Journal logo

Why do I volunteer?

Bottom line: JOY

By Lexi 🌻Published 2 years ago • 4 min read
1
Relay for Life at University of Oregon, 2016

volunteer [ vol-uhn-teer ]: to offer oneself for some service or undertaking

When I was in college, I studied Cultural Anthropology. In several classes, we discussed the idea of altruism and whether or not true altruism can exist in the world. The idea of altruism on a grand scale is idealistic – helping others with no motive or anything to be gained, personally.

altruism [ al-troo-iz-uhm ]: the principle or practice of unselfish concern for or devotion to the welfare of others

There are some who argue that there can be no true altruism in humans because there is always the desire for recognition and/or the “feel good” chemical, dopamine, release from helping others.

Celebrating my mom at the Relay for Life in Fairfield, CA, 2017

Frankly, I feel that the natural reaction to doing good shouldn’t be criticized. The intention of the altruism is still there, but there is no fighting the unconscious response. Now, if someone does some good just so they can brag about it later – we all know the type – that’s a completely different situation.

But doing something good for the sheer joy of doing good. Because you want to see the world a little brighter and leave it a little better than the way you found it? Because you find fulfillment in contributing to a cause that you believe it?

That, right there, is the true spirit of altruism, and the reason why I volunteer.

I don’t volunteer just to say that I volunteer for X, Y, and Z organizations, or x-number of hours per week or month.

While, yes, those things do take their toll on top of working a full-time job and I’m a permanently exhausted form of pigeon, I love the work that I get to do as a volunteer. Working the job I do, while it does bring me joy, it is absolutely exhausting and I needed an outlet that allowed me to give back to myself.

However…

That is not the reason, or even the time, I started to volunteer.

I have been volunteering since I was right around 5-years-old. It started when my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer for the first time and, as a family, we began participating in the Relay for Life event, fundraising for the American Cancer Society. I’m proud to say that I have participated in Relay every year for the last 23 years, sometimes twice in a year!

My family's very first Relay for Life in Lakewood, WA, not far from the original Relay location in Tacoma (where 10 Things I Hate About You was filmed!), 2001

I love it. I find happiness and fulfillment in being part of the Relay events, but the event is an annual function, even if we are organizing and fundraising throughout the year. As I grew, I participated in various volunteer endeavors, mostly for school and sorority functions.

Now, as an adult, I find myself still involved in Relay, though it’s not quite the same as when I was growing up and it was a family affair – I no longer live at home and due to our military family, we don’t live in the same state anymore. But last year, when I found myself in an AmeriCorps position – the state-side version of Peace Corps – I needed to find an opportunity to fulfill my service hours, in order to complete them before my service ended at the end of August.

I was searching for volunteer opportunities that I was interested in and stumbled across an organization called Victory Riding Academy. As I said before, I come from a military family. I am a proud Air Force brat, my brother is in the Coast Guard, my uncle is retired Navy, cousins who are former Coast Guard and Navy and current First Responders. I am so proud of my family, while also acknowledging that those career paths were never going to be mine.

But when I found Victory Riding Academy, I fell in love the moment I stepped foot on the property for volunteer orientation. The mission of VRA is the support Veterans, First Responders and their families. FREE OF CHARGE. Through equine-assisted therapy, we’re able to serve our community.

Just a few of us volunteers at the Rough n' Ready Rodeo, 2021

And it’s not just the mission – even if that is near and dear to my heart. It’s the people. They are my kind of weird and goofy. We’re always joking around, sarcastic and generally having fun. They are my family away from family. I know that I could call any one of them at any hour and they would be there for me if I needed them, and I would do the same for them.

Bottom line: I found something that brings me so much joy and I consider it to be one of the biggest blessings in my life. So maybe that’s selfish and not at all altruistic, but I was raised to believe, and practice, that if it is within my power to help someone else, then it is my responsibility to do so.

And for me, there is no better way to give back to the family that has given me so much than donating my time and sweat to supporting an organization that has such an amazing mission. That is my “why” – why I volunteer. Why I wake up at the crack of dawn on my Saturday mornings and endure fly and mosquito bites while mucking stalls. Why I have learned how to lead horses in the arena to participate in sessions. I find joy and peace while I’m out with the horses and the people, doing sessions and working events.

Giving some love to one of the horses on our property, Olea.

I wouldn’t give up VRA for anything. Once you find something you are passionate about, you stick with it. And if you find joy and fulfillment and a community to be part of, all the better for it.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lexi 🌻

I am passionate about writing on topics that touch my heart, sharing my stories which may inspire yours đź’•

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.