Journal logo

Whiners, Climbers, and Shiners

In retrospect, early on, I didn't know what I was talking about.

By J. S. WadePublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 7 min read
Top Story - May 2023
75
Whiners, Climbers, and Shiners
Photo by Brad Barmore on Unsplash

I joined Vocal + almost three years ago, intending to blow away the world with my skills. Instead, I realized I had to learn to write. You see, I've had story ideas ginned in my head for decades that I thought might get me committed to an insane asylum. I wonder if Edgar Poe or Stephen King were worried about that. I'd watch movies, streaming shows, or read stories and think, Wow! I can do better than that. What were they thinking? The same old plots keep getting recycled. I was openly critical. Then a friend said, "Put your money where your mouth is; prove it."

Damn it, why did I have to run my mouth?

My first story submitted was Some Joe, a short fiction I had written for an online writing class that my nineteen novice classmates praised. It was published on Vocal. I bragged that I had been published and waited for the multitude of publishing requests to come pouring in. They didn't, of course. Unbelievable.

With grandiose ideas, I splashed my entry, Booked (a very creative title), into the Little Black Book Challenge sponsored by Moleskin. I started counting the ways I would spend the $20,000 prize. I would show the world what they were missing. The story didn't even place as a runner-up. My incredible, should-have-won tale lies in the dust heap of millions of other stories over the centuries.

Bitter with disappointment, I whined and put all the blame on the judges and Vocal. How dare they not launch me into the world of great writers where I belonged? The only audience I found was other whiners. We squirmed together in the mud of our failure like flies swarming a dead carcass. In retrospect, I didn't know what I was talking about.

Amazed by the winning entries, I realized I could learn or leave. If I left, I could maintain the grandiose deception I had created in my mind like an alcoholic in denial. If I chose to learn, I would have to become a student and acknowledge my place in the writing world as a novice, apprentice, and perpetual student. These are the lessons I've learned, and like any tool, you can pick what works for you or not for your writing toolbox.

***

Lesson one – Vocal is a platform that provides tools to assist writers in developing a craft, promoting their creations, and connecting with readers and other writers.

– I write and post stories, poetry, and articles that Vocal digitally publishes on a state-of-the-art global platform. They continuously strive to implement new tools to help us as creators. We do not suffer the plethora of rejection letters, harsh criticisms, or ghosting that so many writers receive from traditional publishers. Vocal chooses what's best for the platform and promotes many stories (and Poetry) across many Communities through Top Stories. We are the writers, and our community and subscribers are our critics. The opportunity is free. To enter monetized and prized challenges, a creator can opt to enter Challenges (Judged contests.) The keyword is optional and a great value at 9.99 a month or 99.99 a year.

Lesson two – Vocal does not owe me anything, not a Challenge Win, a Runner-up, or a Top Story.

– For the Little Black Book Challenge, there were over 18,000 entries. The story had to be well-written, compelling, and meet the prompt criteria. Though my creative idea fit the requirements, my entry exposed my lack of grammar skills, punctuation errors, and weak structure. How many times did I rewrite? Zero. An idea, no matter how creative, is not writing. I had not done the work.

Golf is more forgiving than writing, where all elements of the long game, short game, and putting must come together with an allowance for errors. In writing, there is little to no allowance for error if you want to win a Challenge. It is as it should be. After that, it comes down to the opinion of the judge(s). This is why it is called a Challenge.

Many Top Stories chosen contain errors, demonstrating Vocal's desire to recognize the creativity of a compelling writer’s idea no matter the skill level. Top Stories are awarded to free or Plus Vocal members at the discretion of Vocal. Once again, Vocal owes me nothing. This isn't a YMCA's recreational sport where everyone wins and gets the outcome-based ribbon for participation. I do not want recognition based on this premise. If it were to be, the intent for Top Stories would be greatly diminished.

Lesson three – Writing is hard work.

Learn grammar and punctuation skills, and rewrite, rewrite, rewrite. When was the last time you clean-sheeted a story and started from scratch? Never? Try it. I dare you. It is hard work but rewarding. Vocals publish all things policy (within guidelines) can create the misunderstanding that what was submitted is good. This is not true and not their mission.

What can Ernest Hemingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald, or Stephen King teach me?

F. Scott Fitzgerald. "And so, we beat on, books against the critics, borne back ceaselessly into rewrites." (He wrote This Side of Paradise three times. The original and two complete rewrites.)

"If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot. There's no way around these two things that I'm aware of, no shortcut." Stephen King

"The only kind of writing is Rewriting." Ernest Hemingway from A Movable Feast. (His ending to Farewell to Arms was rewritten 49 times.)

The bottom line is if I'm unwilling to do the work, it's on me, not Vocal or anyone else. Like Hemingway also said, "… writing is something that you can never do as well as it can be done. It is a perpetual challenge, and it is more difficult than anything else that I have ever done—so I do it. And it makes me happy when I do it well." Ernest Hemingway

Lesson four – There are Whiners (Like I was.) Climbers (Like I want to be.) and Shiners (Those who have done the work and mastered their skills.)

I could whine that life isn't fair, lament that someone received too many Top Stories, or lambast the judges because my story didn't win or place. I could whine that FB groups encouraging each other from the novice to the master are cliques. I am offended by this because it is only through the encouragement and mentoring of generous others in these inclusive groups that I have grown.

Whining may garner a moment of attention, but when I wake up the next day, I have not grown as a writer, helped another or myself, climbed a bit higher, or enjoyed a fantastic community of friends worldwide. Instead, I would still be a whiner amongst whiners that suck the life out of creativity and eventually find myself alone. Alone, ignorant, and arrogant was where I started my writing journey, and I will not go back.

***

I applied these principles to my work and made a breakthrough with recognition through the Ukraine Challenge and runner-up in the Ships of Dreams and Runaway Train Challenges. All three stories were rewritten three times and edited numerous times before the final versions were submitted. As Hemingway alluded, it was work but rewarding. Yet, I have miles to go.

I am grateful Vocal Media has provided me with the tools and the opportunity to climb and, someday, shine among the many thousands on Vocal if I work hard enough through an immense amount of reading, study, writing, and rewriting. It’s a choice, my choice. It’s also your choice: to each his or her own. A big thank you to all my Vocal friends who encourage me and the Masters who push me.

Eventually, I plan to ship a manuscript to a print publisher (for about $9.99) and await the response of rejection or acceptance. Then I will know what Hemingway, Scott, and King truly experienced, like thousands of others, the good, the bad, and the ugly. Even if I fall among the wounded in the abyss of today’s brutal print publishing world, Vocal is my home.

Best wishes to all, and may your pens keep flowing forever as you keep writing.

*** *** ***

how toadvice
75

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (53)

Sign in to comment
  • PatrickTheDegen11 months ago

    I'm just starting out and I feel exactly like you did but I am having fun and that's the main thing.

  • WOA11 months ago

    Sometimes I wince when I see writers going after other writers for their perceptions, work ethic or self framing. I find it not just unproductive but stifling. Whiners is a red flag word. Here however, I found it appropo. First, you settled it in yourself. Second you focused on creation and rejecting entitlement in spaces where such entitlement doesn't make sense, and explained that well. Third, you gave concrete actions and options that were broad. Work and revise before expecting a grand prize - as opposed to, there are specific ways you have to do it in order to get any sort of outcome that matters. I was hesitant, but I'm glad I clicked in to read.

  • Rachael MacDonald11 months ago

    Oh gosh, do I agree. When I go back and read some of the first submissions I've posted... oof. I'd love to have a challenge where it's to rewrite an earlier submission. It's humbling for sure, and I know I still have a long way to go.

  • Carol Townend11 months ago

    A massive well done. Go for it, and good luck!

  • Heather N King11 months ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading your article! Your positive perspective on life's challenges is truly inspiring. It's refreshing to see how you emphasize the importance of embracing challenges as opportunities for growth and personal development. Your uplifting words serve as a reminder to all of us to focus on shining through adversity rather than succumbing to negativity. Keep spreading positivity and encouraging others to overcome obstacles with a determined and resilient mindset. Great work!

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    I’m embarrassed to admit, when I submitted my first challenge entry on Vocal, I was confident I would win. Boy, was I humbled real quick. I have learned that writing is hard work if it’s to be any good. When I first came to Vocal last year, I didn’t do any edits or rewrites. It showed😅 I personally believe there is always room for improvement, no matter your current skill level. With anything, really. This was a well put together article, nice work.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    This, right hear is gospel. You hit the nail on the head. Writing is hard work and is a process. well done.

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    You have good perspective as to the work that needs to go in to good writing. Being humbled occasionally is good too. We need to remember we are but mere mortals making mistakes and learning from them. I liked booked.

  • JBaz11 months ago

    Seems like you and I went to the same school of hard knocks ( or self awareness ) Thanks Scott great article and congratulations

  • Dean F. Hardy12 months ago

    You're a class act Scott.

  • A. Lenae12 months ago

    What a thoughtful piece! One that may have entailed some rewrites (?) and one that serves as a reminder of what this platform is for. I especially liked your line: "An idea, no matter how creative, is not writing." That was a hard lesson for me to learn, indeed! The part regarding social media is informative, as I don't use it and worry that I'm missing out on a part of the constructive and collaborative aspect in Vocal's orbit. This was all really enjoyable and motivating - thanks for sharing!

  • Justin Higgins12 months ago

    Good stuff! I agree writing is hard work. Thanks for sharing!

  • Gal Mux12 months ago

    Haha the planning for the Black Book Challenge winnings was.very funny and relatable. You put across very great points. Thank you for sharing

  • Bozhan Bozhkov12 months ago

    Good luck with the manuscript!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Thanks for this, Scott. I'll jump right in and admit that I've done some whining. I also believe I've been climbing and I always, a l w a y s, learn from the disappointments. I also try to "own up" to my own failures. I'm very grateful for the Vocal platform. It's given me a voice I don't have in my "everyday" writing and the opportunity to wander into unfamiliar territory. I couldn't agree more with the importance of reading, and that occupies most of my time here. Here's to the hope of shining, one day.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Congratulations on this top story!!excellent writing !

  • Lacey Dearie12 months ago

    Love this. Humble, honest, heartfelt and vulnerable in places. We’ve all had that initial pride in publishing anything at all and then realised it’s the first step ion a very long road. Best of luck with your submission to the publisher!

  • Great advice Scott. You were very thorough in your thoughts and comments here. Job well done as always. Congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Abigail Penhallegon12 months ago

    I like this. It called me out in a helpful way!

  • Angalee Fernando12 months ago

    You have over 150 stories on here! 😃 Don’t forget to give yourself due credit!

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    There are so many gems in this article, so many lines and thoughts that spoke to me, but I have to select this one: "Alone, ignorant, and arrogant was where I started my writing journey, and I will not go back." This was me when I started my journey in Vocal as well. I was so sure of my ability and puffed up by early success. Then I saw what I took as the same people getting Top Story over and over again. I got jealous and jaded, so I left (silly me). But after I decided to try again - and caught another whiff of success - I decided to learn. And learn I did. I learned how to work on my craft, how to push myself on different subjects and style and with each piece I got a bit better. But, like you, it was making friends with other Vocal writers that really helped my growth. Much like the artist and literary cafes of old, we congregate in little Facebook groups to share, encourage and congratulate one another. Thanks to them I am no longer arrogant, ignorant or alone. Thank you for writing this and congratulations on your Top Story.

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Congrats on your top story! This one will really be helpful for many of us.

  • Heidi McCloskey12 months ago

    I really enjoyed this! I have only been here on vocal for a couple of weeks, and so far, I have enjoyed it immensely. Thank you for sharing your experience and your lessons learned.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.