Journal logo

Series I'm Loving by Vocal Creators - Vol. 3

Grab your favorite drink and settle into your comfy spot and dig into these delightful series

By Pam ReederPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
7

I started this series because I enjoy reading. Reading led me to writing. And I know very much what it is like to desire people to read and appreciate your works. And to love them enough to share them.

Part of my Vocal experience was finding the writer support groups on Facebook. Writers freely share their works there, critiquing one another, inspiring and cheering one another on. I'll be honest, morale can get bleak when you're writing your heart out, burning midnight oil, spending those spare moments you find in the chaos of a busy day of living, loving, working, chores, sleep, repeat -- writing. And then hoping that all that effort pays off with someone finding and reading your stuff.

Let's face it, family and friends only stick with it so far before the coolness of your "hobby" escapes them and they get entrenched back in the days and ways of their own lives. Because to most people writing is a hobby. It rarely is considered an occupation or even monetarily viable. Why? Because they don't know people in their day to day lives that write for a living and do only that to support themselves and their families. And because people get swallowed up in life and afford themselves no recreational time beyond watching a bit of tv or Netflix while they gobble down a meal they barely find time for.

Thankfully, getting active on Vocal steered me off the crazy train and helped me get back to doing things I LOVE - reading and writing. So, when I'm not writing, I'm reading the works of other Vocal creators so that they know they are seen and they are read and they are appreciated.

CONFESSION: Another reason I do these pieces? So, that I can save the series I loved and find my way back to them. I'm still cracked livid that I can't find my way back to a series called "Imprint" or revolved around Imprint, aliens and hackers, and out of control government. Sadly, I can't remember the writer's name either. All I can remember is that it had silver fingers making a peace sign as the cover logo for the stories. Yeah, I'm a bit miffed that I can't find it. So, I'm left hanging in mid series! grrrrr! But I will find it eventually.... and when I do, it will go in one of the Volumes of Series I'm Loving by Vocal Creators so that I never lose it again.

UPDATE: "O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay! He chortled in his joy." Miracle of Miracles I found the Imprint series! Quite by accident actually by scrolling through the Top Stories in the Fiction section. I am adamant I did that before and never saw the signature graphic I knew to look for. It is quite odd and disappointing that doing a search on the Vocal site for the word Imprint never returned that story in the search results AND IT WAS A CHALLENGE WINNER - 3rd Place in Doomsday Diary! I couldn't believe it didn't work and felt it would have flew to the top since that was it's title. I had begun to gaslight myself that Imprint was not the name of it at all. And then tonight - BAM! There it is in search results. ALL the episodes. So, I must have been living in an alternate universe when I tried before. No worries. All that matters is that it has been found now, and I've included it below. I will never have to hunt for it again.

So, each week, starting two weeks ago, I start a draft of Series I'm Loving by Vocal Creators and then I build it as I go. I confess that I have a thread going in one of the FB groups where I beg writers to post their links. That way I don't have to go surfing around looking for series. Maybe that's lazy but, hey, I like supporting people that I have developed relationships with even if only through online communities. And they don't mind helping me out at all.

So, let's get into what I've found for Volume 3.

Malik Needs Help by Chloe Longstreet

I happened across this series by accident. It is actually a novel in the making, Undead Uprising. Chloe conveniently links to some additional pieces on other characters and backstory. She had me at Vampires. Then with mention of Vlad the Impaler as Trisha's father, and something about a fight where many on Trisha's side died, Chloe continued to pull me in. Then we have Malik, the bad boy, and pulling me in deeper with the curiosity of things untold. This is definitely worth the time to read and follow.

The Secret Life of Tom Bradbury by Arpad Nagy

This series follows Tom Bradbury and pulls you in with the mystery of Tom's past life. To borrow from Arpad, "The Octopus was calling him back." The mystery of Tom's past, the adventure of his present, a woman named Delia.

Not all the episodes in the series link to one another, so for your convenience, here they are: Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6

Ganymedes Gift by Sarah Saint-Erth

This is a well done series of mystery, coming of age, secrets untold and extraterrestrials. Calli is supposed to be on her way to Burning Man to host "an active engagement with interstellars." But she wakes up in the desert with a book and bizarre card that has odd properties. With her friend Chandi in tow, Callie sets out to find out what the card with the blue dot is all about, leading to strange answers regarding her father than disappeared when she was two.

Written before QuickEdit was an option, this series is not linked together so here they are: Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6 .... and more coming

*******************************

Imprint Pt. I by SYDNEY CHAPMAN

Thank goodness I finally found my way back to this series. I can't believe I missed it. This pilot episode actually won 3rd Place in the Doomsday Diary Challenge. At the time of this writing, 5 episodes are published with a promise of episode 6, each episode links to the next. This series intrigued me because it was a mystery, a conspiracy theory, apocalyptic and techy. You can't imagine how happy I was to lark across this again. I had read 3 chapters and was ready for the 4th and then couldn't find my way back to it. Now I have it memorialized in my Series I'm Loving by Vocal Creators so I will never lose track of it again.

Links to other episodes of this series: Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5

Top 12 Prophets, 👁👁 Prognosticators, & Visionaries #2 by Lightning Bolt ⚡

This is actually the second installment of this series by Lightning Bolt. While the other series I've been sharing were fiction, this historic series is based on Lightning Bolt's take on the Top 12 Prophets, Prognosticators & Visionaries, just as the title indicates. I found this episode particularly mesmerizing with regards to Hildegard of Bingen. It was fascinating the accomplishments of a woman from 1098-1179 in Middle Ages Germany. He also gives an interesting account of the Mayans.

Here is the link to the first episode of this series: 1) The Oracle of Delphi & 2) the Sibyls of Rome

Radio Silence by Caitlin McColl

This intriguing post-apocalyptical series is currently five episodes and heading into a sixth. Eerily, Caitlin began this series in 2015 prior to our current pandemic.

For convenience, links to the other episodes: Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5 -- Part 6 to come

******************

I hope you'll indulge in these series by these fabulous Vocal Creators and find them as captivating as I have.

Now, I have to get back to my series post and continue reading more of the wonderful goodies posted there for me to enjoy. I'll write a Volume 4 Series I'm Loving article and let you know what new masterpieces I've found.

P.S. If you're not listed above, post a link to your series on my series post in this social media group post HERE so I can read your works. I don't want to miss a thing!

******************

Visit Series in the Fiction Section of Vocal here:

******************

I owe, I owe. It's off to work I go. Just me in the car headed off to work on one of the weekdays.

I always try to share a different photo of me at the end of my stories so that if you read my stuff often (fingers crossed) you'll get to see the many different facets of me.

If you're wondering just who exactly wrote this piece, you can find more about me here. If you're intrigued to see what else I've written, more stories by me can be found here.

On the off chance you appreciated this piece, a heart would be appreciated. It is inspiration to keep moving forward on this writing journey. There is also a tipping option for those who may want to part ways with their hard earned money and for some odd reason impart it to me.

Drop me a heart if you would be so kind. <3

********************

Other Volumes of Series I'm Loving by Vocal Creators:

Lagniappe:

literature
7

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.