Journal logo

Screw Vocal Etiquette

a homage

By Jazzy Published 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2023
56
Screw Vocal Etiquette
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

I recently read a top vocal story by an author I love. This author puts work that tops itself every time and has at least two top stories a month; I love her voice and her writing. However, I have some thoughts on one of her articles, and that's how you know it's excellent writing; it inspired me to write something myself. So if she happens to read this, I want her to know that I admire her almost religiously.

As for Vocal etiquette, screw Vocal etiquette. I have loved being on Vocal, or at least I loved Vocal the second time. I was on Vocal a couple of years ago and put out ten pages of writing and expected people to fawn at my feet. I was distraught not to receive more reads and likes. Therefore, I quit. Then not to mention, I was a nurse during covid, so I didn't give my writing much more thought. This brings me to now; I have been engaging and writing daily. I have found that on Vocal, you get what you put in. I even joined the Vocal Discord, which was a learning curve. (I accidentally nominated myself for the top story because I didn't read the rules, luckily, someone kindly pointed it out, and I was able to rectify that situation quickly.)

From what I can tell, most people pay to be on Vocal+, for that extra money per read, for the other perks. I paid to be on Vocal+ to keep myself accountable to me. I needed to buy into the community to make sure I engaged more. This brings me to something hard to do, comment. I read quite a few of the stories and articles on the latest stories page, and sometimes, I have difficulty thinking of a good comment, or sometimes I worry that the comment I want to leave would be too "simple." Leaving a comment is an effort to let the person know, "Hey, I read this, and I liked it."

I get thrilled with that pop-up that says you have a comment. Even the comments that tell me, "I liked this; please check out my story." Why do I like these self-serving comments? Because I love a person who is happy to show me their work. Yes, it's a bit transactional, but we can only pretend that some relationships aren't transactional. This exchange is more like school kids showing their parents their artwork, "Hey, look what I made, I am proud of it, and I want to share it with someone." Would I leave a comment like that? Probably not. I am not that bold, though I wish I were.

How amazing is it that we get to be a part of a community that can all be proud of the things we create, and we are excited to show each other those things we create? I read something written by a dude in Glasglow the other day. I was amazed by the power of the internet and how wonderful it is to connect to people. We are all here connecting across the world.

So please, comment, and be excited to show me what you created. If all you want to comment is, "I read this, and I liked it," I would be more than happy to receive that comment. If you read my work and don't like it, I would like to hear it. I love a good shit post; they say you haven't made it until you have haters. I don't know who said it, but someone sure did.

I have been the type of person who wrote and thought that every thought I had was pure gold. I have been humbled and realized we are all just screaming into a void, trying to be heard. I hear you, I see you. Keep writing, or don't. Live life intentionally, on your terms. And for crying out loud, screw Vocal etiquette.

humorsatireadvice
56

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (41)

Sign in to comment
  • Dailyn Townes9 months ago

    As someone who has always played behind the scenes, I love this! I joined Vocal hoping to find a community of like-minded people, but then I realized there was a whole system to this thing. Unfortunately, I haven't found that yet, but this article gave me perspective on being creative regardless, and people will eventually flock to you. Thank you so much, Jazzy!

  • I like to be positive though if I see a particularly bad one I tend to say nothing and just move one. Some good points here though

  • Me on the the nursing background, the vocal experience and my present day revival. I wrote so many article that I put so much heart into, for literally no one to read! I grew disheartened, on some level decided I just wasn’t as good as I thought I was and quit. Yesterday I dared to read some of my first posts and I was actually in shock at how good they are. (I say this with one in particular in mind titled “3 Golden rules of eating”. I could feel my own heart that I poured into it way back when and just how profoundly important the information given is. So now I’m creating again. And somehow trusting that they will eventually find people that want them 😇 I have no idea why I’m saying all this either. Stop me 😅 I think I just felt a strong affinity to you through your writing and poetry that I have just began to read. As I said in my last comment … I’m a fan ✨❤️

  • Raghavendra S Rao9 months ago

    Thanks for sharing. It as good to know that you are back to writing articles here. I am newbie on this site. Getting my feet wet.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Jazzy, I loved this! I also agree, the best authors/ writers give you real food for thought and inspire you to write sometime yourself! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and story with us, I found it relatable and interesting! I love reading people’s stories and them explain their way of thinking, it gives me food for thought during character creation! I appreciate your views on what I call “link bombing” or the “hey I liked your work: here’s a link”. I personally don’t like it but I can appreciate your view on it and it opened my mind to the idea of self promotion. 🤔 which is essentially what they are doing. Overall this was a great article by you and I appreciate you sharing your thoughts!

  • James Crawford9 months ago

    I’m in a similar boat, always coming and going to and from Vocal. Perhaps, giving challenges another shot and hoping that more writer-friendly features (like, writing stories) will come to the mobile app will keep me here longer this time. Here’s to hoping 🤞

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    It is ok to mention who inspired you. Many of us have written like pieces over the months and years. Many of us have rants and raves, not all make it into TS. Kudos.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Very nice! I enjoyed hearing your insights!

  • Fred Looney10 months ago

    Just let me say that I LOVE your irreverent posting! I am a "Kicked out" member for now so don't read mine till I find enough change under the sofa cushions to get back in! :)

  • Oh also Congratulations on your Top Story🎉💖✨😁

  • Great Article and Thank you for sharing your Talents with the community ❤️😉📝❗

  • Hope Martin10 months ago

    Is it bad that I’m still not sure what vocal etiquette is? 😬

  • Martin Ahrens10 months ago

    I needed this, thank you!

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    Great article. I agree with Donna, that it is the insincere AI or plagiarism accounts that piss me off, not the regular writers showing you their stuff. I don’t get swept up in these controversies. For me it’s a case of live and let live. You don’t have to respond if a comment rubbed you the wrong way for whatever reason. If it’s truly offensive, the author can just report it. Simple. The politics of this are weird to me.

  • Test10 months ago

    Well that’s honest. When you wrote of expecting people to fawn at your feet. Your whole piece really. Congratulations on being awarded top story. Soliciting a read has only happened a few times to me. One or two were just outright links and the other was a man asking if I’d mind taking a look at his writing as he was knew to this. I didn’t mind that and was happy to read a bit of his work. The parameters of social media aren’t always easy. For some. Maybe those people won’t make it too far. It’s an integral part of the play. Commenting is writing practice. I suppose any form of writing is/can be. I think it comes down to intent. Capability. Mindset. I don’t always know what to say when someone comments on something I wrote. I appreciate it and it obviously feels good. I try to convey that appreciation. When I say ‘thank you, sincerely,’ I mean thank you. Sincerely. Conversely I don’t always know what to say when commenting on another’s writing. Truthfully I don’t always love what I read but am happy it’s been written. I’m sure others feel the same of my writing. Doesn’t really matter. I’m affected by the amount of likes/reads/comments, no comments. Social media’s a mother like that. Ultimately, it’s another’s taste, level of skill. Sometimes we’re not up to snuff. Sometimes it’s a boring read. And sometimes people just don't like ya. Etiquette has its place. It can also be a great destroyer. Thought provoking piece and thank you for sharing this.

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    This is great stuff. I have never thought about those annoying "now read mine" comments in that way. I appreciate the new perspective. Congratulations on TS, well deserved. 👍💙☺️

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    This resonates with me. My favorite part is, "we are all just screaming into a void, trying to be heard. I hear you, I see you." Thank you. 👏

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story. Great read! My thoughts are: yes share your true opinion, yes, always comment where you can, and no don't drop your own work. I think the comments on a story should be about that story and that writer. As you say, comments mean a lot; receiving them feels like getting a gift. Dropping a link, 9 times out of 10, steals the generosity/sincerity from that comment and/or its significance. Although i appreciate your point that we should be proud of our creations, it is important to me that this is not done in a parasitic way. I say, if you want to harvest reads go to a social media chat room where you can forge a conversational symbiosis ✌️❤

  • worldoftechy.com 10 months ago

    If you want to buy anything online, please expand our website, you will be , which online store is the best. https://worldoftechy.com

  • Jordan Sky Daniels10 months ago

    I've recently come back to after year's away. Welcome back. Yeah I read this and liked it.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I enjoyed your story. So glad you decided to come back. The more the merrier. Congrats on your top story!

  • Jenifer Nim10 months ago

    This was a great story. You seem like a lovely person! In the past few weeks I've received my first ever comments, and it really does feel great! So I realised how important they are, and I'm trying to do the same back here and there. I'm also a bit shy about talking to strangers though (even online), so it's something I'm having to work on :)

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Comment spammers do not get the same grace from me, as I do think that good writer’s etiquette demands some cordial interaction first, if only to prove that they read your work and are reaching out for some reciprocity. But I like to think that writers acknowledge what it takes to create original work, and will reciprocate naturally, as opposed to feeling the need to ask for a read. I certainly am uncomfortable referencing my work to others; it feels like it’s in bad taste. I do think there’s a struggle for the right dynamic on Vocal between reader and creator; if we’re mostly creators here, we kind of need to gear shift into reader/consumer mode, which is hard when your main focus is in getting reads. And do readers advertise their own work? No. They’re there to talk about what they read. And that’s how I like to think that Vocal mirrors the basic etiquette between writer and reader. For the most part, it works just like that, and it feels so great to see a community build around each other’s work. And I love seeing the notifications of comments being posted too; even if it’s a spam-poster, because at least it means my story is getting some attention, haha. I really enjoyed this piece, and am so glad you got a Top Story! Thank you for writing this; I think we all needed to chat about it. Lol! 😊🎊😁

  • LB10 months ago

    I love how different this is t the rest of the top stories I see most of the time. I absolutely agree that the relationships we build on here as a community are transactional - we are all trying to appeal to as many readers as possible and actually this is how the world works on a greater scale. That being said, I have some articles you may be interested in reading - one of my top stories 'Conversations With Luna' was published before commenting was implemented so if anyone wants to go plug their profiles and give it a comment please feel more than welcome <3 <3 <3 Congrats on your top story darling, you smashed it!

  • Chelas Montanye10 months ago

    Thank you for this article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.