Journal logo

Mumbles About Mumbles

My personal thoughts, tips and suggestions on commenting on Vocal pieces

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
16
The mumbles are forthcoming...

Anyone that pays any attention to anything I write, especially in the comments section will know that I have given my own brand of wordings the title of "mumbles". This is because even on pieces where I say I am "speechless" I usually end up writing about a paragraph or three on what I loved about the piece I've just read. They are often meandering, train-of-thought, stream-of-conscious thoughts and feelings, or just read that way (depends on time of day and a bunch of other factors, if I'm honest).

Why Mumbles?

I used to worry that it came across that I love the sound of my own voice, or in this case, the look of my own writing. While that may actually be the case sometimes, it is not the reason why I do my mumbles. In the beginning when I started on Vocal and comments were introduced, I was a bit shy. I've not done a degree in English Lit (I know that isn't necessary, but was just dropping that in - see, mumble) and also just felt out of depth that I wouldn't be able to write a comment that sounded sincere enough or said the right things.

So I just decided to be myself and try and make it sound accurate and sincere, but also the way I would say it to a person in front of me. I have tried to refine them as I've gotten better and more confident in my skills and knowledge to comment on the technical side, but generally they are still a haphazard mess of my mind splattered on the screen. They are always, always meant in the most positive of ways, you should know.

Necessity is the Mother of Mumbilation?

It was out of necessity see. I didn't want to just do "that's great" or my favourite jokey one that I sometimes drop on certain creators who get the joke of "ace".

Because, I didn't want the comment to just seem like I hadn't put any thought into it.

I wanted the person reading my comment to know, that I had read, understood it (even if it was my interpretation) and I appreciated their hard work and (as is so often the case) skill.

So, yes, it does come off, like Paul's on "one" again writing a full-on dissertation about your piece - especially funny when it's a tiny haiku - but it's really coming from a genuine place.

It's also because I really appreciate it when people leave meaningful and insightful comments - the longer the better - for my work. I understand and I am not judging those who don't - sometimes, we are too busy, sometimes all we can really say is "Well done" because meandering might sound OTT. So, if you are in my comments section and only dropping a few words - I appreciate it all the same.

Fortunately, for the most part, people seem appreciative of my mumbles. Of which I am very glad, because all I ever aim to do with them is to be honest, sincere and encouraging!

Some Tips from the Mumble Master (Totally a real thing, though I don't have proof)

I figured, if there are some people reading this that do not know what and how they should, could, or would if they could comment on work they like, dislike, agree with or disagree with on Vocal, I'd give some pointers and tips.

Obviously, if you don't have time to leave big comments or it's just not in your nature, don't worry. I am not suggesting this as a MUST DO thing for everyone.

  1. Be sincere
  2. Pick out a line, or even a word you liked about the person's work
  3. Don't linkbomb them, unless they request it
  4. Use emojis, appropriate emojis, or don't. I sometimes do and sometimes don't. I will always enjoy a donut or croissant emoji in a comment on my work, though, fyi.
  5. If you disagree with a point or something, don't be an ass about it. We all have differing opinions about some things - it doesn't mean either is necessarily right or wrong.
  6. Don't worry about using cadence, rhyme scheme, character development or any technical terms. If they are not the way you normally speak - don't include them. People aren't going to think less or more of you, because you use them. Most creators, and given that I am speaking to many creators with this post, will just appreciate the fact that you took time out of your day to read their work and then to put some comments together.
  7. Proofread for sure, but don't go crazy worrying too much. Again, people aren't going to judge you too harshly if you write a lovely comment that has a spelling mistake. I already judge people who spell the words colour, harbour, humour and aluminium wrong anyway! I kid, I kid!
  8. Don't spam nonsensical rubbish that has little or nothing to do with the piece you are commenting on.

Anyway, those are my thoughts and mumbles on the matter. I'm off to eat two rounds of fried cheese and ham sandwiches that were cooked in bacon fat because why not?

*

Thanks for reading!

Some other things to look at, if you so wish:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

listhow tofeatureadvice
16

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    Hahaha that pic of you! So pensive. So "Rodin". Lol!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    I enjoyed these mumblings greatly ☺️ I always very much appreciate your very thoughtful mumblings on my stories, friend! This was great advice written with an engaging flare - nice work! :)

  • Paul, you look like Shakespeare!!!! Also, thank God I spell colour, harbour, humour and aluminium just like you do, lol! I always just write whatever comes to my mind when I was reading 🍩🥐

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    This is great mumbly advice. I don’t know how to say this without sounding mean… so I’ll just sound mean. I can tell who is a real writer and who isn’t by the type of comments they leave. People who have to overthink what they write, and write pretentious stuff that they think makes them look cerebral or skilled, are the same people with no communication skills whatsoever. They do not know how to genuinely express themselves. And truth be told, I developed a writing voice through two decades of engaging with people online. From AIM to message boards to comment sections. So if people want to be better writers with genuine voices, writing comments is amazing practice. I bet if you look back, you’ll see your work has improved with you learning how to tell people what you feel about their work. I have been wanting to write something myself about the value of genuine engagement. I like the way you tackled this topic.

  • Marvelous mumblings & great advice, Paul.

  • Sara Wilson10 months ago

    All I have to say is this 🥐 Ha! Just kidding. Commenting is such a weird thing for me lol. I love so many pieces that I read. Most of them.. but I don't want to leave generic comments all over the place so I tend to be more of a silent reader 😅 Unless the piece really made me feel something where I HAVE to say SOMETHING. There have a been a fair number of those. 🤗

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    We all enjoy the mumblings. As you said, it’s being sincere and honest about what you just read and the impact it may have had on you. I tend to get wordy too. It’s not that I’m reaching for something to say, it’s just how I feel at the time. Now that I’ve gotten that mumble jumble out the way. Where’s the donuts you promised everyone if they read this. Lol. This was the first article of the day and a great way to start the day. Thanks my friend.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Now, see, I've never once thought about using the donut or croissant emojis. Good thing you mentioned it - or is it? I appreciate your mumblings. I try to be sincere and thoughtful with my comments, but I think tend to go off on tangents related to the story, or, you know, like I'm hungry, or - oh, nevermind. 🍩🍩🍩 (Sorry, I'm still looking for the croissant.)

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    {This is a donut}= I am using a laptop so no emoji activated. To me- the most telling line in this piece is this "So I just decided to be myself ...". And that is why I am always glad to have a notification that you have commented. I know that you/yourself has seen, thought, and responded. And that is an immensely pleasurable gift.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    I'd like to mumble about your mumbling, but my mind is jumbling and I already forgot half of what you said. Seriously, it is nice to meaningful, well thought out comments (unlike this one), but quite often I truly don't know what to say so I just blab (kind of like now). As for #7, yeah. Fuck those "u" hating fuckers.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Haha! I love this and your mumbling of course! I have a piece in drafts (that Vocal said they were going to publish two weeks ago as a resource but haven’t yet lol) but it’s all about responding to comments 🤣😁. And have a 🍩 to go with your snack! I could go for a dozen right now haha

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.