIST

I would rather focus on my own subscribers - I get more dependable reads there, and I’m figuring out an audience for which I’m creating. That, in itself, takes time and effort, but it’s also rewarding, as much financially as personally. I love it when I get a new subscriber; then I can quickly link back to their profile pages and spend my time there. I can read some of their own works, their bios and get a feel for who they are, and why they were compelled to subscribe to me. Not only is that time spent on determining my audience, but it gives me an excellent opportunity to reciprocate support.

TOP STORIES

I read Top Stories, instead of spending the majority of my time in groups, to find pieces to read that I may have missed in a scroll, and also to support my peers. It helps point me in the direction of new authors to check into and support. I can also like and comment on stories, which informs writers I’ve been there, and then just maybe they’ll look into me, too. This is relationship building, important for growing a career. Liking and commenting can also be utilized from a group aspect, but I often lose track of posts in groups, so I find it more beneficial to follow Top Stories.

NOTIFICATIONS

I spend my time reading the works of the people I’ve subscribed to when I get notifications that they have published a new story. This way, I can use my time in support of the people I’ve already discovered an interest in, and when I like or comment, they know I was there, too. This is important to me in maintaining relationships.

---

I find all these ways to be a better use of my time for both learning and earning reads for myself. Like many, I like to read, and I enjoy the expansive collection of variety and talent here, but I’d rather be writing than reading, which makes sustaining a system that successfully works for me a priority. It’s important to me to support my fellow creators, I wish to do so in a feasible and balanced way.

All of the listed techniques are an important to building a sustainable writing career, whether in addition to posting in groups, or instead of, it’s an individual choice to be determined by what works best for you.

---

Thank you for reading! What do you find most beneficial to developing your writing skills?

KJ Aartila grew up in a small, rural community surrounded by animals and family. She, along with her husband and daughter, horses and other pets, now live on 40 acres in Northern Wisconsin, surrounded by forest and wildlife. She has spent her life reading about, writing about and working with animals, her goal always to be as reliable, trustworthy and honest as a horse, but her innate humaness keeps getting in the way. She remains determined to keep trying, though.

social mediacareeradvice
24

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery10 months ago

    I can't disagree, trying to do it all is time consuming and near impossible. I'm still finding what works for me.

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Well said!

  • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

    Agreed, the Facebook groups do help out a lot when it comes to earning reads in the beginning. However, finding Your audience, which can be done on Facebook via promoting Your own works, is also rewarding. I've never been one for the read-for-read-back culture that's inherent. If You were to spend the same amount of time reading as You do writing, would it not be better to make another story as a another potential source of income that somebody genuinely wants to read, instead of You investing Your time into one story by another person that You've read? I remember when somebody started an argument with me. That person told me, "You don't read a lot of other peoples' stories. By putting pennies into their pockets, they'll return the favor and put pennies into Yours." To which I say, "I'm meant to earn more than just pennies. I'm meant to earn genuine engagement by providing genuine, thrilling, entertainment. Sure, it's a struggle, but that's the point. Nobody gets good at anything without trying." My parents have a harsher explanation of the read-for-read-back-culture. That being written, find Your audience, grow Your audience with Your audience. Sure, we all like to read, but remember, nobody is entitled to You reading their story.

  • Sorry, I missed this, but take your insights. We need to do what is best for us.

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    You make many valid points, though I very much appreciate that you also acknowledge that each person needs to find what works for them.

  • DeAnna Troupeabout a year ago

    I know this seems kind of obvious, but spending more time writing helps me improve as a writer.

  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout a year ago

    Ironically, I like the Great Incantations group as a sounding board. I almost never share my stories in there (unless they’re the ironic, taking a swing at Vocal kind 😉). Mostly because I barely have enough time for my writing, so I would feel bad asking for reads that I might not be able to reciprocate. So on that point, I can relate. Still, it is nice to be able to interact with a group of writers in comment sections OUTSIDE of Vocal where I know I can do things like post photos, react to comments, better follow comment threads, etc. Also, I joined this platform because of the 20-grand locket challenge, and that has more or less defined my Vocal mission. I’m not here to build an audience. I’m a mercenary, chasing after challenge prizes. Were I to accrue a following, I would be delighted, but I’m not doing the necessary ground work of seeking out other authors and engaging with them, so the odds of that happening on its own are slim. Could’ve sworn I had a point in mind when I first started writing this. Ah well, guess we’ll call it here ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  • Sarah St.Erthabout a year ago

    Thank you for that Keila, I always enjoyed your voice. I have given up almost entirely for a while....you make excellent points here though..maybe I will begin to share my voice again.

  • Helpful, insightful & encouraging for someone like me who is finding it impossible to keep up with everyone I already enjoy. Thank you.

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    The basics never get old, do they? ;-) Great article! As you said, you receive what you put in, and unfortunately, FB groups don't really provide much-needed reads anymore for many of us. I wish the Vocal team understood the importance of SEO and flexible formatting, though. We would be able to get many more reads as a result.

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    Useful and sensible perspective! I am certainly at that beginning stage where the grind is a bit more necessary. Once I have more of a general base, I can see how the mindless scrolling and reciprocation for the sake of it would be counterproductive.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Very relatable!!! We have to prioritize and stay balanced. It's easy to become overwhelmed. Love your story!!!💖💖💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great, and does makes sense. I get what you mean about posts getting lost in the groups. I like the subscriptions as well. That said, I just realized I was not subscribed to you, which surprised me. Oops. Fixed.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I agree, my attendance in the vocal social groups have declined. I too would rather read from my subscription or top story. Time is a value and we need to make the most of it.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    You've outlined some practical ways to grow an audience. I am always glad to see your posts and share your Top Stories in the Support group!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Well said. I agree it is hard to keep up sometimes.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I definitely hear where you are coming from… I feel overwhelmed by big groups of people in person and online. I try to keep up with as much as I can but it is getting harder! 😬🤷🏼‍♀️

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    I agree with all of this, which is why I’ve never joined those groups in the first place. To me, they feel disingenuous. I won’t become a better writer or published author by working hard to socially network for hearts and comments from other aspiring authors. My time and energy is better spent on writing. I sometimes feel people leave an incredibly generic comment on my work just so I’ll reciprocate, and while they’re not blatantly stating, “Nice job, now check out my work” it is implied. I hope people know when I comment I mean it, and there is no expectation of them reading my stuff and enjoying it. If it’s not genuine, I don’t want it. The entire point of those FB groups is to generate engagement by any means necessary. No offense to them, but yeah. To me it feels icky. I started posting here in late February, and I’ve gotten 8 Top Stories and loyal subscribers without having a Facebook account. I’ve also found writers who I’m excited to be subscribed to.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I've been wrestling with this so much lately. I love to support fellow creators but it's such a delicate balance to take care of yourself and your own aspirations, lift up others, promote your own work and have any time leftover. I'm still searching for my best ratio on that. As always, you have such a gift with presenting information to easily be digested and still be thought provoking :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.