Journal logo

Honoring My Fellows [Part 3]

From a deep dive into beloved Creators' stories

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Honoring My Fellows [Part 3]
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

I always laugh when I see the featured image for this series. Though a topical glance might present an exasperated reader, I view it as a literal attempt to dive into a book. And that’s what this series is all about, after all!

It has been almost two weeks since my last edition of this series and I feel I have left you all hanging for too long. My life got busy, but I’ve been deep diving all the while for this new list of under-read Vocal stories.

So, let’s jump in together!

(But first, I want to emphasize that I do not have a ranking of favorite stories or creators. In fact, I hesitate to say I have a favorite anything, as time changes taste. So, if I use superlatives in this series, I hope you all can recognize my praise as just that – honest revelry in talented creators, and that I do not wish to rank one over the other.)

If you have not read the first two editions, catch them below.

Part 2

Part 1

         

My Self-Imposed Guidelines

  1. I want to feature only a handful of creators per installment. This is to give them my full attention and attempt a short article for you.
  2. I want the list to highlight one story per Vocalist.
  3. The story will be lesser known (few to zero likes). This will most likely require it to be an older piece.
  4. So, without further ado…                  

                 

Pamela Williams

“Lady Jane” is a fast paced thrill of a horror story. I could not stop reading, no matter how fantastical Jane’s situation became, from locust swarms to Abaddon. And the ending is just sublimely written. I cannot praise this story, or Pamela, enough. After basking in this amazing story, I hope you’ll read her profile in its entirety. Her poetry is truly *chef’s kiss.*      

                    

Cendrine Marrouat

Most of us know Cendrine and her work, and taking a look at her profile validates that. It was hard to find overlooked stories, but I did find a few. Apart from her creative writing, which we all know and love, I found some fascinating list stories. One was a list of English words that have fallen out of usage (the linguist in me was over the moon reading it) and the other is a list of the most beautiful old photographs (actually, this is part of a short series she has since discontinued). I recommend them both, so I’ll include links. But the one I want to embed here is the word list, as this contains more of Cendrine’s voice and personality: "Words That We Should Use Again."

I think she and I are kindred spirits when it comes to language. Hi, Cendrine!                  

                  

Gina C.

Gina is an incredible poet and short story writer, and a creator that I admire immensely, for I can never hope to reach her level. And I am glad for this, happy to read her magic and be soothed by her skill. Her diction, meter, rhyme, subject matter…I cannot imagine finding anyone quite like her anywhere. Seriously, one of those people you just sit back and go “wow” with no trace of jealousy in your heart.

This poem, “Free Verse” is a song of inspiration. Using the metaphor of a bird flying and singing freely, the verses take you on a journey from a place where the bird could not find her true voice or self. I won’t spoil anything, but if you ever struggle to believe in your writing, read this poem. You will find hope there.                    

                    

Jen Gossoo

I don’t remember how I discovered Jen. I must have been scrolling through some old challenges and found her listed. In any case, Jen is a stunning writer. The bulk of her profile has no reads (go change that, please!), except for her challenge wins, so I could technically link any story here. However, I wanted to showcase “A Place Like Home” for its sweet simplicity yet deep sense of emotionality. Again, I don’t want to spoil the experience, but I'll leave you with a small quote:

I come here alone,

After lectures and coffee,

To be held in green.  

                         

***

             

Here, I will stop.

There is always more to read from everyone here and one day, I hope I can return to these profiles and dig up even more treasures to share.

My intention with this series is to not ignore Vocalists’ original work, as I believe that all writing deserves attention even if the platform doesn’t want us to go back in the past. If the Team ever considered old stories for Top Story status, I would be flooding the Discord nomination thread with so many amazing finds. But alas, that is not the formula.

It is up to us to do the work. Thank you so much for reading!

listfeature

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    Thank you for writing this! You so beautifully introduce each of these talented creators. Cendrine’s article was absolutely brilliant - I love my newly acquired words! Especially apricity! Gina’s Poem made my heart fill with joy. I don’t know how I missed that. I really value her poetry. Thank you 🙏

  • This was a great surprise, Mackenzie! I've been away for a week and came home to this! Thank you so much. You take precious time to read, comment, and promote other writers. You are as inspiring as your beautiful masterpieces. Here are just a couple (and there are many more) that I love! Light My Love | Poets (vocal.media), Great Teller of Truths | Poets (vocal.media).

  • I know everyone you've featured but I've only read Cendrine's piece before. I used one of the words she included there, curglaff, in one of my stories!

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    These have been great, thank you so much for sharing them. It's been such a positive selection. After the adrenaline shot and then the thrill of the words, I feel like I've been settled to a place of acceptance.

  • This is a marvelous selection, Mackenzie, none of which I had read before. And is there any reason you can't nominate older stories for Top Story status? Why not simply do it & see how Vocal responds. The worst they can do is ignore your suggestions.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Mackenzie, thank you SO very much for your kind words and for mentioning my stories! I really appreciate it!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I shall definitely keep a note for this and come back to it, but wanted to acknowledge my appreciation for your hard work in supporting others, Mackenzie! Keep up the good work!

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.