Journal logo

Vocal Keeps Me Writing

A reflection on Vocal+ for my 25th story

By Christina BlanchettePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
14
Photo by fotografierende from Pexels

While I was looking through some of my memento boxes for old photos of my teenage self for the Teen Angst challenge, I came across a journal I’d written in February 2012. I was living in the city and battling some mental health issues at the time. Mostly, I didn’t feel like my life was going anywhere.

I decided to take off on a solo holiday in Roatan, Honduras. When I say solo, I really mean it. The tiny beach house I rented was far away from the resorts and I turned off any and all internet access (after letting my mom know I had arrived, of course!) In town, I bought some groceries for the week before settling in for my own retreat.

The trip was what I needed to find some clarity. I read in my hammock, explored the beach and took a scuba diving lesson. Roatan is home to the second-largest coral reef, it was simply incredible. I walked to nearby restaurants and visited with other tourists. Most importantly, I wrote in my journal and I wrote about writing.

That's me!

Everyone asks little kids what they want to be when they grow up. My answer varied from year to year, but one thing was constant - I always wanted to be an author. I wanted to be a lawyer and an author, an astronaut and an author, a cement truck driver and an author (I thought that the spinning part would make it tricky to keep on the road) and eventually, an engineer and an author. In my last year of high school, I registered for university in Edmonton and found a way to get an engineering degree with a minor in comparative literature. I was going to make my dream happen.

Then I joined the military and put those dreams on hold. I still wrote, but very sporadically. Any time there was a newsletter, I volunteered to be the editor. It just wasn’t the author-ship that I had aspired to as a kid.

In 2012, in my hammock, I penned an outline for an urban fantasy world. I just knew that finding a way to be creative again would be the saviour of my sanity. I went home, refreshed and ready, but then I put those dreams aside again. Life got busy. Very busy. I moved, I met my husband, I gained a family (I now have six kids, two dogs, a cat and a fish). Then the pandemic slowed everything down.

Almost exactly nine years later, I started seeing ads for a short story challenge. Like many newcomers to Vocal, I was intrigued and excited about a $20,000 prize. The prompt about a little black book rooted itself in my mind. At night, before falling asleep, I started imagining the story I would write.

I stopped thinking about it, and I wrote it.

I signed up for Vocal+ and submitted my entry to the little black book challenge. I shared it with my friends and family on social media. The support I received was overwhelming and affirming, I didn’t feel like I had any right to participate in these contests.

Vocal+’s challenges have given me no shortage of prompts to get ideas out into the world. I love how a seed is planted that eventually turns into a story. The most recent poetry challenges were no exception! I would not have tried writing poetry again if it weren’t for Vocal+. A sonnet, guys, I wrote a sonnet!

I am inspired to keep learning about writing. Continuous improvement is critical, I know there is much more I need to learn to become truly proficient. Vocal gives me a platform to try new things. I wrote a story in the present tense intending to make readers laugh. I did research and compiled ideas on a lifehack story. I loved writing about movies and television series! I will keep learning and trying new things.

The unexpected bonus that came with Vocal was the wonderful community of creators. The Facebook groups allow opportunities to share stories and lift each other up. I’ve been simply blown away by the support provided by these amazing and talented people. I have to add, there are so many Canadians on Vocal! I’d love to attend a retreat in Niagara Falls for Vocal Creators - something along the lines of, ‘Waterfalls, Wine and Writing Workshops.’ Maybe one day!

This is my twenty-fifth story on Vocal. I am finally writing, instead of just thinking about writing. While I still have a lot to learn, I’ve got the confidence boost to put myself out into the world. I’m submitting to literary journals and starting, albeit slowly, to work on a novel of my own.

Vocal gave me the outlet and the challenges gave me a push to start working towards a dream I’ve had since I first learned to read. I’ve got momentum now, I can’t wait to see what’s next!

My Favourite Vocal Groups

The Vocal Creators Lounge

Vocal Creators Collective

Vocal Media Creators Hub

Vocal Media Article Promotion

Through the gate, on the beach in Roatan

Hello! If you’ve enjoyed this story, please consider leaving a❤️! If you’re interested in checking out any of my first twenty-four stories, click on my Vocal author profile just below. Thanks! -Christina

literature
14

About the Creator

Christina Blanchette

Hello! My day job is spent working as an engineer, I am a mom of 6, avid reader and part-time creator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.