Journal logo

Honoring My Fellows [Part 2]

From a deep dive into a few beloved Creators' stories

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
Honoring My Fellows [Part 2]
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Hello again, my friends! As promised, I have compiled my second installment of “Honoring My Fellows.” (Please, if you have a better name for this series, I am taking suggestions…)

It’s all poetry this time, and what a collection of gems I have found. Oh, and instead of four pieces, there are five! I do hope you enjoy this one.

If you weren’t here for the first part, please go check it out! In it, I explain my ground rules and why I’m only doing small batches. Plus, you really should read the first four stories I spotlight; they truly are stunning.

So...

Without further ado…

                  

                  

                  

Poppy the Poet

“Trembling Tragedies” is incredibly well written. The interview format is superbly executed, a structured stream-of-consciousness that the reader follows toward a deep emotional gut punch. Absolutely stunning.

This is just one of so many of Poppy’s poems that I would add to this series. If you haven’t subscribed to her yet, please do. She is so talented.

“Can you really complain about the bruises when you craved the feel of soft skin against ruthless rocks?”

                  

                    

Lucia B.

Everything Lucia writes astounds me. She is startling with her diction, command of the English language, and ability to craft such heart-wrenching verses that stay with you. The following poem really hit me the other day. I think I read it four times, uttering “wow” like a mantra under my breath.

“The Ocean” takes you from a satellite view of the world down to the internal ocean of identity. An exquisite exploration of the ocean and all that it is and all that it represents.

“I am lost, I am lingering

I am rising, I am drifting

The water cradles me

Drowns me, carries me”

             

           

Brenton F.

Brenton's “Drowning” was not only one of the first poems I read of his, but also one that I utterly adore. He was one of my first subscriptions on Vocal, and is truly a unique poet, so witty, with the ability to be both crass and so heartfelt in the same piece. I really admire his style; it is something I could never emulate myself.

I think most of us know of Brenton’s work, but this one doesn’t seem to have as many reads as I would have expected. It’s startling, one of my own fears realized in suffocating verse.

“submerged saline asphyxiation

a thrilling but final ride

the crash of the waves breaks my back

i’m thrown and flung with the weeds”

             

             

Stephen A. Roddewig

I read Stephen’s “The Call” just the other night and had to return to it several times to appreciate all that it captures. It harkens back to classical poetry, with an introductory stanza and language throughout that reads like an epic.

“My sword to those who have angered.

My horse to those who have wallowed.

My heart to those whose love has hollowed.”

Truly, his writing is incredible. I encourage you to read more of his poetry but also his prose. A worthy subscription, and one that I’ve neglected for far too long.

                 

                   

Ashley Lima

“Sunday Afternoon” depicts a wonderful atmosphere of getting away from it all, finding peace and inner-stillness in a drive through the mountains. It’s so evocative and gorgeous; truly, a poem to cure anxiety.

“I love sticking my hands out of the driver's side window;

Fingers dancing in the wind under the light of the Blue Mountain sun.”

If you haven't subscribed to Ashley yet, why not? Just do it already! :D

              

***

                 

If you made it this far, thank you so much! Please leave a like and comment on the featured stories, if you’re so inclined. And let me know what you think about 5 instead of 4 featured pieces. Do you like seeing more or less? Should I keep upping the number? And do you want prose next time?

(I am always excited to find new, amazing writers. If you want to leave a recommendation, I will happily check it out!)

Bye for now. I’ll be back with more stories in a week or so, so stay tuned! Cheers!

quoteslistfeature

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    A brilliant list! I haven’t read any of these and most of the creators I hadn’t discovered yet either! **too many tabs open again** and loving it. Thank you 😊 ❤️🙏

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Mackenzie, I love watching other writers support each other! Thank you for being such a great example of what it means to be a great supporter! Also thank you for adding to my reading list, I'll be checking these out soon!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler11 months ago

    This is so well done, Mackenzie, and so generous of you to highlight other writers! I like that you upped the count to 5 for poetry. Congrats on Top Story, too!

  • Wow 🤩 Awesome work and Congratulations on your Top Story🫶🏾💯🎊

  • Rene Peters11 months ago

    Love this, especially since I prefer poetry to anything else!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Thank you for the huge shout for possibly my favourite piece. Again thank you so much!

  • Stephen A. Roddewig11 months ago

    "Deep dive" is right, haha. You really went into the archives for that one. A poem from before commenting even existed on Vocal, in fact, so imagine my surprise to see a notification yesterday that someone had added one to this piece from two years ago. Thank you so much for the feature and for spotlighting so many other great poets! Truly lovely to see the community this platform builds among fellow writers and creators.

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    Thank you so much Mackenzie!! Your kind words mean so so much to me. I’ll have to check out the other poems asap. Congrats on top story

  • Suze Kay11 months ago

    Mackenzie, I loved all of these poems! Thank you so much for unearthing them for our reading pleasure.

  • LC Minniti11 months ago

    I love that you do this! It's hard to go through the enormous amount of content on this platform sometimes. A curation of rare finds is a welcome respite! I only know of two out of five of your choices. Time to read!

  • Sarah D11 months ago

    beautiful story, loved it. Read mine? https://vocal.media/fiction/an-irrevocable-dream-about-a-mermaid

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    yay! more stuff to read! well done on continuing this and for Top Story! Lucia is the only one that's new to me and the rest are some I find truly inspiring!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Love all your choices 💓 great top story indeed

  • Another marvelous selection, resonating with each & every one.

  • Mesh Toraskar11 months ago

    Amazing curation, yet again. Can't wait to check all of these out!

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    One new name for me here, thank you, Mackenzie:)

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Wow, Mackenzie. Thank you for the shout! A truly deep cut at that! I'm going to have to check out all the wonderful creators you've highlighted in parts one and two. What a lovely thing to do <3

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.