Journal logo

How To Grow Faster

Understanding Lessons Beyond The Lessons

By Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.Published 6 months ago 3 min read
1

I recently wrote an article about a book that I'm reading - Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants.

In the article, I talk about some Business lessons that I've been taking away from the book.

Over on LinkedIn, someone who has also been enjoying the book said that they never even thought about it from a Business perspective and would need to reread with that in mind.

It got me thinking about Learning and Growing.

I read a lot in my life, as well as watch many educational videos.

When I walk away from them, I find many different lessons.

How is it that I take Business lessons away from a book about Wisdom, Science, and Plants?

For me, it is simple.

Any time I learn something, I assume that the lessons can be applied to any part of my life.

In fact, it doesn't even need to be a normal "lesson".

Everything I read, everything I watch, and every interaction I have has some form of lesson in it.

If you think about it long enough, any of these lessons can also be applied in many different ways to every aspect of life.

I see every aspect of life as interconnected with every other aspect of life.

So any spiritual lesson I learn can be applied to Business.

Any Business lesson I learn can be applied to Science.

Any Scientific lesson I learn can be applied to Relationships.

So on and so forth.

Now, most of the time, lessons are not laid out for us to understand them in this manner.

So, it takes a bit of effort for us to learn these types of lessons.

However, when you think about it in this way, new levels of growth quickly become accessible.

You will make connections between things others never even considered.

What does HRV and Breathing have to do with Leadership?

Well, quite a bit if you look at the different aspects of it all.

What does a TV show like Bob's Burgers (which I love to watch with my spouse) have to do with Public Speaking?

More than you might think!

What does Warfare have to do with Romantic Relationships?

If you look beyond what is written, you will find many different ways that the lessons can be applied!

There is another lesson within this way of thinking as well.

This type of thinking creates Novelty, and this can become an avenue for so many different things.

There is the aspect that Flow States become easier because Novelty is a Flow Trigger.

As we unlock new Novel Ideas, Flow States often follow.

The faster we can come up with Novel Ideas, the more consistent we can find Flow States.

With this, Flow States also lead to faster Learning!

This creates a virtuous cycle that continually allows you to Learn and Grow quickly!

Within Novelty, we can also find and develop Niches that others have never considered.

Entire careers have been built upon connections that others haven't seen before.

When people learn to distinguish themselves from others with the lessons they have learned, it leads to getting seen.

To accomplish this though, you need to always be asking questions, Learning more and Growing, and keep going.

I have watched a number of Entrepreneurs, Leaders, and Businesses rise on a single Novel concept, and quickly fail as they fail to continue their Growth.

We cannot rest on our laurels.

When we stand out, people will seek us out more and more.

If we fail to continue to Grow, they will stop seeking us out.

As Leaders, we can't afford to let that happen.

When people stop seeking us, we stop being Leaders.

So always be Growing and Learning.

Figure out how every Lesson can be applied, and the multitude of aspects of our Lives they can be applied to!

workflowwall streetsocial mediapop cultureliteratureindustryhumanityhow tohistoryfeatureeconomycareerbusiness warsbusinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Cody Dakota Wooten, C.B.C.

Creator of the Multi-Award-Winning Category "Legendary Leadership" | Faith, Family, Freedom, Future | The Legendary Leadership Coach, Digital Writer (450+ Articles), & Speaker

https://www.TheLeadership.Guide

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.