Journal logo

BABS BLUE HAIKU

A 45 Poem Journey Part 1

By Babs IversonPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2024
27
BABS BLUE HAIKU
Photo by Alex Shutin on Unsplash

Discouraged? Most definitely! After writing forty-five poems, none of which made Top Story or placed in the Blue Haiku Challenge. The majority of the poems received more hearts than reads.

Therefore, when the next Haiku Challenge was announced, my heart wasn't in it. Figuratively and literally, then amazingly, wrote three! Bam! Then, I was done!

Reviewing the forty-five, it's best to start with the least reads, which would be BLUE APRON. The haiku was very personal. Wrote it in remembrance of my maternal grandmother.

Learning about the azure dragon, inspired my poem, FOLKLORE

Again, more hearts than read. This one was for my paternal grandparents. As a child, the "Blue Willow Dinnerware" captured my imagination. Grown and on my own, the restaurant's blue plate specials didn't impress me. In fact, the food was downright disgusting.

Earlier wrote a fictional story for the endangered red macaw challenge. The Hyacinth Macaw parrot is beautiful and blue. Had to write one for this majestic creature.

My second Top Story on Vocal was COLOR ME! Inspiration came from that poem. Decided to title the poem with a question.

Recalling Junior High School (Middle School), the music teacher's favorite instrumental was Rapsody in Blue. Of course, the title of the song works perfectly for the Blue Haiku Challenge.

Of course, Christmas was approaching. The credit union's Christmas tree inspired me to write BLUE CHRISTMAS.

Loving those four hearts but only two reads, the popular blue performers made it into the challenge with my poem titled BLUE MAN GROUP. Interestingly, there are four groups that travel around the country entertaining audiences under the Blue Man Group.

While shopping, this silly blue haiku came to mind. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow and have fun. At the time, those seven hearts meant so much to me but questioned, why were there only three reads.

The Swedish flag, my paternal grandfather established pride in my ancestry. Thus, a haiku tribute to my ancestry was written and published.

Hey! When April rolls around, it's the bluebonnet photo opportunity time! Admittedly, some years are better than others.

Another flower, that takes me back to my youth is the morning glories. Stats show six hearts and have three reads.

Ouch! Blue Suits only received four reads; however, thankful and grateful for those eleven hearts and eight comments. Blue suits are symbolic and iconic reminders of my past business attire.

In 2010, the Texas Rangers went to the World Series. Exciting and thrilling, in the end, was left pitifully blue. The same could be said about the Penn State Rose Bowl game the previous year. This haiku represents my internal and external feelings.

In this haiku, again, the Texas Rangers became my inspiration. On the positive side, went to my first World Series game! Always something to be grateful for.

That's fifteen of the forty-five haikus written for the December Blue Haiku Challenge. Will continue this Blue Haiku journey with part 2.

Writer's notes: Thank you for reading! You are appreciated! Regarding the prompt:

Write a haiku about something blue.

In order to qualify as a haiku, your submission must meet the following requirements:

There must be 3 lines.

There must be 17 syllables.

The first line should be 5 syllables, the second line should be 7 syllables, and the third line should be 5 syllables.

It must be submitted to the Poets community.

For this challenge, we would like you to write a haiku about something that is the color blue. Blue is all around us. From the sky to the sea to a blueberry, blue is a primary color found throughout nature. Blue symbolizes harmony, tranquility, creativity, loyalty, and sometimes sadness.

history
27

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Made it through this batch! I'm enjoying catching up on your stories. Vocal's read algorithm doesn't play well with short forms, which makes for weird looking stats. Looking forward to Part 2!

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Congrats on top story Babs!! Love every single haiku you wrote! 💝💝🥰

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Loved this collection!! Congrats on top story. I remember the macaw one :)

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Chloe Gilholy2 months ago

    A lot of dedication and great collection of haikus.

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 months ago

    To me Babs all your stories are top stories and all your poems winners. Glad this one was too

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Congratulations on being acknowledged. They are all wonderful in my humble opinion

  • You got a deserved result with this, well done

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    You're a gifted haiku writer! Congrats on your TOP STORY!!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Wtg Babs. I remember a lot of your wonderful entries. 👏👏

  • Thavien Yliaster2 months ago

    Babs, You and me both. I feel ya'. I remember crafting over 100 of those haikus, and You were there practically commenting them as they were being published. Had me shocked and surprised, but really appreciated too. Lowkey, I was debating about having one haiku being this: Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue Blue For the challenge. Trust me, I was trying to explore every avenue possible in the hopes of having one of my haikus, stick, and hit the wall when it came to the blue haiku competition.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    You are prolific with the blue haiku my dear 🥰😘🤩👏 you keep writing those blues away

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    How did I ever miss so many? This challenge must have been so hard to judge!! I will read more soon. 😊💕

  • C. Rommial Butler7 months ago

    Blue Haiku from Babs A delightful morning read While sipping coffee

  • Just Tapped the ones that I hadn't read 📖 😉💙👌

  • So sorry Babs because I've already read all your Haikus here so I cannot give you more reads 🥺

  • Nice pillar post. (Thank Judey for teaching me that term.) The short challenges, especially the haikus, frequently had more hearts than reads because it only takes a few seconds to read (& only a few more to respond, typically), & Vocal requires that a reader be on the page for a given length of time & scroll all the way through to count as a read (as I understand it).

  • What do you mean when you say “more hearts than reads”, babs? ❤️✨

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Blue is my favorite color , I got some reading to do . 💙💙💙💙💙

  • Test9 months ago

    What a feat! I enjoyed reading about the significance of blue to you. Super cool idea and I really love the 45 concept. Like a word-book of blue Mine to you...It's a bit rubbish but the sentiment is there, I hope 🥰 In blue verse you soar, Forty-five haikus now more, Talent to the core

  • Darkos9 months ago

    I enjoyed reading You 💗even though I wrote about the Top story not being more important than the person who is creating it I understand how You feel and Your real life experiences in here also brought me back to these challenges some quite weird stuff but it was good to write ;) And You are so right hearts are not the number of people who go for reading I don't know why people put like without diving into the person's poems and stories inside I love that you even bring the moment where you got inspired to write about blue Haiku and that's the best approach to write the free flow but sometimes life bringing us surprises and than we need to find how to make fun and joy while being somehow involved and still writing our real truth life and thoughts that naturally just come in here to publicly live -i get more relax in comments recently so far haha!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.