Journal logo

My First Broken Bone

My foot is broken.

By Rene PetersPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2
My First Broken Bone
Photo by Nino Liverani on Unsplash

Heads up, this is a venting piece. It is all being written on Monday, October 23rd but I want it to be easier to understand the timeline so I'm breaking it down by day.

The last few days have been... Yikes...

Friday: I had a seizure at work only 30 minutes into my shift. I was working and, next thing I knew, I was waking up on the ground with my boss standing near me, asking if I was okay. I cried because of having a massive headache and feeling embarrassed. Throughout the day, my foot started to bother me. It got worse trying to walk throughout the day. I went to my second job and there was a period of about 20 minutes, where I was sitting down and crying because even trying to limp hurt me.

My mom took me to urgent care after work. They did x-rays, of course. I was terrified that it would be positive but I had a gut feeling that it was more than just a sprain. Unfortunately, my gut was right. The urgent care doctor told me, after having x-rays done, that there is a small chunk of bone where a tendon should be. He gave me two options... A splint and crutches or continue using my ankle brace and still walking. As much as I hate using crutches, I went with that choice because it's better for my body to not bear weight yet. He said I have to use the splint and crutches until I see an orthopedic doctor and get cleared by them.

Saturday: I called both of my jobs in the morning to let them know about the urgent care visit. The people at the pharmacy (one job) were extremely helpful and caring. The assistant store manager gave me some next steps. I then asked to talk to the pharmacist since he kept me from hitting my head. I thanked him for doing so. He, of course, told me to take care of myself in the meantime.

My other job did not have any reaction even close to that. I told the manager, "I have a broken bone in my foot so I can't work for a little while." She asked when my shifts for the week were supposed to be, so I told her. She then asked for me to go in on Thursday and Saturday. I'm on crutches until I see the orthopedic doctor and am cleared to use, likely, a walking boot. Needless to say, I was livid at her stupidity.

Sunday: I was supposed to work 12 pm-4 pm but obviously was unable to. I ended up going to Tim Horton's with a friend that I met on Bumble BFF. We hung out there for about an hour and a half. It was a lot of fun, which I absolutely needed.

Monday: All of that brings up to today, where I would have rather worked for six hours like I was scheduled. I made several important calls. I canceled physical therapy for my back (supposed to be Thursday). I filed the incident report. That call was so stressful that I was dealing with bad brain fog. I also made the most important call that I could think of, the orthopedic doctor's office. The soonest they had was for Friday at 8:15 am. I was really hoping to get in sooner because I hate using crutches.

* * *

If you read this, thank you. I needed to get it off my chest. It has been a rough few days and I needed an outlet of some sort.

advicecareer
2

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Oh no. I hope you're feeling better now. Sending strength!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Do take care!!!!! Sending hugs and positive vibes!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    I'm so sorry, hon, I hope you heal fast and you have very little pain. Sending healing vibes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.