Journal logo

The tipping of the Libra scales

The contradiction of my astrological sign.

By Nadia CowperthwaitePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The tipping of the Libra scales
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I don’t follow the stars which is surprising as I’m a witch, but my scientific mind just can’t accept that stars thousands of light years apart that look vaguely like a shape from Earth can impact our personalities. That little contradiction in me does, unfortunately, sound like a typical Libra trait.

According to horoscope.com, I am supposed to be a walking paradox and, as much as I hate it, quite a bit of it rings true.

Apparently, I am a master of compromise and diplomacy, and can see all points of view. While this is true in many ways, I have also come to look for the other point of view when I've only received the one side of a story. I don't necessarily take what someone is telling as the 100% truth. I wonder, what aren't they telling me? Why would the other party do that? Don't come to me with a ‘woe is me’ story about how you have been wronged as I am questioning, in the back of my head, what else has happened surrounding these events.

Balance is, obviously, the corner stone of what sums up a Libra personality. I do crave an equilibrium in my life, but who doesn’t? Family, work, social life and hobbies all get my time and if an area gets more attention than others I need to right that in order to feel peace. This, however, is hard to balance in itself as there isn't enough hours in the day to achieve a little of everything everyday.

A Libra falls in love fast and hard. I do not fall in love fast and certainly not hard. Part of my issue with seeing both sides of an issue means that all the stories about your ex aren't going to be blindly accepted by me. I may not say anything but rest assured everything you tell me is being analysed and categorised in my head. So I guess I am quite pragmatic about love... oh wait that's what the next sentence says in the love paragraph on the horoscope website.

This is where this whole astrology hoo-haa falls down. The over simplification, the opposition of traits, the pretty sounding things that everyone can relate to. Kind and intelligent? Is there anyone who would read that and say, "Nope not me! I'm a dumb arsehole." (I'm Australian so please forgive my accent.)

Now, I do know other Libras. There are some things that there is no excuse for, I don't care what the other side of the story is. Talking to the other Libra in my life about domestic violence is really upsetting. I don't care that he's a nice guy, I don't care if it 'takes two to tango'. No. This is a time where I don't care about the other side of the story.

Yes, yes, I know that there are moon and ascending signs that are supposed to add more depth to each sign. Still, to say that there are such a finite amount of personalities in the world is such a boring and limited way to see the seven billion people who we share the Earth with. Where does Shengxiao, the Chinese zodiac, fit into this? Is the Western idea of astrology supposed to apply to those from vastly different cultures? Culture has a massive impact on our personalities and some things are not going to translate to other cultures.

I decided to read the Aries traits, too. Guess what? I am passionate, independent and extremely competitive, too. Sagittarius: I love adventure, solo travelling and exploring (to be honest my wanderlust is never fulfilled), I love to read and I'm creative.

Do those who follow it closely find themselves in the box that they believe their sign has relegated them to? Humans want to feel accepted and like to have a label for themselves, whether it is due to what you wear in high school, what car you drive, what sports team you follow or what your star sign is.

The narrative that the stars weave on a weekly basis in the back of the tabloids gives some people hope and a feeling of control over their lives and a glimpse into the unknown future. This is possibly the lighthouse that gives them the stability to head out into an otherwise chaotic world.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Nadia Cowperthwaite

Aussie mum living in the Outback with a passion to share stories.

I have degrees in journalism and media, an MBA, currently undertaking a research degree.

Facebook: @nadiacowper

Instagram: @nadiacowper

TikTok: @nadiacowper

Twitter: @nadiacowper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.