Journal logo

Why I Continue To Write And Publish Daily

Even After Writing Every Day For 1 Year Straight

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 4 months ago 4 min read
4

Today is Day 371 of Writing and Publishing an Article every day.

To some people, it is a Dream to Write for 30 Days straight.

I completely understand I was there at one time as well, and it was how I started.

For most people, writing Every Day for a Year Straight would seem like a Pipe Dream or a Moonshot.

It's not as hard as it sounds, to be honest, but most people wouldn't consider even attempting it.

Now that I've done it (over it actually), I know that there would be many people who would consider it "good enough".

Why keep going when you've gone so much Further than most people even Think of, let alone Dream of?

For me, there are several reasons.

Writing has been incredibly powerful in aiding my thoughts.

I used to struggle with expressing my Ideas out loud, I'd be lucky to Write a single Article in a Year.

However, the more I've Written, the better my thoughts have become.

My Writing has also improved tremendously in the Process.

The reason?

A study was done with Pottery Students who were split into 2 groups.

One group only had to create 1 Pottery Masterpiece throughout the entire year and their grade would be entirely based on that 1 Piece.

The other group had to create a LOT of Pottery - 50 lbs. that was rated "A", 40 lbs. that was rated "B", and so on.

At the end of the study, the students in the latter group, who had to make a LOT of Pottery, ended up making SIGNIFICANTLY better pieces than the prior group who were only tasked with finishing 1 piece.

That is because Consistent Practice, with the desire to Improve, leads to Mastery.

I have found this to be true in my Writing as well (though I'm sure I have plenty to Improve... at least according to Grammarly...)

Now, mixing Consistency with getting my Thoughts out has also allowed me to push new Ideas in my work more quickly.

I wouldn't have gotten to those Insights without pushing myself forward through my Writing.

Plus, in my Writing, I have had others Challenge my Ideas, and those Challenges have pushed me to Clarify, Adapt, and Improve based on how it was being Challenged.

In being Challenged, I have also Learned to have more Confidence in my work.

Some of the Challenges are Legitimate in different ways, or are based on Biases or False Knowledge (usually well-intentioned).

In seeing these different Aspects, it has given me a lot to think about, and in being able to answer and defend my work, I have found how much Value I have to give.

That Value gives a feeling of Purpose in my Writing, which skyrockets my feelings of Confidence in continuing to Write.

In my Writing, I have also found that by Focusing on making it a Habit, the Halo Effect has been unleashed.

The Idea of the Halo Effect is that by Focusing on only ONE Habit, we want to do EVERYTHING we can push it even further, and so we will Improve other parts of our life in Service of Improving that ONE Habit.

So I have Focused ONLY on Writing this past year, but I have IMPROVED in so many other areas because of it!

To be able to Write more, I have Read SIGNIFICANTLY more in the past year than at any prior point in my Life.

In Learning new things and wanting to Improve my Energy (Mg-ATP), I have also Improved my Diet and Exercise to new Heights.

I have also become able to read and understand a lot of Scientific Research so that I can dive into more interesting places to write about!

Then, there are also the Nominations and Awards.

My goal with Writing has NEVER been to receive Recognition, yet it has happened.

20 Nominations or Awards in 2023 alone, which I would solely attribute to the Consistency of my Writing.

I think it would be False to say that I'm not a *little* bit Motivated by the Recognition - it may not have been the Goal, and still won't be, but it is kinda cool.

Of course, there is also the Ultimate Psychophysiological Goal - Flow States.

Flow States are the Psychophysiological States where we do our best work, feel our best, and our self-consciousness dissipates.

Every day when I Write, I get into a Flow State.

Plus, when it comes to Flow States, the more Often you get into them, the Easier it is to get BACK into them later.

By Consistently getting into Flow in my Writing, I find myself able to get into Flow in many other parts of my Life.

All of these Aspects combine to make me want to continue to Write.

If you could Attribute most of the great things in your life to 1 Consistent Action you did every day, why would you stop?

workflowwall streetVocalsocial mediaquotesproduct reviewpop culturelistindustryhumanityhow tohistoryfeaturecareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
4

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (450+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Have you used that pottery example in another piece? It seems very familiar to me. I'm so sorry, I sometimes tend to get things mixed up because I read a lot 😅

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Feeling very encouraged by this, thanks 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.