Journal logo

I'm Leaving Vocal, But I'd Love to Stay in Touch

If Any of You are on Medium or Would Like To Be

By Jason ProvencioPublished about a year ago 5 min read
4
This is my publication and I'd welcome any and all writers with open arms. We can give you huge exposure.

My time has come to leave Vocal. It's been fun, but it's not worth the time and effort to stay. I've made over $1000 a month on Medium numerous months and you could too. I'd be happy to tell you how and help you join if you'd like to follow my link below for $5 a month.

I've written 650 blogs in the past 16 months. Most are hilarious and pretty inappropriate. Some are angry, vicious, and call out the hypocrisy in religion and politics. For $5 a month, you can read my twice-a-day blog which now has over 10,000 followers.

I'd love to see you there. The $5-a-month Medium membership also allows you access to my therapist Bride's mental health/psychology blogs and thousands of other talented writers. Join us here today!

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Ok, I guess this needs to be 650 words or more to post. So here's today's blog about writing, too. Enjoy! &:^)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It’s a wonderful point in anyone’s life when they truly are rooting for everyone’s success. I don’t know how long I’ve been here at this point, but I sure am enjoying it. I always want to see awesome things happening to good people.

I started thinking about this just minutes ago. Sadly, it was due to learning that a social media friend had passed away. I hate when that happens. At age 48, I’ve seen it far too many times over the past few years.

Suzanne was one of those social media friends you have that you never met, but always made you smile or laugh when she posted or interacted. She set the record that I believe still stands for the most comments back and forth with someone on one of my Facebook posts.

No shit, she and another friend kept commenting back and forth on one of my funny posts and they went over 450 comments on it. I remember trying to keep up and laughing about how much they were commenting on my post. I finally went to bed and woke up to over 450 comments.

That was quite a record to break since I used to post eight to ten times a day, every day. Other than the times I was banned temporarily from Facebook for calling out racists and bigots in an unkind way. What can I say, I’ve always had a problem with ignorant people.

Seeing that Suzanne passed from a short battle with cancer made me truly sad. I’ve known at least three women now that I can think of who passed from breast cancer in the time I’ve been on Facebook. A friend of my Bride’s from high school. A mother with two young daughters. And now Suzanne.

I’m so sad to have learned about this tonight. I didn’t even know she was sick. She was one of the many friends you have on social media and don’t actually know in real life. It still hurts though.

I’m at the age now where this kind of thing seems to happen more and more frequently. I used to wonder how elderly people dealt with seeing many of their family, friends, and acquaintances pass on as they got older. I’m starting to understand it more as it keeps happening.

I’m not going to lie. Death fucks with me. Any new and unusual minor aches and pains instantly make me wonder if I have some major health issue going on. Not to be a hypochondriac, but I’ve only had health insurance for a year or two of the past 25.

I realize that sounds ridiculous. But I’ve been self-employed since 2003. I had one physical and doctor’s visit about halfway through that time period. That turned out fine, so whatever. Insurance costs in the United States for the self-employed are FUCKED.

I take care of myself, mostly. My dental regimen is spot on. The last time I went to the dentist about 5 or 6 years ago was perfect. No cavities. It had been a long time since I’d last gone, but I take care of my shit.

I don’t eat very healthy. I love to cook and I’m Italian. I drink wine most nights. I don’t get to the gym nearly as often as I should, only about once or twice a week. So I have my concerns at age 48.

Learning about another social media friend’s death just floors me. It truly makes me appreciate how short and fragile life can be. I just started writing as a career 16 months ago. I was a 47-year-old rookie. I’ve done well in that time, but how long do I have left to do this?

That being said, I’m rooting for you all. When it comes to your Medium writing, I’m in your corner. I’m at the age where I’m not trying to be competitive with anyone else. I just want you all to be happy, healthy, and successful.

I have dreams and goals, even as I’m getting closer to 50. I want to see the hard work I’ve put into 2022 really pay off this year or by 2024. I have no reason to believe that with the success I’ve had in 16 months, that I can’t take it to a higher level before I reach age 50.

I ought to put more time and effort into my health. I need to hit the gym three or four times weekly. Perhaps ingest some fruit to go along with my sporadic intake of vegetables. I need to remember to take my vitamins.

I need to cheer you all on. I feel that I’ve been a good fella regarding sharing the things that have worked for me so far. I’ve posted a number of blogs that if followed, should bring you more success.

The Professor of Medium is holding daily writing classes now.

I need to be even more encouraging, supportive, and cheer for your successes. I want to be the guy that people remember as being a wonderful, caring, supportive human being. My Bride, kids, and friends would say this.

But I want others to be able to say this as well. I want my writing friends to say the same thing that my family will say one day when my number is up:

“My husband/dad/friend Jason was the greatest guy in the world.”

If that happens, I’ll consider this life a success. I love all of you who are amazing people. &:^)

workflowsatirepop cultureindustryhumorhumanityhow toeconomycareerbusinessadvice
4

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.