Journal logo

Observations On The Vocal "Short And Sweet" Challenge And Other Short Form Challenges

Short Words Does Not Mean A Short Story

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
17
A Nightcafe Creation By The Author

Introduction

The latest Vocal Challenge implies that it is a short-form challenge and while it can be, it does not have to be. You can read about it here.

The music obviously had to be the excellent "Short And Sweet" from David Gilmour's debut album.

So My Thoughts On The "Short And Sweet" Vocal Challenge

A few people have remarked that there is going to be a tsunami of entries for this, probably spurred on by the "Short" word in the title of it. People may see that as they can submit a haiku or senryū and of course they can, there is nothing wrong with that at all.

The Prompt For" Short And Sweet" is

Write a love poem using only words with four letters or less.

Now that doesn't say to write a short poem, it says to use short words.

I was tempted to submit this:

I

Love

You

I desisted, but no doubt someone else will and get a Top Story for it. My first entry and maybe that will be it (but you know how easily I give into temptation) is 150 words.

The thing is you can write an epic using words of four letters or less. I don't know if that has been done but I may give that a try.

I have my inspiration and the means to do it, and I am also tempted to do a visual take on this as well. So much for me desisting from more entries but I know that people will be submitting lots to this, maybe the fact that it is meant to be a love poem may put some people off.

The thing is there are many forms of love, apart from another person or partner, it could be a pet, a place, an event or a hobby, anything that lifts your spirits and puts a smile on your face. I am lucky enough to have that.

This is an excellent challenge because it does force you to do something that seems simple but actually requires a lot of thought and hard work (unless you do a three-line poem like the example I included), then add that it must be a love poem and it becomes even harder, and that is the real point of the challenge.

A single word longer than five letters will disqualify the poem, but luckily Vocal Quick Edit allows us to correct errors. So far I have seen "Frost" and "First" used in entries, and the longer your entry the more likely you are to include a spurious word.

I do hope we do not see an avalanche of short poems but there is no minimum length for poetry now and some people will see that as an excuse to flood the challenge, and Vocal will see it as creating engagement which is the point of these challenges. A lot of Vocal members only enter challenges so it does bring them into play as well.

Conclusion

I see all Vocal Challenges as prompts to write, and for that I am thankful. I am lucky enough to find other subjects to fire my creations and the challenges were the reason I joined Vocal, believing that I had a chance of winning, though I know that is unlikely to happen being one of eight hundred thousand who make up the Vocal member base.

I know how good my work is but I am also realistic, but I have never paid more as a Vocal+ member than I receive in read payments, bonuses and tips apart from my first few months before I discovered the Facebook Vocal Groups so I cannot complain at all.

I hope this has made sense to you.

Thank you for reading

workflowproduct reviewhow toadvice
17

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel M.J10 months ago

    I also had the idea to write "I love you" as my entry 😂 As crazy as it sounds, realising those three words could technically be a whole 'love poem' made me realise how beautiful it really is to say it

  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    I did a long one with lots of short words. I only hope that it will be considered sweet. But, you know, I might just write a short one too!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I always enjoy reading your thoughts, and usually agree with them. This is no exception. Yes, I did do a vulgar poem, as JS predicted. But, I’m also taking my time, working on some very special and meaningful (to me) poems for this challenge. I’m having more fun with it than I thought I would. I like how much the rules make me have to choose my words carefully, working my mind to its fullest potential.

  • Good thoughts, Mike. Thanks for sharing them.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Well, isn't it the point of contests? You want to get as many entries as possible. This challenge is excellent and very challenging at the same time. Which is a great thing. I still see the mention of the 100-word minimum if I try to submit a poem that has fewer words. When did the limit disappear? And short poems can pack a punch if they are well written. But as you said, not everyone cares about that.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Good article. I never saw it as a short poem contest. However, a lot can be said in a few words, depending on the world. As for flooding the contest, I saw people do that with the Art challenge and was wasn't a short entry challenge. I guess it depends on what people get their inspiration from.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    😂 I was amused by what you considered submitting. BTW, your observations about the criteria were spot on.

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Excellent Observations. Im going to call a friend who is a retired sailor. He’s a master of four letter words. I imagine someone will present a vulgar take before it’s all said and done. Thank you for your help Mike! 🥰

  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    I entered twice, I suspect one will be disqualified cause it might be seen as cheating because I cut off extra letters so holiday is just holi. I should have also checked if the title needs to be just four letters as well.

  • Lol, I was the one who said there's gonna be a tsunami. That was because I misunderstood the challenge. They wanted words of four letters or less. I thought they wanted four words or less. So it would be so easy to come up with a four-word poem and hence my comment about the tsunami 😅

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Yes this made sense to me . I hope my poem is short and sweet 😘 I love you, to dear friend 🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.