Journal logo

O.K. Johnson

Who Am I and Where I've Been

By O.K. JohnsonPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Being she's my favorite Disney Princess of all time, I have chosen her to represent me as a person. Princess Belle is everything I can only hope to be. She is imaginative and a dreamer. She was educated, intelligent, and a lover of books. She is so kind and patient. She's courageous; unafraid to speak her mind and do the things most people wouldn't dare to do. She's quite stubborn. She's compassionate and non-superficial. On top of it all, she is loyal and graceful.

I feel it's only right to give you folks an insight into who I am and where I come from at the beginning of my journey as a writer. Writing has always been a hobby, but writing is also a big part of who I am. It is the one thing that I can do where I can fully express myself. Let's begin with my dream...

Throughout my life, I haven't given myself many goals, because the ones I have thought about setting into stone were the ones I was most afraid of doing because of the disappointment it would bring. I worried too much and I got too pressured by the expectations that people had of me. I ended up not pushing myself to do anything more than "meets proficiency." Now, everything is different. I have this dream in mind, one I have kept in the back of my mind since I was a freshman in high school. Aside from being a writer and an artist, an ultimate dream of mine is to travel and help people in need.

What I have come up with to achieve this dream isn't quite one that my parents fully support. I planned to get my Bachelor's Degree in liberal arts and major in early childhood education then off to join the Peace Corps until it's time to settle in and start a family of my own. Sometimes it feels too difficult for me to achieve it, but I know if I want to be successful I shouldn't give up. As the months roll by since I began my journey it becomes more difficult and more discouraging to the point I may even want to give up on my plans entirely, but I am not ready to give up just yet. One thing that I wish is that acquiring the funds achieve my dream wasn't as difficult as well.

So far into my journey, it has been nothing but an uphill battle in a blizzard. A battle mostly fought within me. In this world, we are encouraged to work a job we love, but what they don't tell you is how difficult it will be finding a job that pays well and one we love. It's this very thing that encourages people who are unhappy at their current jobs to stay because they need to make a living; they need to survive. It is especially harder when you have to think about a little someone's needs before your own.

Right now my battle includes finding the right balance between going to work full-time and school full-time, as well as paying what is owed to my mother and "managing" my money better. In all honesty, I would manage my money better if I had any money left to manage after giving money to my mom. It frustrates me knowing that I may have to give school, but that is not what I want. It has taken me over two years to get myself back to school and its seemingly more difficult to stay in school. I am in great need of help and at this point, I don't know who to turn to. Now, enough with my sad uphill battle and excuses. I did not intend to have you pity me, it is not my purpose, so I'll move on from here.

Sometime after I turned 13 is when I started to develop a close relationship with writing. That was around the time my parents divorced and my dad left. I was daddy's little girl and I took it quite hard. It was never easy, especially when it came to talking to people about how I felt. Most times I kept it in and bottled it up or running away from my problems would be the more accurate description. I found it easier to write about how I felt and posting it anonymously online. I have always had wonderful responses, ones that only encouraged me to do more and gave me much needed advice.

There was something about a pen and paper that opened my heart completely. The words just flow from my chest and onto a page. I absolutely loved it. I wasn't restricted; I didn't need to pretend to be someone I am not or worry about who was on the other side. I could be myself and lay my heart out on a table without the fear that someone might mistreat me because of who I am and how I look. I could be confident and courageous in my own pieces of art because writing is another form of art. I don't mind the criticism, it's only there to make me better and stronger. So please don't hold back because I will not.

I will no longer let my fear of disappointment and failure dictate my success in my pursuit of a career. If all goes well I hope to complete my first book in the next five years.

What I Write...

I mostly write short story and poems, even confessionals about love, sex, life, my faith, and fan-fiction. I plan on expanding to other subjects in the future and other longer writing pieces, but for now, this is what I have to offer.

career
Like

About the Creator

O.K. Johnson

In a world where money is needed to survive to choose a profession where money isn't guaranteed is discouraging, but I cannot deny that writing is where my heart belongs. 21 and Made in Hawaii.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.