Journal logo

Up Before You

What Is It and What Does It Mean?

By Connor WarmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Up Before You Podcast

What started as a simple podcast that I was recording out of my college apartment on a Macbook Air laptop computer has grown to so much more. The idea to start in the first place was inspired by the guys and gals at Lift Heavy Run Long. A podcast by a group of people from Olive Branch CrossFit. They had my girlfriend at the time on their show and me and another friend decided to go with her to the studio to support and watch the show live. It was an incredible experience. Not only was she great on the show but the environment was electric. They had all the gadgets and gizmos. All of the toys and whistles. And the best part about it was they all seemed to be having the time of their life. The podcast wasn't even really about anything either. Sure, they asked her some questions and talked a little bit about her history in Crossfit and competing and such but it was mostly just them shooting the shit with each other. I was amazed and stunned as I watched and was on cloud 9 on the way home. I had to start doing this I remember telling her.

At the time, however, I had no idea what I was doing. No clue about what equipment I needed, software, any of it. I just thought, like most things, I could just start and figure it out as I went along. And I was right! The name didn't come easily to me but luckily I had some help. Gina came up with it(old girlfriend I've been referencing) and from the second she said, "Up Before You" I knew that was it. It fit me, my personality, and the lifestyle I was trying to live.

But it didn't always come easy and I've almost quit numerous times on this journey. Especially early on. I remember getting some bad feedback and being misunderstood on some episodes I did solo. I took a lengthy break at one point and contemplated if it was even worth it to continue. But, I did what any great dreamer and thinker would do and I decided to pivot. I leaned into the interviews and decided that was where I would go with it. I would bring on all different types of people, big following, small following, it didn't matter to me. I was more interested in the story and it's impact. You see, I've always been more interested in the little guy(or girl). I've just always thought that those stories can be so powerful. Yet, they don't always get to be told to larger audiences. So I thought, what if I could be the one to give them a platform to tell them on? What kind of impact would that have? Well, it worked and it still works to this day. And, you know what? It's still fun and I still love it.

But Up Before You isn't what it was two and a half years ago. It's changed and evolved as all great ideas and businesses should. It's become much more than just a podcast and a catchy tagline. It's become a community of like-minded individuals who have one thing in common, they get after it every single day. Whether in the gym, business, parenting, school, or simply everyday life they embrace this lifestyle head-on. Looking back, that's what it was always meant to do. Bring people together who gravitate towards this idea of getting after it in life.

Up Before You is a community of early morning grinders, late-night warriors, and all-day hustlers. Simply put, people who embrace the suck and get stuff done.

When the going gets rough, we get going. We lean into hardship because we know what comes out the other end. Valuable experiences and results.

Up Before You doesn't have to mean waking up early. It can be staying up late to grind, doing one more rep when you think you've hit failure, or not skipping the gym that day because you don't like the workout. It's all about taking the path of most resistance and not letting yourself get comfortable where you're at.

It's about developing a winning, no quit mindset in whatever you do.

And, always remembering, to GET AFTER IT.

advice
1

About the Creator

Connor Warman

A CrossFit Coach and Podcaster's perspective on life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.