Journal logo

The Secrets To Finding The Job For Your Skills And Goals:

Living A Self-Sufficient Off-Grid Life

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like
Don't Put All Your Eggs In One Basket…You Have Plenty (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

Do you want to live a more meaningful and sustainable life? Do you want to achieve financial independence and have the freedom to travel and explore the world? Do you want to leave behind the stress and pollution of the city and live closer to nature?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, then you are in the right place. I'm going to share with you my personal story of how I found the right job for my skills and goals, and then, how I moved abroad and started living off-grid with solar power because it was my own vision, my own dream.

Finding the Right Job for Financial Independence

The first step to living a self-sufficient off-grid life is to find a job that pays well, matches your skills and interests, and offers you opportunities for growth and learning. This may sound like a challenge, but it's not impossible.

The key is to do some research and find out what jobs are in demand, what qualifications or credentials you need, and what benefits or perks they offer. You can also take some online courses or certifications to improve your skills and knowledge.

I have been working as an educational consultant, an international financial advisor, and an international school director for over 20+ years. These jobs have allowed me to use my skills and knowledge in education, finance, and leadership to help students, educators, investors, and schools around the world achieve their goals and improve their outcomes. They have also paid me well, provided me with travel opportunities and flexible hours, and enabled me to work on diverse and impactful projects. I also have a laptop, a handful of smartphones, a tablet, and a headset as my essential work tools.

To achieve financial independence, you need to have a clear goal of how much money you need to save and invest to cover your living expenses without relying on a job. You also need to have a budget and track your income and expenses regularly. You need to spend less than you earn, save as much as you can, and invest wisely.

I followed my own 30/10/60 rule of budgeting, which means that I allocated 30% of my income to my needs, 10% to my wants, and 60% to my savings and investments. I also used various apps and tools to automate my savings, track my spending, manage my investments, and monitor my net worth. I invested in low-cost index funds, dividend stocks, real estate investment trusts (REITs), peer-to-peer lending platforms, and a smidgeon of cryptocurrencies. I diversified my portfolio across different asset classes, geographies, industries, and currencies. It sounds complex and extremely time-consuming, but it really isn't and not too much time is involved in continually checking in on my investments to ensure the world hasn't imploded from within. I also have begun using alternative investment options which can be seen in other articles I have written. That being said, even at a relatively young age, I am also beginning to consolidate because I desire more simplicity.

After 20+ years of working hard, saving diligently, and investing smartly, I reached my financial independence goal of accruing a certain net worth that I desired. This means that I can live off the passive income generated by my investments without having to work for money ever again. I can also choose to work on projects that I enjoy or that make a positive difference in the world. Life is on my terms.

Moving Abroad and Living Off-Grid with Solar Power

The second step to living a self-sufficient off-grid life is to move abroad and find a place that suits your lifestyle preferences, climate needs, cost of living requirements, and visa options. You can also consider factors such as safety, health care quality, internet speed, culture diversity, language barrier, and social opportunities.

There are many countries that are ideal for living off-grid with solar power,

such as:

Cambodia

Costa Rica

Portugal

New Zealand

Thailand

Ecuador

Spain

Australia

Canada

The key is to do some research and find out what countries offer the best conditions for your off-grid living goals. You can also visit different places and experience them firsthand before making a final decision. I chose to move to Cambodia because it is one of the most eco-friendly and biodiverse countries in the world. It has a tropical climate with year-round sunshine, abundant rainfall, lush forests, stunning beaches, mountains, rivers, lakes, and wildlife. It also has a low cost of living, friendly people, rich culture, delicious cuisine, and easy visa options. I bought a piece of land in the Cambodian jungle, where I built a small cabin with local materials and installed solar panels on the roof. I also dug a well for water, planted a vegetable garden, and raised some chickens. I have everything I need for a comfortable, and self-reliant life. I use solar power to run my few appliances, charge my devices, and connect to the internet. I enjoy the peace and beauty of nature, and the satisfaction of living sustainably. I also travel and explore other countries whenever I want.

If you want to live a self-sufficient off-grid life, you can do it too. Start by finding the right job for you and build from there.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee or a hot, fresh pizza by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on various topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

pop culturehow tofeaturecareerbusinessadvice
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.