Journal logo

We Are At The Halfway Mark

How I'm Doing So Far This Year

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 12 months ago 5 min read
1

Can you believe it?

We're already at the end of June!

This year is Halfway over!

Times like this are a great place to take a moment to pause.

How far have you come?

What has gone well so far this year?

What could go better?

Are you still on track for your goals?

Should your goals shift?

What should you lean into more?

What should you step away from?

I'm going to dive into some of these for myself!

What's Been Great The Past 6 Months For Me?

Honestly, the past 6 months have been amazing!

I'm incredibly proud of how far I've come (so far) this year!

I've been married nearly 2 years now, and my spouse and I talk about how incredibly lucky we feel in our relationship all the time.

We've watched a lot of relationships fall apart between our families, so it has been so nice that my spouse and I really feel like we're on the same page.

We push each other, we are growing together, and we are enjoying our lives - I couldn't ask for a better relationship!

I have also finished 2 incredibly difficult certifications so far this year!

There was the Master Coach certification with Precision Nutrition, as well as the Root Cause Protocol Consultant certification.

I have been applying both of these in my life and have been having some tremendous results!

Quite frankly, most of my life has been "unhealthy" outside of sports, especially when it comes to my nutrition.

People who know me would tell you I'm the pickiest person alive (As an example, I don't like salad - everyone says it tastes like water - that is a lie).

There was a time in my life when I would drink about 64 ounces of soda per meal (3-5 meals per day, 192 - 320 ounces of soda per day), and if I needed to study late at night I could add an additional 2 liters on top of that!

Luckily, I don't do that anymore and my choices have become significantly better overall!

I've gotten more diverse with my food options (I actually eat greens with meals now), and have taken serious measures to add the right minerals to recover from stress damage!

I have seen and measured incredible results with the stress side of things!

My WHOOP band tracks how many days I have "High Stress" - in nearly 120 days, I have only had ONE day where I had "High Stress" levels, and it was the day I ran 2 Spartan Races!

That means it took 15 kilometers (9.3 Miles) of running with 45 obstacles to get me into "High Stress".

Also, over 50% of the time I average in the "Low Stress" Zone for the entire day.

I am probably the most calm and at ease that I have ever felt in my life.

Considering I used to be stressed out all the time, and had tons of anxiety and depression, it is incredible to be at this point in my life.

On top of this, business has been phenomenal!

I've written every day this year, putting me past 180 days straight now!

I get thousands of impressions on my posts weekly which is incredible to see!

Not to mention that I've been nominated for 7 awards this year alone for my work.

One of the awards I received was the Leadership Coaching Service of the Year (2023) Award which is truly an honor!

I've also watched a few companies that I invested in doing incredible things!

One of them in particular has made an incredible effort in reforesting Mangroves to offset CO2 emissions and has helped clean some of the dirtiest rivers in the world to prevent ocean pollution.

Being a part of missions like that is truly wonderful!

But none of that compares to watching my clients grow.

Just yesterday one of my incredible clients reached out to me, showing me a post they made from a year ago based on the work we've been doing, and they thanked me.

It's moments like that which is what it is all about!

What Needs Work?

For everything that has been truly amazing, not everything has gone perfectly and I have plenty I need to work on myself.

For one, my sleep isn't always "great".

I've been a night owl pretty much all of my life, and I track my sleep and generally get "good" results.

Based on the data, I've averaged 76%, which means I get sufficient sleep (70% - 85%).

If I could improve this area, I'm sure that it would make a pretty massive difference in my life.

I am also working on improving my HRV overall.

I have a coach who has just told me that I've been making good progress, but the threshold I just hit should lead to bigger changes.

I'm excited to see how much further I can go with that training!

With this, I also know that I haven't improved my physical fitness as much as I wanted to.

Late last year I hit a major bump which dramatically pushed me backward.

That was actually a large part of what led me to dive so deeply into Stress, and Stress Recovery.

I have been making good progress, but I'm still a bit behind where I was at my peak, so there's work to be done.

Of course, it is essential that I get back to that peak in a better condition so that I don't crash again!

With all of these, there is also a lot to work to do for business.

I am in the process of putting together a form of program to help Leaders, and I am also better defining my category of Legendary Leadership.

When you try to go against the grain, it can be challenging to get the right words and pieces for what you are doing as you don't have a "guide" to go off of (because you know the "guides" that are out there are all completely broken).

The key will be in making sure that it isn't a "Development" program because Leadership isn't about "Developing" Cookie Cutter "Products".

That is part of why 80% of "Leadership Development" completely fails (with only "partial" success the rest of the time).

The wording I am beginning to lean into is "Legendary Leadership Cultivation".

Each Leader will be different, and though there are similar aspects to their growth, each needs to be carefully "cultivated" to reach their potential.

I also have a few more certifications I am looking at completing before the end of the year which is exciting!

One other aspect of my life that I am putting more focus into for the rest of the year is my Spiritual growth.

I feel very strongly about my Faith, but I also know that it can be improved.

I have spent the past few years very "Career" focused, and I feel incredibly confident in where I am in that respect.

Due to that, I am going back to developing myself spiritually as well!

I'm truly excited to see where all of these things that I'm working on take me over the next 6 months!

workflowindustryhumanityhow tohistorycareerbusinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (500+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.