Humans logo

Vocal Inspirations

Novel, Lamar, Dharrsheena, Mike & More

By D. ALEXANDRA PORTERPublished 10 months ago β€’ Updated 10 months ago β€’ 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
41
Image by D. Alexandra Porter

Hospitality and compassion can never be overvalued. They are essential humanitarian pillars that I hold in high esteem. Fortunately, I find these presented daily by Vocal members.

A month ago, I took a break from a hectic work schedule. I am nurturing myself: body, mind, and spirit. One result of this was a re-immersion in the Fine Arts. Thus, I found myself returning to Vocal as a reader and writer. (I had taken a hiatus–Life called.) Now, reading your stories, I witness bravery, fear, laughter, honesty, and love. As I write my own, I see creativity that is directly linked to my experiences in this community.

I thank all Vocal writers for allowing me to glimpse your humanity in prose and poetry! Additionally, I give special shout-outs to a few who never cease to amaze me with hospitable and compassionate encouragement: Novel Allen, Lamar Wiggins, Dharrsheena Raja Segarran, and Mike Singleton-Mikeydred. (I extend sincere apologies if I misspelled names.) Below are links to their Vocal homepages, milestone and biographical information provided, links to my favorite stories, thus far, and brief synopses of them.

I hope that these small tributes are enjoyed by all.

Novel Allen

Joined March 2021|567 stories

(Uk based)... Listen to all, but follow no one absolutely!!!... Be a mountain, a stream, a river, a dream. Exist within moments, be driven by whims and fancies, be free spirited. Untamable. Run wild with the wind!

My Favorite Novel Story: "An African Survival Story"

Who does not cheer for a good-hearted underdog fighting against all odds to achieve life-long dreams? In this fictional narrative of hope, Novel gives us two such characters: Lesedi and Aamadu. They are worth getting to know.

Lamar Wiggins

Joined February 2021|100 stories

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, fiction, mystery, articles and the occasional poem. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

My Favorite Lamar Story: "Midnight Heros"

In Lamar's comedy pitch for "Midnight Heros," we meet a satirical night show host, Norah Nichols, whose slapstick reminds us of Anna Ferris, Rosie O'Donell, and Arrested Development. Her best friend is a Raggedy Anne doll. Now, this is entertainment that promises laughter paired with an understanding of our flawed humanity.

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

Joined February 2022|66 stories

My mental health decline brought along a lot of Darkness and I embraced it. This Darkness flows out in the form of Horror Stories and Dark Poetry

My Favorite Dharrsheena Story: "Don't Be a Mommy's Boy"

Terror and love go together. Right? In this tale, Dharrsheena shows us the horror of not cutting the umbilical cord. We meet Danny and Aioli. On their honeymoon night, Danny gets a gift from Mommy that he will never forget. Neither will I.

Mike Singleton-Mikeydred

Joined April 2021|1458 stories

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

My Favorite Mike-Mikeydred Story: "How Vocal Has Changed My Life"

Anyone who loves David Bowie classics gets my attention. Mike gets mine in "How Vocal Has Changed My Life." He starts with Bowie's song "Changes" and takes us on a lovely stroll through his life-altering Vocal experiences. Mike is an ultimate host as he helps us glimpse moments of shared humanity.

So, there you have it. I never met these writers, but they impacted my life. Somehow, they stumbled upon my Vocal pages and decided to stay for a while. Their comments brought smiles, moist eyes on occasion, and memorable tokens of their hospitality and compassion.

I am fortunate.

Thank you, Vocal Community!

literaturereviewhumanityfeature
41

About the Creator

D. ALEXANDRA PORTER

Force of Nature

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • S. A. Crawford7 months ago

    I love seeing shoutouts like this, and the creators you've highlighted are incredibly worthy of praise! Thanks so much for sharing this; you're right, kindness is the most important facet of the human experience, and sadly undervalued in some ways, but you've displayed it so clearly with this piece!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Nice shout-out to these creators, know most of them, just delving in to Lamar. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Hi we are featuring your excellent Top Story in our Community Adventure Thread in The Vocal Social Society on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • Joelle EπŸŒ™10 months ago

    Kindness definitely can never be overvalued. But often is undervalued. Thanks for sharing ❀️❀️❀️

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    This was very nice of you. I love seeing creators supporting each other.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    A very nice tribute to four fine and supportive creators. Well done!

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    That's beautiful! Nicely written and presented. I know and already adore all of those listed here!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This is beautiful, I am so glad you receive their warm welcome. They take their time and read others stories. πŸ™‚A lot of stories , I should say .

  • A. Lenae10 months ago

    What a thoughtful, well-written, and refreshing piece. This truly was a delight to read, as it reminds us all why this platform can serve as such a welcoming and celebratory beacon. The creators, such as yourself, inspire and challenge, and we all share in our desire to create and our willingness to be vulnerable. I really appreciate your kind and intentional voice, and I'm so glad this contribution made top story!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    So inspiring with gratitude - the Vocal community is like no other. Congrats on your well written Top Story!

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Gotcha D. Congrats on Top Story. May you continue to shine.

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Good TS, and not a bad list!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS! Love the support we have for one another! 😘πŸ₯°

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    ❀-ing this! The writer's that you highlighted rock, as do you! :) What a lovely tribute! Congrats on your TOP STORY! 😁

  • πŸ’œ Thank you, Vocal Staff & Writers!!! πŸ’œ

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    What a lovely tribute to see on the Top Story page!! πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fantastic!@@ Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    This is awesome! Congrats on TS

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Love your sweet story on all these lovely and talented people! Mike and Dharshee are my best friends and like family ! Such a lovely and inspiring, uplifting way up showcase others for their spirit, skills and kindness

  • Congratulations on your well deserved Top Story

  • Thank you, Dharrsheena! πŸ’œ My notices alert me to your visits, though the comments are not visible. Ooh, maybe my page has a ghost.πŸ‘» LOL πŸ˜…

  • I'm so sad my comment disappeared πŸ₯Ί So here I am trying to recall what I said the first time. I can't really remember everything because my memory is extremely bad. But I was pleasantly surprised to see my name there. Thank you so much for that! πŸ’– I'm so happy you liked that story! It was inspired by true events.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Thank you so so much, Alexandra πŸ™πŸ½πŸ™πŸ½πŸ™πŸ½. I'm very honored to be mentioned here. Mutual support brings us together and shows the importance of engagement. Like I've said before. You are one classy gal with a heart of gold, no, diamonds. πŸ’–

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    This is such a wonderful tribute! I hope more take their lead from you and honor their favorite stories and creators every so often. I think it's needed. So glad that Novel gave this piece a shout out today.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.