Journal logo

Vocal Deep Cuts 3

Highlighting more less-read and under-appreciated pieces by Vocal Creators

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 5 min read
Vocal Deep Cuts 3
Photo by Andre Taissin on Unsplash

Hey people. It's time for another selection of deep cuts from the bodies of work of some more talented Vocal creators. I am incredibly grateful for the support that the series has received and plan to continue it weekly for the foreseeable future.

For anyone that has not read the previous two editions, let me briefly explain. Due to the number of poems that are published every single day on Vocal, it is often hard to keep track of everything everyone does. To improve that a little, I have featured nine under-appreciated and underread pieces from different Vocal creators every week.

Now, without further ado.

One of my own

Stronger Than Hate

This was written early on in my poetic journey, and I am still proud of it. At the start of the year, I set myself the task of trying to write something/publish something at least once a day. I never really stuck to it, but as I would sometimes write and publish more than one some days and none others, it's worked out okay. Anyway, so I don't take up too much space, it's just a simple haiku, and I still love the brevity of it for the powerful point it makes!

Michigan in April by Judey Kalchik

Judey Kalchik is very well-known to many people, especially because of hard work she does on Facebook with her group, The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Group, and is always very supportive of other creators, including me. I had to dive a little deeper into Judey's body of work and found this lovely little poem called Michigan in April.

There is something lovely about the flow and her perfectly chosen words that helped put me in the scene as I read it. Have a read for yourself here:

MY LONG PEACEFUL DUSTY ROAD by Novel Allen

Novel Allen is a very prolific writer of many varied talents. If you haven't read any of her evocative and thoughtful poetry, you should. Equally, if you haven't read any of her pieces in other communities here on Vocal, you should. You are always guaranteed to read something intriguing, beautiful, funny (she has a great sense of humour), or something that makes you feel! She is also a wonderful supporter of other creators on this platform.

I picked out this piece because I loved its laidback feel and flow - it helped bring to life the very laidback scene she created with her lovely words!

How to Write Your Name by Mackenzie Davis

Mackenzie is a writer I recently started to subscribe to, and I have never failed to be astounded by her talent. Her sense of pacing and use of words is just impeccable, and I often wish my writing could be a little more "Mackenzie-like." I recommend that you subscribe to her, but as is the nature of the game, I have chosen this piece because it's just lovely and has a very gentle feel to it. It makes me remember what it was like when my children were just babies.

Thú by Dean F. Hardy

Dean is just reliably a great writer that gets you thinking and feeling. His pieces often have his wry sense of humour and make you question things. On taking a bit of a deep dive, I found this under-appreciated haiku that I wanted to highlight. I love the simplicity of it, in terms of words, but how big and deep the concept is! If this is your first time reading something by Dean, please check out some of his other amazing work too!

Unrequited by Scott Wade

Scott is a very prolific and well-known writer on Vocal, so it was definitely difficult finding something that was under-appreciated. I found this very pointed and heartfelt piece at the back of beyond and felt it showcased how talented Scott is. The poem is built around the same refrain and the repetition really drives home the gut-punch in the final line.

Loss of a Soulmate by Moe Radosevich

Moe is another highly prolific writer with more than 200 poems on Vocal. I feel that with Moe, you could pick any of his pieces out and find something that makes you think or feel. This piece touched me, and I feel nails what it feels like to lose someone so important to you in death.

The Passage of Time by Donna Fox

Donna is an incredible Canadian writer who is extremely supportive here on Vocal. Her comments are always insightful, encouraging, and upbuilding. While researching for this edition of Deep Cuts, I came across a funny Fox tautogram I was going to share (I can't resist a good tautogram) but, before I started copying and pasting the link, I noticed the image and the title of this piece.

It was just too achingly relatable not to share it. I just felt more people need to read this poem.

The Wino by Gerald Holmes

The other talented Holmes sibling, Gerald is one that I am just starting to read more by. The little I have read so far has nothing short of impressed me. I picked out this one because it covers quite a serious subject but in a very sympathetic way. The rhyming is perfect, and it all ties up with that gut punch in the final verse. Have a look for yourself!

Why Can't You Write Something Nice by Brenton F

I have been a fan of Brenton's writing for as long as I have been on Vocal...I think. My memory is a bit rubbish at times. It's been a long time, anyway, and while he has had a number of Top Stories, I feel it's pieces like these that go under the radar. I chose this one because it made me laugh, smile, think, and feel all in one and because it sounded like the most beautiful rant!

Honorable Mention - Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

Well, I don't normally do this, but I spent a while looking for something by Dharrsheena Raja Segarran to include in this edition, but she has so many well-received poems, so in keeping with my admittedly not-very-strict rules, I didn't include her.

However, given how supportive she is to everyone and anyone, I wanted to give her a little shout-out - a PSExtra! This may not be sticking to the format, but since I started this format haha, I think it's perfectly fine! If you haven't read anything by Dharrsheena and you love being creeped out, laughing, or being touched emotionally - give something of her's a read!

*

I hope you enjoyed the choices I made this week and give each a read.

Look out for another edition next week.

In the meantime, you can take a look at previous editions below:

featurelist

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Thank you very much for the shout out! Appreciate it immensely!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Wow Paul, don't know how you found my little scribble, but I am very humbled to be included. You are such a sweetheart, thank you for being wonderful.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Excellent choice Paul. Great talent shining in all of them. Well done.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Thank you Paul for doing this. I just read them all. Keep it up, you are doing a great job with this.

  • Dean F. Hardy11 months ago

    Hey Paul, thanks for promoting my work. I forgot that even existed. You really went down into the basement for that one. Much Love man. ☘

  • Awww, you're so kind to include me, thank you so much Sir Paul! 🍩🥐 I've read yours, Donna's, Mackenzie's and a few others. I've opened in tabs the ones I've not read yet. I'll be getting to them soon. Thank you so much for putting this together!

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    Yay, there's another one! I found a lot I really enjoyed in here. Thanks for sharing

  • Another great selection, Paul, none of which I had read before, though many I continue to follow.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    These look so good Paul! I see several of my favorite people, a new-to-me creator, and nothing I’ve already read. This excites me.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Paul I love that you put so much time and effort into creating this list. You show so much care and compassion for the authors and pieces that you choose to highlight!
I feel incredibly honoured to be part of this list this week! You are far too generous in your compliments! Thank you very much my friend! 🥰💜

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    I’m so honored to be included, Paul! This poem is definitely one that I felt all the warmth and fuzzies for while writing, and I’m happy you did too. It was actually a prompt for a "how to" poem, and I took a lot of poetic liberties, lol. Thank you so much. As ever, your support astonishes and humbles us. ❤️ LOVE the Deep Cuts series. It’s the manifestation of what I’ve been craving more of! So I’m glad to see you’ll keep it up for the foreseeable future. Your choice to find uplifting stories in this edition is evident. It’s always refreshing to see people wanting that positivity get more attention. I wonder sometimes if we’re too caught up sadness, heartbreak, and horror. I loved every one you shared! Thank you, once again, for doing this series.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    Thanks for sharing Paul. I’ve read a few of these pieces before and just read a few more! ☺️

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Thank you Paul for the inclusion of Unrequited. This poem was for a challenge that required the use of colors. I’m humbled by your honor. ☺️ Scott

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Paul- thank you for the inclusion in your Deep Cuts. I wrote my April poem while I was in traffic one day. I decided to take the time to appreciate actually looking at the scenery I usually fly by. Your personal entry- Stronger Than Hate, didn’t link! Perhaps a quick quick edit?

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.