Journal logo

Understanding The Payoff

Why Most People Fail To Get Seen In Entrepreneurship And Leadership

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 5 months ago 6 min read
2

This has been a WILD year for me!

I speak with a LOT of Entrepreneurs and Leaders who have a desire to stand out in the marketplace.

Many struggle to get Visibility on ANY of their work.

That's the reality for most people in Business, but that hasn't been my Experience this year.

In less than 1 year, I have received 16 Nominations and Awards for my work.

What has led to this Payoff, where most people never get ANY Payoff?

Well, there are a few factors you must know to Understand the Payoff.

Strengths

The first place most people Struggle is that they don't play into their Strengths.

Talk to most Failing Entrepreneurs and Leaders, they will have a similar piece of advice.

"Be everywhere."

It's terrible advice!

Every Platform where you can get seen requires different sets of Skills and Abilities.

Some require amazing Design Skills.

Others require exceptional Physical Presence.

I chose to Focus on only ONE activity this year for the ENTIRETY of my marketing - Writing.

The reason is because my thoughts are most clear when I Write, and it is something that I truly enjoy!

It's not for everyone, and I would never try to convince you that's how YOU should do it, but it has been PERFECT for me!

By Focusing on what I'm Strong at, I haven't been Wasting Efforts on creating mediocre material while losing progress on where I'm Strong.

Don't be everywhere!

Be where you are Strong!

Now, you can be in multiple places that play to your Strengths - I publish to 4 platforms and use links through social media to direct to those Platforms.

However, you won't see me creating Beautiful graphics because it's not something I'm good at.

I USED to try to be everywhere, however I've had FAR more Success by only Focusing on the area of my Strength.

Consistency

Just today I found out that I was the #1 Creator on one of the Platforms I post to.

Out of nearly 60,000 Writers, I have the #1 spot.

Do you know what else I noticed?

In the Platform's metrics, they showed how many Articles were created in a row.

What did that reveal?

I had over TWICE the amount of Articles created than the next closest Writer.

Long-Term Consistency makes you Stand Out.

Another Metric that I noticed - The Average Writer on the Platform has only published 4 Essays.

Do you know what 4 pieces of content reveal on any Platform?

Nothing.

You have no idea what is or isn't working.

It isn't enough time for anyone to discover your work.

If by some miracle you "are" discovered, but only have 4 pieces of content, you won't be taken seriously.

Who's advice would you rather look at - The person that wrote 4 Articles on a topic or the person that wrote 340 Articles on a topic?

That level of Consistency completely changes the game in terms of Visibility.

Be Different

Another problem that I often see is that most people write about the same things as everyone else.

When I look at most topics, I could take 20 pieces of content, and they would all sound the same.

They are in an Echo Chamber of Mediocrity.

If you sound like everyone else, you won't catch anyone's Attention.

To get seen, you must Be Different.

What you say needs to be Unique, Authentic, and Unlike other things that exist.

Lot's of people talk about "Leadership".

Many people will talk about "Psychology".

It is common to hear people talk about "Legacy".

For me, I focus on Legendary Leadership which includes Psychophysiology in Leadership, and Designing a Regenerative Legacy.

No one has the same Focus that I have.

Some people have attempted to "Steal" ideas from me, but the Reality is they don't understand the fullness of my work.

When you mix that with the Failure to have the same levels of Consistency as me, and it explains why others don't have the same Success.

I'm not worried about if people attempt to steal my work - My work is so vastly different that it will take them years to actually understand what I've been Designing.

When they Fail to be me, and also Fail to be themselves, they quickly lose.

When you don't embrace how you're Different, you will Lose.

The reason I can't seem to stop winning is because I EMBRACE being Different.

Improvement

So you have decided to Create Content.

Awesome!

But how quickly will you run out of material?

How quickly will your material become dry and meaningless?

A large part of the reason so many people Fail to continue to be Creative is because they Fail to Improve.

There have been a number of Entrepreneurs and Leaders that I used to look up to.

Their work was powerful and changed my life in many ways.

However, I look at their work now, years later (some of them nearly a decade later), and... it hasn't changed.

Their work is stale, it has nothing left to give.

They are smart individuals who have done great work, but they are sitting on their laurels.

I write an Article every single day, but I ALSO work on Improving myself EVERY single day.

For every 1 piece of content I create, I intake at least 10 Times the amount of Content.

All in order to continue Improving myself.

I never have problems with continuing to Create more and more interesting work, because I continually Improve.

As you continue to Improve, you begin to become more and more visible.

I once heard a quote, "To a third grader, a fifth grader is a god."

But I have a follow-up to the quote, "If you stay a fifth grader forever, you stop being cool."

Flow Cycle

The final key to standing out is understanding the Flow Cycle.

Flow is the Psychophysiological State where we feel our best and do our best work.

If you want to be a Peak Performer in anything, you need to figure out how to get into Flow as Frequently and Efficiently as possible.

Most people try to rely on Emotions like "Passion" or "Happiness" to push them to do their work.

It works at first, but fails later on.

Why?

Emotions are fickle and unreliable.

However, Flow is not an Emotion.

Plus, Flow is Autotelic, meaning we will pursue it for it's own sake.

Life could be the WORST that it's ever been, but we will pursue Flow anyways, even to the LITERAL point of Death.

So, if you can create Flow while doing your work, you begin to feel your best, and do your best work AND will pursue it in your life at nearly any cost.

For me, I ALWAYS get into Flow States when I Write.

It is a HUGE part of the reason that I continue to get better and continue to stand out.

This is also what I know - I've BARELY started.

I've had many "Payoffs" that most people Dream of Achieving.

But for me, my Payoff is EVERY single day.

Why would I slow down or stop?

The Flow States lead to Daily Payoffs, which lead to the "Payoffs" everyone seeks.

workflowwall streetVocalsocial mediaquotespop culturelistindustryhumanityhow tohistoryfeatureeconomycareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
2

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (450+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Whoaaaa! You're like so awesomeeee! 16 nominations and awards, #1 out of 60k writers, you publish to 4 writing platforms, you write every day! You're like a superwriter, lol. I can't writer everyday because I only write when I get an idea for a story or poem. Even then, the proofreading and editing process takes me a week to complete, lol. I only publish to Vocal and my only achievement here so far is being the Top Creator in the Horror community. You're freaking incredible! Congratulations!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.