Poets logo

My Grandpa's Pranks

You kept living despite your heart's condition

By Eileen DavisPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
My cousin drew this picture of my grandparents

Dear Grandpa,

The doctors say you have a short time to live.

Your relatives have you marked down as the next funeral to attend.

Your grandchildren have their eyes on what ancient artifact they want.

Though your grandson can’t decide between your wisdom teeth or gall bladder stones.

You make out your will with a couple of witnesses at your side.

You talk of death as the next step.

But you know deep down this is all a lie:

I can see it from your mischievous grin and the scoff in your eyes.

I once saw that look on a child superhero’s face in your photo album.

Now a more wrinkled face, that child still likes to play tricks and pull practical jokes.

You put us in suspense with your heart attacks and strokes,

But you keep hanging on by a thread.

You live in a feeble shell, but your mind is as quick as lightning.

I know a tree just like you; each year the old branches die,

But the hardy roots always shoot forth new life.

I know this is just another joke, so Grandpa, tell the truth:

You know you’ll never die. You’re immortal, always catching a second wind.

And I’ve decided I want to be just like you when I grow old: a kid again.

Love,

Leen

This was for my maternal grandfather before he died in 2003.

If you enjoyed this poem and want to be a kid again with me, consider subscribing, tipping, or pledging on my Vocal Page. Thanks! You can also find me on Twitter, Facebook, and my personal blog Musings of a Crazy Redhead.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Eileen Davis

Writer. Blogger. Poet. Avid reader. Boy mom. Have bipolar 2. Experience bisexual attraction. News Junkie. Love America. Love China. English language BA from BYU. Follow me on X, Facebook, Medium, or my blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.