Journal logo

Why Do I Write So Strange?

The Psychology Of My Writing

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 17 days ago 5 min read

Help Change The World by Voting for Mr. Health and Fitness 2024! Read to the End to see How this Impacts The World!

---

If you look at any of my Articles, you will notice something Consistently that is very Strange.

I do Not stick to "Traditional Grammar"... much to all of my English Teachers' Dismay.

When people are Polite, they ask me something to the effect of, "Hey, I noticed you capitalize certain words that normally we wouldn't capitalize. Why is that?"

Those who are... Less Polite, phrase it more like, "Hey! You must fix your grammar! I can't read your nonsense!"

Now, do I Know the "Traditional" grammar rules?

I do!

I took English and/or Literary Tradition Classes from Elementary School, all the way through my University Degree!

My Teachers in University were "Very" Particular about Grammar, and in classes, I always did Very Well with my Written Work.

I even edited people's work and helped them get better grades in University based on their grammar alone.

Plus, I use Grammarly... it does not love how I do my writing, and just today told me my "Mastery of English" is only better than 62% of Grammarly Users.

So... I'm pretty close to Failing according to them!

This leads to the Question, if I "Know" what I'm doing is "Wrong", I've been "Taught" how to do it Properly, and even use a "Tool" that can help me...

Why do I Write so Strange?

Before I answer that, let me say this...

Just because "I" do this, does not mean "You" should.

I have specific Goals in Writing that may or may not match Your Own Goals.

Do Not copy my methods unless you Believe they could Benefit you, which for most people it will not.

Now, with that out of the way, These are the Reasons I Write Strangely!

The First Aspect of how I Write is that I Purposefully put Emphasis on certain words.

Generally, I am doing this to Draw Your Attention to something Specific.

One part of Human Psychology that I am utilizing is our Brain's Natural Function to see when things are "Different".

Now, we Developed this as Humans as a Defense Mechanism in the Wild.

If you couldn't tell something was Strange, that likely meant Death.

Even though this is Not a Problem for most People Today, that Psychological Function still Remains.

Now, Why am I Drawing your Attention?

There are a few Reasons.

Often I want you to Focus on Specific Words to Emphasize a Point.

Then, I also use it to Drive Emotions.

If there is something you Should be Worried About, I will pull Your Focus to Emotions like Fear, Anxiety, or even Anger.

I do this to Push You into Action around that Emotion.

If there is something Bad in Your Life, I don't want you to run, I Want You to Sprint Away!

It's to Your Benefit to get as Far Away as possible from that!

On the flip side, if there is something that I Believe Will Change Your Life for the Better, I will also Help you to Focus there.

These are the things You Should Seek!

It is usually Subtle from the Psychological Perspective, but the Context reveals How the Emotion should Drive You.

With this, when You Combine Focus (driven by our Survival Mechanism), with Novelty (Created by the "Strange" Emphasis), and with Emotions (making You Invested) it becomes a Powerful Flow Trigger.

My Hope is that as You Read, You become Hooked.

What is Next?

Tell Me More!

I Must Know!

The thing about Flow is that we Seek Flow for its own sake.

Wherever we Find Flow, we will Continue to Go Back again, and again, and again.

The other Fascinating thing about Flow is that when we Find Flow, it becomes Easier to Find More Flow!

So, if I can help you Drop into Flow Now, then You're More Likely to get into Flow in Other Parts of Your Life!

This further means that You can become More Productive, More Creative, and More Innovative in Your Life!

If I can do that for You through Writing, then I am moving toward my Goal of Changing The World!

Now, does my writing Always Accomplish This?

No.

Absolutely Not!

Some people Love their Grammar, and there is nothing wrong with that!

There is a High Probability that Those Individuals will Never finish a single Article I write.

Does that bother me?

No!

Nothing is for Everyone!

But, do You Know who "Is" Interested in My Articles?

Individuals Who Do Not Subscribe To "Societal Norms".

People Who See what is Broken in the World, and are Happy to Challenge the Status Quo.

These are the Individuals Who See Past the Facades and Focus on What Matters.

They are Not Here to Follow Rules.

They Want to Change The World!

It is Those Amazing People who I Write to.

They Understand what I'm Pointing Toward.

A Better Future.

Will my Articles be Considered Masterpieces?

Probably not.

Though... my Writing Has Received 15 Awards, and is a Major Contributor to my 44 Nominations and Awards in the past 1.5 Years, Plus has made the #1 Creator on 2 Different Platforms...

So Maybe "Someday" they Will?

At the end of the day, I Do Not Need to Reach Everyone.

I Care About Reaching The Few World Changers, and Helping Them Do It.

This is Why I Write Strange.

I'm Seeking World Changers, and Helping them Accomplish Change.

Perhaps Subtly through Gaining Flow from Reading.

Perhaps More Directly through Insights Needed for Success.

But the Goal is Improving The World.

---

Want to Change The World?

I am on a mission to show that when "We" work together, We "Can" Change The World!

There is currently a competition for Mr. Health and Fitness 2024 with a prize of $20,000.

Which is How "You" Help Change The World!

I have plans to use 100% of the Prize to support 3rd Party Verified Projects around the World that address the Most Critical Ecosystem Aligned with the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

At a minimum, my Goal is to accomplish:

  • 10,000 m2 of Habitats Protected for Critically Endangered Species
  • 56,000 Plastic Bottles Removed from Our Oceans
  • 500,000 m2 of Coral Reef Restoration
  • 1,000,000 Miles of Car Emissions Removed

However, I can "only" do this with "Your" Help!

Together, we can accomplish Incredible things in the World, and I want to show Everyone the Power of that!

I humbly ask you to join me, and Vote to Make the World Better!

This is what you can do:

If you are even considering helping, I truly appreciate you, and I know you have so much Potential to Change the World!

workflowwall streetVocalvintagesocial mediaquotesproduct reviewpop culturelistindustryhumanityhow tohistoryheroes and villainsfeaturecareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (500+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • L.C. Schäfer13 days ago

    So it's another way of niching down :)

  • Khan15 days ago

    I'm new to the platform, so this is the first article of yours I've read. I noticed your unique capitalization style, which didn't distract me from the content at all. In fact, it drew my attention in a fascinating way! Would surely read more of your work.

  • I noticed long ago that you capitalise words that do not need to be capitalised but I've never seen it as a problem or error. That's why I never questioned it before or even acknowledge it. It was simply because it didn't bother me although I'm a Grammar Police, lol. I just thought that's your style. But true enough, like you said, those words being capitalised does draw my attention. Also, I don't subscribe to societal norms. So that explains why I'm here 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Interesting. I have been Wondering about that! "Creative Formatting" is something I enjoy seeing Writers try.

  • shanmuga priya17 days ago

    Be proud of your strangeness, it’s part of what makes you an exceptional writer! ....

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Written by Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.