Journal logo

Ideas Are Like Clouds

Some Thoughts On My Creative Processes

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
10
Image by Mike Singleton from Pixabay

Introduction

I was replying to a comment by J. R. Lowe on my latest Top Story (which you can read at the end of this article) and the title of this came to mind.

Ideas Like Clouds?

On my walks, I take a lot of photographs, mainly of cats, but also of landscapes and clouds. Any shots of thy sky have to be immediate or they are gone, often in a few seconds. Too many times I have lost a potentially amazing shot because I took too long to get my camera or phone out and take the required shot.

The main photograph on this piece was taken as I walked outside my door a few years back. Luckily I was quick to get the shot, as a few minutes later it was gone. I think it was lenticular in nature.

Lenticular clouds may form when wind runs perpendicular to a mountain or mountain chain. It could be a hill or even a tall building, too.

This was one that I caught but it is the same with sunrises and sunsets. You have to be fast to capture the event.

I view ideas in the same way, so I always make sure I have something with me to capture the essence of the idea, because I know in the past that I thought I could pick it up later, but then my mind is distracted by a phone call or a news item, or like this morning a know on the door from Jehovah's Witnesses who asked me what I thought of the Bible and took it on the chin when I said it was a great work of fiction.

We talked awhile about a few moral scenarios and it was a pleasant and interesting five minutes but they knew I was not an ideal customer for them.

I once wrote a song called "Jehovah's Witnesses" but never recorded it, and I can still remember the words after forty years, so maybe there will be a YouTube version to come.

Luckily I wasn't working on anything, but that would have probably destroyed any ideas that I was considering working on. It may be just me and my ridiculous short-term memory, but I know that others have the same issues.

Because ideas have no physical form we always need to capture them in different ways. Usually, a few words in Google Docs on my phone is enough for me, but a notepad and pen are also good ways to capture ideas, especially if you want to draw a picture.

Every artist works with nothing but their imagination. Painters have brushes, Musicians have instruments, and Writers have pens, I know this is high level, but before the tool can be used the artist needs the idea and inspiration to begin their creation. That idea must be captured and nurtured and channelled into becoming a work of art, but if it is not captured it will disappear into the ether like a cloud.

I find it ironic that the only safe place for a password is in your head, but your head is not a safe place to store ideas because something with always come and take its place.

Always have something on hand to capture your ideas, they are not something that you want to lose, because they make you what you are.

Conclusion

I hope I have managed to give you one or two ideas on capturing ideas to create stories or other forms of art. If you want to hear a few more of my ideas here is me talking about my creative methods.

workflowsocial mediahumanityhow toartadvice
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    I'll have random ideas occur to me at the most inconvient times, like when I'm at work and can't stop what I'm doing to grab a pen and paper. Out side of that, I always have my phone or paper with me to jot down lines or ideas. A really helpful article Mike :)

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    I usually get ideas when I'm laying in bed, so I have to hope they stay in my head because I'm not getting up. Good article.

  • The scraps of paper I have collected all over the place, some of which I can't even remember what they were about....

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Love Joni. One of my favs of her’s is something to do with Carousels.. I need to take more photos again..I’m stopped this for some reason, it I’d really like to again. Also - Please place your song on YouTube. 😃

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    Interesting! Loved the video!

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    😆 I love the 'great work of fiction' comment! I always tell them I'm Anglican and quite firm in my faith, thank you. It usually puts them off :)

  • Truth ❤️Great Ideas, Mike, Always Good Insights 💯😊❗

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    Not everyone needs to be a fiction writer. I love your educational and informational pieces from which I always learn something useful for me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.