Journal logo

Revising my Book Series... AGIAN

I think this will be the final revision...I hope LOL

By Kimmiekins4Published 6 months ago 3 min read
Revising my Book Series... AGIAN
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

"Start writing, no matter what. The water doesn't start flowing until the faucet is turned on."

If you've been following me on here for awhile, you might now that I started posting about a book I began writing called "Ghost of You." I started writing it in 2021, but have been feeling for well over a decade at least to write a book. At the time I began writing the story based off of two of my past love stories. I was combining them into one character, and story. I didn't really have any other direction for the story than that.

Even when I first began writing the story it never felt quite right as in the characters and direction of the story. I knew I wanted to write a story based on parts of my love life, but I was conflicted, and began pulling from what I felt at the time to be my greatest love stories.

I am by no means the most talented writer out there, no professional training, no degree. But I am going to try anyways and I think that counts for something :) Anyways after I met someone in 2022 I became inspired to write a series rather than just one novel. At that time it was going to be a series about how all my past loves had led me to him. We ended up not working out and for awhile now I have been trying to figure out in what direction I wanted to take the story.

Today I was sitting here and randomly became inspired to change the order the books are. Instead of starting from when I was younger I want to start with meeting him. How meeting him and then events of our time together leads me back to my my high school sweetheart. Someone that always held such a special place in my heart, but a relationship buried so deep I hadn't even thought to add it to my story. But because of my ex, and life events, it all fell into place.

While this story will be based off true events, there will defiantly be a lot that is fictional. The ending most defiantly! But this is the first time in a long that I have had the inspiration to write, and I feel like it will be such a healing journey for me. It will allow me to look at the details of my life, realize what I shouldn't have allowed, but also look at what I should have. To look at two teenage kids (me and my high school sweetheart) and realize they were in a very similar situation. That the two of us, even as young as we were, we were broken and hurt by life.

As I sit here and reflect on writing the story including this part of my life, it really allowed me to see how thankful I was that things ended up the way they did. He showed me that if someone really wants to change their life regardless of circumstance they will. Something my most recent ex wasn't willing to do for himself or me. I think that is another big reason that I have felt so inspired by my high school sweetheart because he despite all odds came out on the other side.

I am excited to see where I take this story, and while I am sure there will be more revisions on chapters and things like that I really hope this is my last major revision on the story itself. Instead of the first book being called "Ghost of You" I am going to title it "Save Me." Because sometimes that's what some people come in your life to do, save you from yourself.

Vocalquotesheroes and villainsfeaturecareerbook reviewadvice

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kimmiekins4Written by Kimmiekins4

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.