Journal logo

On the Edge of a 1800s Hong Kong Graveyard

When you're out of options, feng shui.

By Scott ChristensonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2023
18

I look out the window of my apartment. It's a graveyard out there. Not good vibes, or favorable Feng shui, as they say here. The tombstones line up in rows beneath my bedroom window. I check to make sure my bed isn’t facing the same direction. The atmosphere grows heavy.

If you lived here, what would you do to lighten the mood? The cemetery is a pleasant enough green space during the day, one could choose to ignore it. But, there are literally decaying human bodies buried beneath the ground. What could be creepier than that? I can't get it out of my mind.

The day after moving in, I decide to confront my fears and have a walk within. Perhaps I'll give the departed an offering to placate these lost souls from the 1800s: a few oranges, a small bottle of vodka; those are common gifts for those in the after world here. Whatever it takes to keep them content and occupied. But, my good intentions are thwarted. When I reach the graveyard's entrance, the gate is locked.

I peer inside at the ancient tombstones. (Here are a few pictures from another one a few streets over. I do find it odd how men get broken down into categories down to and including 'drummers', while women and children are listed as a total at the bottom.)

Say My Name

This new, slightly haunted, apartment wasn’t my first choice. I viewed a dozen others before choosing it. The others were tiny. Or tiny and weird. One had a jet black floor and nightclub lighting. This apartment at least was reasonably spacious and normal, at least on the inside.

Chinese balance a lack of organized religion with a strong belief in superstition. Wind and rain are both considered “dangerous”. Hong Kongers scurry for cover when there are a few drops of rain, whilst British residents walk through torrential downpours without an umbrella. Being American, I’d place myself in the middle of these two extreme examples of bravery versus the natural elements, and then take a step toward using very large umbrellas or staying indoors until things calm down.

Feng Shui can be loosely translated as the balance of the energy of your environment. Balance the light and dark, the wet and dry, busyness with calmness. Even when Feng shui itself is not strictly believed in, it's a weather vane for local superstition. And it all points toward the bad fortune of living next to a graveyard.

Most cemeteries are hidden away on distant coastlines. During the Qingming Festival, Hong Kongers take long bus rides to visit their ancestors graves in remote parts of the territory. But the early British colonial authorities had to do things differently, and put theirs in my backyard.

Feng shui instructs that if you face a negative energy source in your home, you must counteract it.

I keep my eyes open. At Ikea, I see a pile of shark plush toys. Perfect.

PETA's Nightmare

A shark comes home with me. I place it on the windowsill to ward the bad spirits away. But shark plushies don’t talk much. Ghosts still haunt the quiet stillness of the apartment.

And it is quiet. Having lived with two teenage daughters until a divorce a few years ago, I’m used to a constant chatter of new ideas and opinions.

In the quiet, I grow restless. I venture out to the local supermarket every night. My cupboards fill with canned goods. I turn on the TV and the computer. When I turn them off again, the quiet stillness presses in. I go to the bedroom and peer out the window. The cemetery sits there, pressing out with its dark energy.

The Vigilant Shark

I can’t blame Ikea. They were not advertising this as one of their use cases for plushie toys.

My mind returns to the principles of Feng shui and the balance of metal, earth, fire, water, and wood elements. With excessive stillness, activity is needed. This means adding the element of fire. I read the list of fire elements: candles, lights, electronic equipment, painting the walls red. (is this similar to painting the town red?)

I spend the next few days pondering it all. Living alone and having no proclivity for manual labor, the dust bunnies on the floor grow. They soon combine forces and become small moveable dust carpets. Another problem I need to tackle soon when I'm not working or writing.

The next week, I find what I'm looking for.

An electronic device that is willing to work the graveyard shift, combat the dust bunnies, and bring a buzz of activity into the haunted bedroom.

It comes precharged, I push a button, it beeps and whirs and begins to explore. The Xiaomi M2 soon draws a map of my apartment and presents a proposal. Every day, on a schedule, it will thunder into the cemetery facing bedroom, vacuum every nook and cranny, all while making a load of racket. If I push a button on the app, he will even do this again at nighttime, just in case.

References:

A simple guide to using Feng shui to enhance apartment interiors:

https://www.hgtv.com/design/decorating/design-101/the-elements-of-feng-shui

satiretravelhistory
18

About the Creator

Scott Christenson

Born and raised in Milwaukee WI, living in Hong Kong. Hoping to share some of my experiences w short story & non-fiction writing. Have a few shortlisted on Reedsy:

https://blog.reedsy.com/creative-writing-prompts/author/scott-christenson/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Lynn Jordan6 months ago

    I know I'm late to the party, but congrats on Top Story! Your descriptions of the tombstones reminded me of something that has my mind percolating, and there will be a story from that. So thank you!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Living next to this graveyard would be cool, sad and scary at the same time!

  • JBaz8 months ago

    You have a very crisp style to your writing. I love this topic and the way it made you feel, some may like living next to a cemetery,but you expressed a view that I felt was honest. Congratulations

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Come on, I stayed with my sister in Upstate NY for a couple of months and the lovely cemetery next to it was great. I love ghosts, so there is that. I would go running over there and then sit on the benches and read. Or just walk around reading the inscriptions. Those ghosts had marble houses that cost more than a 1 bedroom apartment. Just embrace the ghosts and let them visit.

  • Andrzej Zieliński9 months ago

    Great piece

  • Anna Rose9 months ago

    This is a really helpful post. Thank you very much for sharing it for me and everyone to know. Play game https://wafflewordle.io online.

  • Catherine Dorian9 months ago

    Not surprised this is top story. Clear and polished, with an eye for the particular. The closing scene of you vacuuming captures your particular way of treating loneliness. Beautiful.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • great job

  • Seenan9 months ago

    Hi, you have a very good narrative!

  • Spencer Hawken9 months ago

    I have a pair of Eufy floor vacuums, one comes on downstairs every dayn at 6am, the other upstairs… when I remember, I forget the last time I physically vacuumed carpet other than the stairs. I’m sure the shark will do a grand job of warning off those spirits though 😎

  • iqra mazhar9 months ago

    its fun need. i, glad you decided to write it down!

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    This was an entertaining read! Why didn't you consider buying an octopus instead of the shark? I think they are considered to be more intelligent, also more human-friendly I would say. Have my own picture of the ikea plushie beasts. Never dared to buy one tho. I bet robot vacuums collect not only dust, but also data about our geolocation, when we go to bed and wake up, what's on our groceries list and stuff like that😂

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I'm glad you decided to write it down! It's a fun read!

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    The vigilant shark photo made my afternoon. This is a very good piece!

  • A little odd moving-in adventure I've had lately that doesn't fit into anything, but I felt like writing down.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.