Journal logo

Blake Linder, His Next Big Career Move

Blake has already built a notable brand but he isn’t stopping there.

By sibca awanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Blake Linder

There are a handful of influencers who are in the sneaker culture but only a few who have taken the industry by storm under the age of 20, Blake Linder is one. At the young age of 19 years old, Blake has made an impact in the industry through his YouTube Channel where he not only entertains his followers through his vlogs and sneaker reviews, which are all filmed and edited by himself personally. Blake has established a large fan base who look to him for the latest drops and trends, accumulating over one million followers across all social media platforms and over 100 million views on his YouTube channel. Blake has collaborated with some of the top designers, celebrities, and brands such as Manscape, Squarespace, Sneaker Con, Puma, Reebok, NBA and Footlocker, Offset, Famous Dex, Food God, Yasiel Puig, and Virgil Abloh.

Blake has already built a notable brand but he isn’t stopping there. Blake is currently attending Dodge College Film at Chapman where he is studying and getting a degree in filmmaking to skyrocket his career to the next level while also managing his YouTube channel and his business BSNEAK Shop. He aspires to create films that are influential and impactful, bringing social awareness to issues he is passionate about. A few to name are the sensitive issues such as cancer and homelessness in LA. Blake's films will be a catalyst that bring change and a sense of hope and understanding. He isn’t limiting himself though, Blake also wants to make a film in his favorite genre, horror!

We have the privilege of speaking to Blake!

Hi, Blake & Welcome to Vocal Media!

Tell us what you are most known for:

I believe I’m one of the youngest people within the sneaker community that 100% filmed and edited all of my own YouTube videos and went on to get accepted into one of the top 5 film programs in the world! Most Sneaker YouTubers don’t go on to college and specifically don’t address social issues to help bring awareness to others such as Xavier. I also just accepted onto Chapman/Dodge Provost Honor List my first semester all the while keeping my YouTube Channel ongoing including my business BSNEAK Shop.

Tell us about your most recent project and how it impacted your life?

“XAVIER a year ago

When I first met Xavier at a sneaker event last fall, I could tell that the ten-year-old boy looked up to me. One year later while live-streaming on Instagram, I wanted to engage with my followers in real time. I randomly picked one of the names that filled my screen. By sheer coincidence, Xavier’s face popped up. The excitement of seeing him turned into shock when I noticed that Xavier was lying in a hospital bed. He told me that he had been diagnosed with Neuroblastoma, a rare form of cancer. At that moment, I knew I had to help Xavier. The idea came to me in a flash: I would fly to Xavier’s home state of Indiana and surprise him with a suitcase filled with clothes and accessories. To raise awareness for Neuroblastoma, I would also capture the encounter through a documentary.

While Xavier’s parents were ecstatic that I was willing to surprise him, they warned me that Xavier’s condition was far from stable. As I reviewed my schedule, I wondered if I had bit off more than I could chew; after all, I was a full-time student facing the most challenging academic year of my life: eleventh grade. However, I knew that although it would be difficult, I had to do it for Xavier."

What are some of the biggest collabs you’ve done ?

Manscape, Squarespace, Sneaker Con, Puma, Reebok, NBA and Footlocker. Biggest celebrities: Offset, Famous Dex, Food God, Yasiel Puig, and Virgil Abloh.

What’s next for you?

As a filmmaker, I want to use my YouTube channel and make films that can fun and entertaining but also tackling social issues through entertaining genres; similar to the way my videos, while focused on popular culture, helped bring awareness to the sensitive issues such as cancer and homelessness in LA. I not only want to create films that will resonate with others, but I also want my films to be a catalyst that will bring change and a sense of hope and understanding.

And, yes, I still want to create horror films which is my favorite type of film!

Finally, how can people connect with you if they want to learn more?

To say the least, Blake Linder is one of the top influencers to follow in the industry with many upcoming projects. You can follow his content on both Instagram and YouTube @BlakeLinder.

social media
Like

About the Creator

sibca awan

“You don’t start out writing good stuff. You start out writing crap and thinking it’s good stuff, and then gradually you get better at it.

That’s why I say one of the most valuable traits is persistence.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.