Journal logo

Are Vocal Promoting Themselves Enough?

Thoughts On Vocal's Presence Away From Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
21
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

When i was tempted to join Vocal I remeber seeing advertisements for a writing platform where I could win huge amounts of money if I subscribed to their model, and you know I can resist anything but temptation, so I joined up, and while there have been times that Vocal have annoyed the hell out of me like when you get entries to challenges that break the rules like this. I am not blaming the creator, and it can be easily corrected, but I am blaming Vocal because this should not have placed.

These days I seldom see Vocal anywhere but on Vocal.

So Why Aren't Vocal More Prominent?

There is a possibility I may have blocked Vocal's advertising on Facebook because I already have the product. Every so often they message me offering me ten months for the price of twelve and to invest $500 dollars in them and get free membership for five years(I do find it odd that these things are easily implemented while important faults are ignored), but I only see these on Vocal, not on Facebook, Threads, Instagram Twixter or anywhere else.

I understand that having members invest is good because members have an interest in keeping the platform on a firm financial footing, while outside investors will just be looking for a return on their investment.

I also used to see them on Twixster and Facebook promoting Top stories and even got the odd response to some of my posts where I tag them (and I always do in my Vocal posts, but that seems dead in the water.

I do the same on Threads and as yet I have seen no action on there from Vocal.

The Vocal Facebook page only sporadically seems to share Top Stories (but I think this is caused by Facebook algorithms as all the top Stories are there) and is seldom used to share any issues or big news on Vocal. Facebook definitely is a huge shop window and Vocal should have a much bigger presence on there.

I promote Vocal when I write and when there is a new challenge and I have been financially rewarded by their Ambassador's program for doing that, although there are still issues with the payment flow, but you do get paid eventually.

This is my take on the Ambassador's program and every Vocal Creator can take part and benefit from it.

As you know I have criticised and berated Vocal, but I believe they are an excellent platform and have benefitted me both in my creative development and financially, as well as bringing me into contact with so many new friends around the world. I had always wanted to publish a book, and being on Vocal facilitated that for me, if initially by accident.

Without Vocal, that would never have happened.

Vocal does have a huge membership, and that allows us to grow a big Vocal audience which then helps maintain our daily read count and income from Vocal. They also count external reads as well, so anyone can read our stories, so if we find the right place to share them it can be very lucrative for Vocal Creators.

The story below is my second-most-read and gets about two or three reads per day although only has six Vocal hearts, but I am hoping that this will become my most-read piece.

Conclusion

Maybe it is social media algorithms stopping me from seeing Vocal promote themselves, but I really do want them to succeed and continue to look after their wonderful Creators and me as well.

I hope this has been informative for you and thank you for reading

social mediaworkflowVocalproduct reviewpop culturehow tohistoryfeaturebusinessadvice
21

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    I hadn’t considered this. I’d make a terrible business woman. Thank you for sharing this insight.

  • That is a bit of a snafu senryu, lol. Or, I suppose it really could be a genius snafu haiku as it fails both in content & form!

  • Hahahahahhahahahahaha I like how you included the screenshot of the Senryu that shouldn't have placed as it had 8 syllables in the second line. I hope Vocal does something about that

  • “ Every so often they message me offering me ten months for the price of twelve and to invest $500 dollars in them and get free membership for five years(I do find it odd that these things are easily implemented while important faults are ignored)” Yes, such a mystery why these things are so prominent. If only there was a common thread, like, hear me out, *money*? Thank you for coming to my TED Talk

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    Very true. Wonduring how many other platforms I see promoted. Not many. Never Instagram or WordPress or anything like that.. I wonder why?

  • marie e ehlenbach6 months ago

    Very well thought of!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Excellent article!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I see the Top Story posts everyday on FB. I can't really speak on other platforms, because I don't use them. And yeah, they have to get the challenge thing right. It seems there's an issue with every one lately.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    The only ad for Vocal I have seen in the last two years is the INVEST IN VOCAL ad. I don't see them promoted on Twitter or Facebook anymore for us writers.

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    Yes. Their social media pages are ghost towns! I gave up on the ambassador program. Too annoying to get paid.

  • Test6 months ago

    I think that Vocal is a great platform for writers and I hope that it continues to grow and succeed.

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Very interesting topic. I have to admit I’ve been wondering the same thing. I love vocal and I believe that in time it will become a major social media, but they need better advertising.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.