Journal logo

I'm Getting Close to My 1,000 Reads Mark

And here's how I feel about it.

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 27 days ago 3 min read
I'm Getting Close to My 1,000 Reads Mark
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

1,000 reads.

What does this even mean for me? For others?

It's quite the achievement for writers on Vocal, I feel.

At least writers like me who are quite invested in our little Vocal life.

And Vocal has become a significant part of my life.

I find myself reading through articles, commenting on good stories (poems mostly - I admit I'm biased - I only mostly read poetry!), and thinking of ideas to write on Vocal in my spare time.

Even now, while my mother in law sits across me, watching her favourite Indian serial, I'm looking at my Vocal stats (tell me, who doesn't?) and thinking wow - so close to 1,000 reads.

What does this mean for me?

It means I'm grateful.

Grateful that my random ramblings - or what people call poetry - gets read.

Grateful that people actually support me on this platform. Some more regularly than others.

Grateful for all the other achievements on Vocal. Yay to top story awards, bonuses, and well... reads!

*pauses to check how long I've been around here...

Joined in September 2022

That's almost a year and a half.

Since then, I've written over 70+ stories. I've gotten at least 300+ subscribers.

While all these numbers are GREAT. There's something more to Vocal website that keeps pulling me back.

It's the freedom to write whatever I want, I feel. I don't actually THINK about "oh, who's going to read this?" or "oh, who's going to like this kind of work?" and all those imposter syndrome things that happen when I write for clients or on other platforms. I just write.

Free. Easy.

My random ramblings sometimes are appreciated more than others. A nice bonus, top story - all act as icing to the cake.

But seeing familiar names comment, or people like and give insights to my stories just makes the heart flutter a little.

Sure, I don't write as much as I do on Vocal than I do on other platforms. Vocal is the "fun" that I have over the weekend when my husband is busy partying with his cousins. Vocal is the "calm" I have when I've had a long day but my short attention span doesn't quite allow me to focus on what's going on on the TV in the background (my mother in law just left the TV on to HBO and eww, did Harrison Ford just puke all the food that he chomped down? what movie is this?), so I randomly scroll through Vocal and click on poem titles that sound like fun to read.

Or write this article at this moment.

That's Vocal for me. How it's a part of my life right now. I talked about how this could change, but I'm liking how I feel right now.

What's that got to do with me hitting the 1,000 reads mark?

Nothing much.

But maybe just another vanity metrics that I appreciate. That make me feel appreciated, validated and grateful even more than I usually do. Another reason for me to keep coming back - knowing that something is working, versus coming back to something fun but also not "responsive". Because which writer wants to write for only fun - we do want / need some kind of validation, right?

Rightttt?

Haha.

So many emotions, really.

For those of you who have stuck around, subscribed, commented, and duh, read my stories and poems - thank you so much!

For those of you who have helped, pointed out support, made it fun, written amazing poems and stories for me to read - thank you even more!

Here's to another 1,000. IF possible.

Vocalhumanity

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Hannah Moorea day ago

    Congratulations! And you've just made me realise I've not seen my stats in a wee while...

  • Sid Aaron Hirji26 days ago

    Congratulations on nearly 1k. Vocal is a great way to express yourself and make money at same time

  • Of course it's possible! Congratulate on almost hitting 1000 reads and here's to more and more thousands! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊 Also, what serial was your mother in law watching? Hahahhahaha

  • Kageno Hoshino27 days ago

    Well best of luck

  • The Dani Writer27 days ago

    Okay. Milestone. That's TWICE you've made me smile today reading your work! I thoroughly enjoyed this piece and ain't it nice when people "get it." This IS our relaxation/party/feast/fun/spice/exhilaration and more all in one. We're writers and we soooooo ROCK! 😎

  • Emil indw27 days ago

    Congratulations Manisha!

  • Congratulations on approaching the milestone of 1,000 reads! Your reflections on what this achievement means to you and how Vocal has become a significant part of your life are truly inspiring. It’s wonderful to see your gratitude and the sense of community you’ve found through your writing journey. Your candid expression of emotions and experiences resonates deeply. Here’s to many more reads and continued success on Vocal!

  • angela hepworth27 days ago

    Congratulations! Vocal is such a motivator to write freely, I agree!

  • Every gooal begets another and once you hit a thousand, you will want five thousand. Your attitude is excellent as is your writing ans sure you will be posting more lik ethis going forward. Great story

  • Well done…Bravo…

Manisha DhalaniWritten by Manisha Dhalani

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.