Journal logo

Honoring My Fellows

From a deep dive into beloved Creators' stories

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
17
Honoring My Fellows
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Greetings, everyone. It’s been weeks in the making, but I’m finally fulfilling my promise to D. Alexandra Porter to write my own version of her Vocal Inspirations post. My apologies for the delay! (Yes, this promise was made just to myself, but I feel I ought to keep such promises.) Catch D’s article here.

What an amazing idea, to honor specific creators on Vocal and give them more of a spotlight than they tend to receive! Although now that I’m thinking about it, I suppose Paul Stewart is also to thank for this, as I’m sort of melding D’s inspirations with Paul’s “Deep Cuts.” Anyway, however it manifests, I want to shine the light.

The following creators are just a few out of so many whom I’ve grown to admire immensely. I feel they deserve more love and reads than they get. Above all, they inspire me to write and write better with each piece.

Rest assured, this will not be the only article I post. Stay tuned.

My Self-Imposed Guidelines

These are my goals for each of these pieces:

  1. I want to feature only a handful of creators at a time. This is so I can give them my full attention without making each post too long.
  2. I want the post to highlight one story from each creator.
  3. The story will be a lesser known, probably older piece.

        

Aaaaand we're off!

           

Andrei Z.

“Alchemist” reads like slam poetry would sound. It is full of emotion, surrealism, and a gripping narrative. Truly, a spectacular creation. Andrei’s poetry consistently astounds me. I could probably dedicate an entire article just on Andrei's work.

                

Chloe J.

“Blink” by Chloë J is astonishing. I was utterly captivated by the colors she uses to establish where the speaker is, and then the following, slowly unfurling mystery. I won’t spoil anything. Just go read it. It’s truly a marvel, and grossly under-read.

            

Sonia Heidi Unruh

“Flutter” is such an imaginative story about a leaf falling from its tree. The story feels deep, like an allegory, one that you insert yourself into and see the world differently, with more beauty than you did before. The relationship between Flutter and Breeze is truly heart warming, and makes for a gripping narrative.

            

Mesh Toraskar

“Serendipity” is my favorite poem that Mesh has written (so far). Though it guts me to pick a favorite, I think this is it. The structure, the diction, the paralyzingly gorgeous images and lines... If Mesh were to expand this poem into a poetry collection, I’d be the first to purchase that book. Or any book he wrote, really. (Hi, Mesh!)

* Update: He wrote a second part to this poem “Returning is a love language” that I highly recommend you check out. Like, do it now.  

             

***

If you got this far, thank you! I hope you take the time to read more than just the embedded stories for each creator. It was a challenge to choose the ones I did. Each person has so many I could have gone with instead, but I have to follow my self-imposed guidelines, otherwise this would reach novel length.

Please, if you have any stories to recommend, drop them in the comments! I’m always looking for more undiscovered treasures, be them older or simply underread for whatever reason. So if that means your own work or someone else’s, I invite you to share.

Well, that will do it for this first installment! I do hope you enjoyed. My ever present hope is share this with as many readers as possible and if you’re one of them, it’s working. Thank you so much for your time and love. 💕

Cheers!

             

             

Note: I originally posted this three weeks ago, but felt I need to add a few small updates and edit a couple things. Sorry for any confusion!

        

listfeature
17

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton6 days ago

    Oh wow! I’ve just discovered this series. Thank you so much for compiling; I’ll take my time meandering through these when I can and leaving the writers a comment. A lovely endeavour Mackenzie 🥰

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Could you include a link for Serendipity? 😁

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Some good pieces here, I am goin to bookmark these and come back to them later 😁

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    All great creators. Wonderful choices. I think I've read a couple of these, but off to check them out I go.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    All amazing choices! Blink was mesmerizing. They were All very worth the read. Thank you for taking the time to highlight these creators. All of which I am subscribed to. 😍

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Im a big fan of Chloe and Andrei, but you often bring out great pieces I don't know. I'll have to take a plunge into some of your other suggestions! I promise I'm making a big list! You take care. 🐸🦚

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    Thank you Mackenzie for adding to my reading list! I will be checking most of these out due to your great reviews/ descriptions of their work! I am most excited about Andrei's poem as I already follow him and you have my curiosity peaked with this one!

  • Chloë J.9 months ago

    don’t know how I missed this—thanks for the love and the great recommendations!! Looking forward to more of this series 💕💕💕

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    4 is a good number for me, as it gave me time to really focus on reading each piece and comment. On the other hand, when the stories are this good, I'm going to sit back and enjoy the read, regardless! Thanks for highlighting these creators, Mackenzie! I'm looking forward to moving on to your second "honoring" piece.

  • I've only recently discovered Mesh and I'm so happy I did! I don't think I've read any out of those 4 pieces but I'll circle back to it!

  • Mesh Toraskar9 months ago

    Oh Mackenzie, what an honour it is to be featured on this list alongside the likes of such amazing artists. Thank you so much, this means a lot! ❤️ 'Serendipity' is one I come back to most because I feel it's incomplete and there's a lot to be explored. So this might just have pushed me to actually sit and expand it, let's see where it goes. Absolutely stunning works mentioned here and I cannot wait to see the next instalments in this series. You are very kind! :)

  • Rui Alves9 months ago

    Thanks for being such an adamant link in our writing chain!

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Omg, I'm addicted to this new series already. These were all breathtaking pieces that I absolutely adored and really enjoyed reading. Thank you so much for sharing them. I think four is a great amount but I also definitely wouldn't complain if there were a few more. Can't wait for the next one!

  • Great choices, Mackenzie! The only one I'd read before was Sonia's. I'm so glad that you are lifting up all of these & introducing them to us.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.