Journal logo

Vocal Creator Highlights - Vol 1

Collections of Stories, Poetry and Articles I Love

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
8
Created by Author using Canva Pro

I love stories. All kinds of stories in all kinds of formats. I like to read them, I like to listen to them, and I love to watch them. When I bury myself in a book, I pretty much eat, sleep, and breathe that book until it disappoints me or until I finish it. Likewise, if I get into a Netflix series that sweeps me off my feet, it's binge time baby. So, yes, I get death stares a lot because I have abandoned clothes in the washer and the dryer that completely fell off my radar as I indulged myself in whatever story I was immersed in at the time.

Just like I once wrote about Series I was loving by Vocal Creators (Vol 1, Vol 2 and Vol 3), I decided to start a new gig highlighting stories of Vocal Creators that really grabbed me.

Another Raven by MIKE SINGLETON - MIKEYDRED

I want to start with this poem because I can't imagine anyone that reads it wouldn't be impressed by it. And if you have an appreciation for the writings of Edgar Allen Poe, well, then you will absolutely love this poem by Mike Singleton. He is a prolific writer of poetry and articles sharing his expertise in music. You can almost see his post count whirling as you watch it. Joking aside, Another Raven is truly brilliant. Drop into his comments and let him know how much you love it.

My Cheating Art by MIKE SINGLETON - MIKEYDRED

(Awarded Top Story on 9-9-2022)

This is another one by Mike Singleton. He has become quite the creator of digital art using AI on Night Cafe. In this article, he shares his thoughts on it and gives tips on how to use it.

At The Edge by Lena Borondia

This writer is very dear to my heart. She is a phenomenal writer and storyteller. This was her entry in the New Worlds Challenge. I loved her integration of the sound waves on her artwork. I hope she writes more on this. I will definitely read every drop of it she publishes. If you feel the same, be sure to leave her comments of encouragement.

Granted Tranquility by Lena Borondia

This is a double dose from Lena but I just can't leave out her poetry. It really touches my soul. It stirs me to tears at times and at other times it provokes me to smile for a very long time. Here is her latest. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Together We Fall by HEATHER HUBLER

Oh my, trapping creatures with a special trap that really isn't all that special. You will want to know how this creature does it. And I'm ready for the next Chapter. I think you will be too. Let's all encourage Heather to grace us with more of this intriguing story.

The Man Who Cares by Pam Reeder

I've put this story in here not because "I" wrote it, but rather because of "who" I wrote it about. This guy.... there just aren't enough words. Like all of us, he has his own woes and maladies, and yet he there supporting everyone through all their uggy junk. There's something to be said about someone that lays their own troubles down to help someone else carry theirs. So, that is how this poem came about. If you know him, I think you will agree with me. If you don't know him, you will want to. I barely touched the surface in this poem, so feel free to share your thoughts so he can know how much he is truly appreciated by so many of us.

Are You Serious? Get Out! by KELLI SHECKLER-AMSDEN

Sandman is always a catchy little tune to get you going. Well, Kelli took that song and elevated it to a delightful parody. As I read this, I found myself singing the words in my head to the tune of Sandman. Well done Kelli! And now, I've got that song in my head again.

The Hail Mary Confession (Part One) by Rick Henry

If you like New Orleans, mystery, and puzzles, you'll like this one. Rick does give a trigger warning with this three part series since it does deal with some graphic and disturbing topics. That didn't stop me. I had to know why Donna wore all those layers of clothing. And why was her son sick. Once I started, I couldn't stop until I got to the end. That, my friends, is a successfully written story, when your readers are consuming it faster than they scroll.

The Planned Pregnancy by DHARRSHEENA RAJA SEGARRAN

With an innocent title like this, a cutesy picture, I was totally off guard and surprised by the ending. I totally missed that it was published in (spoiler) the Horror Community. This story falls in the realm of stories where you are floating along and then WHAM! full stop blown away. Dharrsheena really delivers. After you have read this story, cruise her Vocal Profile for more goodies. She writes fictional Horror/Thrillers and non-fiction True Crime, Poetry and articles on Nutrition.

And that is all for this volume of Vocal Creator Highlights.

If you would like me to read your stories for consideration to be featured in Vocal Creator Highlights, just use this hashtag #VocalCreatorHighlights so I can find your stories.

*************

You can see more of my writing at any of the places below:

Vocal

Medium

Amazon

fact or fiction
8

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I've had the pleasure of reading works from all of these amazing creators. They consistently release quality and heartfelt pieces that simply astound me. Thank you for including me in this wonderful bunch! Can't wait to read the stories I missed :)

  • Thank you for complimenting me by putting my writing next to such amazing talent . I am honored

  • Some amazing writers here , and then there is me as well 😁 , thank you so much for this Pam. Well written and well presented as always and worthy of a top story. It is so nice to be so appreciated and included with these amazing creators

  • Whoa, I was caught off guard and surprised by the ending. Certainly did not expect to see my story there. Thank you so much for the shoutout, Pam, that truly means a lot and you made my day! 💖 Mike's Another Raven had me mesmerised and blew my mind and his My Cheating Art is a very well deserved Top Story! He's really got the hang of using the tools in Nightcafe. His creative mind and magic fingers always knows the correct combo of keywords and filter to use. And two of his creations were published in Pixabay! 💖 Lena's At The Edge had me in a trance and I couldn't stop reading. It was so fantastic and I too hope she'll continue this story! Her poem Granted Tranquility was so deep and absolutely gorgeous like the hidden treasure chest found in a shipwreck. That feeling of breathing in the salty sea sir, sand between toes, wind in hair and especially saving sea turtles spells out bliss. We struggle to keep our head above water and we rise by helping others along the way. Loved it so much! 💖 Heater Together We Fall was phenomenal! Excellent worldbuilding and character development. I loved Abtu! A very suspenseful story and a killer cliffhanger at the end. I still have so many questions. Really hoping for a part 2 💖 Your poem The Man Who Cares was a very very beautiful tribute to Mike! He's always ready to help other and is always there for everyone. He prioritises everyone else before his ownself. He often falls into the traps of people who don't appreciate him but he still only sees the good in them. What did we do to have a wonderful friend like him 💖 Kelli's poem was splendid and a well deserved Top Story. Now I've got the Sandman tune stuck in my head again, lol. Absolutely loved this parody! 💖 Rick's The Hail Mary Confession was a brilliance masterpiece. I too couldn't stop reading once I started. I had to know why Donna dressed that way and why she kept having the same recurring dream. And the poetry book held the answers, genius! Although the story was very long, there wasn't a dull moment. Rick mastered the transitions very well. Reading this story made me feel like a was watching a movie in my head 💖 Sorry for my long essay 😅

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    So many amazing writers(and amazing people) highlighted here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.