Journal logo

How to Exploit Your 9–5 Before Starting Your Writing Career

Things to start now before turning in your resignation

By Elise L. BlakePublished 11 months ago 3 min read
How to Exploit Your 9–5 Before Starting Your Writing Career
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Sure it can be tempting to throw in the towel of your normal 9–5, which puts the food in the fridge and keeps a roof over your head job for the illustrious career of being a writer, but there's one thing you should keep in mind before you do - 

The food in the fridge and the roof over your head. 

Well sure - that's two things, but the point is still the same. 

No matter how good of a writer you are, you will not be making a royalty check the very first week of your new writing career - or the second - or even the third.

Unless you started long before you cast aside the idea of your steady paycheck to join the world of authors.

So what should you do to make the most of your regular job before turning in your two weeks' notice? Let's get into it. 

Write While You Work

No this doesn't mean you should be pulling out your manuscript instead of doing the work you're getting paid to do - but well if you have the time and the ability- you should be using it.

Write on your break, write during lunch, and doodle your outline on a scrap piece of paper while you're waiting on hold. 

There are hundreds of ways you can be working on your novel throughout the day at most jobs, and when you do have the ability or the time to write you can make the most of it. 

I highly encourage you to at least finish your first raft before you decide to quit, then you have the hardest part out of the way and it won't take as long to start to get to the point where you might have an income from your writing. 

Save and Budget 

This one should be a little bit of a no-brainer, but before you take the leap off the deep end without knowing if you're going to be able to support yourself make sure you take as much as you can spare from your pay and save it for when you just might need it - like while you wait for those royalties to start trickling in. (and I do mean trickle) 

Network and Support 

Although things were a little bit different for me since I did not leave my job on my own accord. I had worked in the tourism industry and the pandemic shut us down hard. I was let go due to some issues with the company, but this didn't mean I didn't stay in contact with those I had worked with side by side for seven years.

When one of the assistant managers I had trained called me one day to ask how I was doing since we had both gone off to different directions, me to finish my degree and her to the other side of the country to find a job back home and to be with her parents - when I had told her that I was now a writing coach and was planning on getting my recent book traditionally publish, she let me know that she would be the first person to preorder my book and would support me on all of my social media. 

She's left more comments on my Facebook posts than my mother has.

There's no shame in telling your coworkers that you are writing a book, if you work in a healthy work environment then these people may rally behind you, maybe more than your own family in some cases.

---

There are many things to consider before deciding to quit a steady job to pursue writing and everyone is at a different point in their lives so the decision is ultimately up to you and your situation.

Use your work time to set yourself up for success in your writing career, work on your book, network with those around you, save up so that you aren't in a pinch as soon as the paychecks stop and you can even use your day's off to take some writing classes while you wait. 

Now get back to work - or get back to writing - or maybe both. 

With love, 

B. King xo xo

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

Click my link to start your 7-day free trial today and start earning more for your stories.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

workflowhow tocareerbusinessadvice

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Mark Graham11 months ago

    These are all very good reminders. I create but I am also a book reviewer, so I do make a little doing reviews if I can get the readers to read my reviews. I review anything from baby books to academic textbooks meaning that I can use everything that I have studied from my degrees to professional life.

  • Jonkohrr11 months ago

    I feel like I was robbed of three years of my life (the time it took me to complete my first novel). The reason I say this is because I made the mistake of getting an exclusive contract with website "x" (and I don't mean Twitter, just to make that clear). The book was supposed to be promoted in order to get more readers. It was only done for a couple of days. Now my novel has fallen into obscurity, and I can't publish it anywhere else or do anything else with it since I no longer own the rights to it. When I realized this, I honestly didn't even feel like writing anymore. But I decided that it's time to move on and do things right this time. I have another writing project I'm working on, and while I do that, being here on Vocal has helped me get my writing groove back by writing short stories. I wish I could live off my writing, but I do need my 9 to 5 for the time being (hoping that there will come a time when that will no longer be necessary). Sorry for this long rant, btw :P

  • MANOJ K 11 months ago

    keep going well done support my posts too and please subscribe

  • Diani Alvarenga11 months ago

    I definitely agree with you on this! My boyfriend’s side of the family automatically believes that having a career means being rich and it’s not always the case. I love to write but it doesn’t mean that it’s an easy job. It involves effort and patience.

  • Incredible Commentary❤️💯😉📝

Elise L. BlakeWritten by Elise L. Blake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.