Journal logo

Just Ridiculous

Something Happened Yesterday

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
16
Image By Author

Introduction

Yesterday something happened which hopefully and probably will never happen again.

So What Happened, Mike?

I do have issues about being overwhelmed by many things, crowds, work, and more. The short form Vocal Challenges cause a lot of sharing and posts and my Vocal notifications sometimes get clogged up with these. I have recently unsubscribed from two people because my Vocal notifications were just single creators batch posting stories. I have been advised to cut my subscriptions, but I like having a lot of subscriptions and dipping into my subscription feed when I choose, and I can see it either by creator or by the story in a far more useful way than the Vocal notifications.

So yesterday I became one of these sorts of spammers.

I created and published seven Vocal stories, some of them in short format and one combining two short format Vocal challenges. In my defense I didn't batch them and share them all at once, they were written and posted every couple of hours, but people may have seen me as flooding the Facebook Vocal Groups with my creations.

I don't post my stories in every group and wherever I can I post on threads rather than make solo posts.

In Great Incantations, I only share Challenge entries. I do have this internal pressure to stick to the rules while also trying to work outside the box. There were five Vocal Challenge entries from me yesterday so Great Incations got that many posts from me.

I tend to share my poems with poetry groups and prose/journal entries with groups such as the Vocal Social Society.

The thing is yesterday, for some reason (well I know the reason) I was inspired to write some stories, including two challenges that I did not think I would be able to do, but I did, one being influenced by my friend the writer Paul Campbell.

Seven Vocal stories is the most that I have posted in one day since I started publishing on Vocal and it did take a lot of effort on my part. It was also driven by my irrational dislike of the number thirteen, and my post numbers were in the thirteen hundreds, but last night I posted number fourteen hundred, so that was a milestone for me.

All the stories have had good responses (for me) and yesterday I had more than a hundred reads on Vocal which sort of shocked me. These aren't the only ones getting reads, and I still don't know if my Seven Days In blog is affecting my Vocal reads because that is still polling three thousand visits a day, mostly from Apple devices in Singapore.

Seven Days In Numbers

As you may have guessed, because I am writing this, I am still inspired, but today may be a little less frantic than yesterday was.

I am going to listen to music, work, go out for a walk, and enjoy myself as much as I can.

I do have plans for a new poetry anthology based on this sequence that I started, but I need to write at least fifty poems before I can publish. I have already written ten poems in this genre so maybe in a month or two there will be another anthology.

So My Apologies

If I flooded your feed with my stories yesterday. I think I will be quieter this week for various reasons but no doubt will be creating more stories and poetry and pieces like this.

As I type this, the weather outside is beautiful and is calling me to take a walk outside. Just had a call from the hospital and the last scan was completely clear so, for me, life is good.

workflowpop culturelisthow tofeatureadvice
16

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    Glad to hear you health is on the up. As far as posting too much, meh, people will read it or not. I cherry pick because I only have a small amount of time to catch up. Everybody's journey is different

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Also HUGE congratulations to getting out of the 13's so quickly!!! That's a testament in itself! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻❤️

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    No need to apologize!! It's inspiring to see another writer's flow of inspiration! Your apology is very considerate, but don't worry twice about it! ❤️ Personally, I love to see it. ☺️

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    So glad your scan was clear!! ❤️ don’t worry about posting too much, people can read what they want and however much they have time for :)

  • Enjoy that beautiful weather & good news, Mike. Personally, I have to admit to liking the number 13, especially when it falls on a Friday. I'm also a big fan of 666 & 616 (I know, odd for a pastor, both of them variant readings of the number of antichrist in Revelation), as it gives me that kind of "Twilight Zone" rush wondering what's coming next.

  • Misty Rae11 months ago

    You have nothing to apologize for. When inspiration hits, it hits.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Compared to the spammers who publish 15, 20, or even 50 stories a day, you don't post that much. Don't worry about it.

  • Super cool that you were able to publish so much in one day. I think the only way I would be able to accomplish such a feat is by finally moving more of my content from my other writing platform. Even then it would take me a while since I would update the content before publishing on Vocal. It was neat seeing your incorporation of stats.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I just saw someone post over fifty publications in one day...they are a legit account so they must've pulled from somewhere else, maybe medium. When you feel inspired, post them! It's your work :) Don't feel bad about that. And so glad it's a nice day there and your scan was good!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    My timeline NEVER EVER feels flooded. It's fun to enjoy new creations. Happy 2 hear that you're in the clear! Have a fantastic Tuesday!

  • So glad your scan was all good. I'm so happy you're gonna publish an anthology for your plagiaristic series because I love them so much! I feel they're very creative and it takes a lot of effort to string words together to make them make sense. Also, you don't have to worry about flooding my notifications. And I'm so sorry you had to unsubscribe from two people

  • Great Article and when inspiration bangs you should share it ❤️‍🔥📝😊❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.