Journal logo

Something Perfect

Never Destroy Something To See How It Works

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
9
Image By Creator

Conversations And Things

I've been chatting with a close inspirational friend and the fact I always come away from our chats inspired to create is something I remarked on and have remarked on many times in the past.

At first, I wondered why, and how it worked but eventually, I decided to just accept it. and not question it.

This may sound a little like religious faith but it is not. I think I am agnostic, but if anyone gains inspiration and comfort from theological beliefs I am fine with that as long as those beliefs do not cause trouble. I have known many caring and wonderful people who have strong religious beliefs.

The story below is a story of how taking something apart can totally destroy something that was a great part of your life.

People often ask me about my favourite part of something and my usual answer is that I liked all of it.

The thing is when something works, it is usually best practice to let it go unless it breaks down. So we don't question how a TV works, we just switch it on and expect it to deliver moving pictures, which it always does until it stops working. When it no longer does its job then you can take it apart, or ask a professional to do it for you to find out why it no longer does what you need it to do.

But back to the point of this, when something works for you and is consistently beneficial, do not question it, just take what you can, while it gives you something beneficial.

I used to work for a Mobile Phone firm and one of my colleagues said we were on call 24/7, I said phones are now like utilities, if you got home and your water or electricity was off, you would call (assuming your phone was working) the relevant emergency number. These are things that we expect to always be there for us. That is slightly different from the faith I have in the ones that inspire me, but I suppose my faith is built on trust.

I trust my employer to pay me, I trust my water, gas and electricity to work, I have faith that these will happen because I know that mechanisms are in place to make them happen and they seldom fail.

It is the same with inspiration, it's not necessarily one thing, usually it is a combination. There is a spark usually from conversations, and then something else happens. A song, a walk, something that I see or hear, and then from that a story emerges.

Just Do It

Don't question the thing that inspires you, just take what it gives you and then go and create something. It might be music, a sculpture, a painting or, like this a piece of writing. As I am writing I am looking out at the summer fog and listening to "Voyage" by ABBA (which may be my favourite album of theirs now), so I have been inspired to write this article which is effectively about being inspired and then taking that inspiration to create something, and I have just created this.

On Vocal we now have forty-four communities to write in and at this moment in time about half a dozen Challenges to be inspired by. I feel that I am going to be here for quite a long time despite some serious misgivings that I am having, but I always look for the positives in the paths that I take fired by my inspiration, and I do have some goals that I have set myself, and I know with the support and encouragement that I receive that I will reach them, surpass them and set myself new ones.

As usual, this article has veered all over the place, but I am so lucky and happy to have my inspiration and I will never question that, but just take the benefits that it gives me.

humanityworkflowhow toadvice
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    This advice does work, I find. I've written a bit artistically and a lot academically and I find that they are -for the reason you point out- drastically different sorts of writing. Academics are structured, planned, and rigidly stylized in a manner that makes your argument the most comprehensive and communicative it can be. Art is wholly imaginative, and over-thinking your inspirations can have dire consequences. But even still, one thing I've learned the hard way in academia is that if you shoot down your ideas before you've had a chance to research and consider them, you end up with nothing either way. Inspiration, whether artistic or scientific, can be finicky like that it seems lol

  • I am something similar but in a different way. When something good happens, I tend to not question it but just be grateful. When something bad happens, I question it so that I would be able to fix it or I can be more prepared for similar stuff in the future. I hope what I said makes sense, lol!

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    I like this drabble Mike. I am the same with Vocal, it's a mixed bag but it appears to be growing in the right direction recently. Thank you for your inspiring words. I think the concept works both ways as a writer. We concern ourselves with the inner workings of a piece, rather than the overall picture - which is what the reader absorbs. Anyway, I found this very inspiring so thanks Mike! :D

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Good article. Inspiration can come from anywhere, you're right. Remember, I wrote a poem about a kettle. And, we don't question the things we expect to work, we just trust that they do...until they don't. Also, the pic reminded me about the ship in a bottle my grandfather had when I was a child and now I'm wondering what happened to it? Hmmm 🤔

  • Veer away, Mike. Go wherever the inspiration, breath, breeze, spirit carry you.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    That’s a fact of life. We are surrounded by inspiration everyday . 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.