Journal logo

Job Searching

We lost a job (or will lose one) and went on the job hunt.

By Eileen DavisPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Job Searching
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

My Husband's Job Search

Last October, my husband's work blindsided him when he was suddenly let go from his job of 12 years. Many others lost jobs around the same time too. My husband and I both had such anxiety our stomachs churned and we couldn't handle eating anything. For the first time in our marriage, we had to remind ourselves to eat (we usually overeat). Now only I had a job to support us when my part-time job just covered our groceries.

Because his work atmosphere was becoming less friendly, my husband felt prompted to start job hunting six months before. We'd prayed and discussed what to do in the spring, so he'd put in a few applications and interviewed at two places. Nothing panned out, so he took a break. Honestly, he was depressed as management ignored him.

Once our sons' schools started, my husband renewed his efforts. After some disheartening interviews, he was ready to throw in the towel. That's when he lost his job.

However, we counted ourselves blessed because he had refreshed his resume and brushed up on interviewing already.

After two weeks of submitting dozens of resumes, multiple interviews, and several rejections, he had a choice between two jobs: a large company or a small company with no debt. We chose the company with no debt because it is largely recession-proof. After all, we'd already seen thousands of jobs cut at larger tech companies.

I thank God that we only went two weeks without our main income. And his previous job supplied three months of severance pay. So we had big plans to pay off debt and go to Disneyland for the first time with our children. Nothing would happen, right?

Wrong.

My Job Search

My husband asks me why am I looking for multiple jobs. To pay off debts, cover groceries, combat inflation, and have a little mad money. I feel extra pressure because my husband's severance pay went to fixing our flooded basement. Yes, that's what went wrong. Many Utah residents have had flooded houses too because of the record snow and rain.

In March, Alpine School District in Utah planned to close five elementary schools. After public comment, they chose to close two of the schools this year and study closures for the other three. I work at one of the schools now slated to close next school year, but my coworkers and I didn't know that until the April board meeting. We really struggled with uncertainty without many of our questions left unanswered.

In the six-week limbo when we thought the school would close in May, I reluctantly applied to other schools and local jobs. As an hourly employee, my job would end before Memorial Day. I heard nothing from the other schools, nor did I reach out. I didn't want to face the reality I'd be leaving. Sadly, several coworkers found jobs at other companies and schools.

I suppressed tears while we were all in limbo. Others cried. And we commiserated. The looming closure feels harder because it is a very positive work atmosphere. We build each other up, laugh, complain, and treat each other as equals. The principal and office staff set a relaxed and friendly tone. Having subbed at other schools, I experienced some negative atmospheres that sapped me even after one day. So I know I'm blessed with my current coworkers.

I applied for the other jobs with the mindset they'd replace my current job. But I plan to stay at my current job as long as I can. When interviews rolled around, I admitted I'd have to work around my TA job for another year. I believe that limited my chances at two jobs, but I was immediately hired for six hours a week at a daycare. Currently, it's been two weeks with only half of the hiring process done.

I just applied for a tutoring job, which shouldn't interfere with my other jobs. But if I don't, heaven must have a different plan for me. Maybe I should write more!

More Thoughts

Many people right now are struggling because of record inflation. We can have multiple jobs and still not cover all the expenses. I pray that our economy will improve because it is affecting so many other areas of our lives. Not having money to pay rent or buy enough groceries is a big deal. Some people can work and are still homeless. It's hard not to go into more debt, only compounding our financial stress.

On my soapbox now: remember to vote in your next local and national elections. What candidates will improve the economy? What candidates will lower our tax burden? Who will address homelessness without putting the country into more debt? Who has a record of improving the economy instead of ignoring reality? No one party has all the answers, so study it out in your mind and heart.

And good luck to you all in your own job searches!

If you enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing (it's free!), tipping, or pledging. It would be much appreciated. Still, I get money is tight right now.

You can find more of my content on Twitter, Facebook, Medium, and my personal blog.

economycareer
Like

About the Creator

Eileen Davis

Writer. Blogger. Poet. Avid reader. Boy mom. Have bipolar 2. Experience bisexual attraction. News Junkie. Love America. Love China. English language BA from BYU. Follow me on X, Facebook, Medium, or my blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.