Journal logo

And then there was Friday...

The unknown journey

By Lisa WarnePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
And then there was Friday...
Photo by marianne bos on Unsplash

I blink my eyes, crusted with sleep, my head pounding. I can’t remember anything and something is REALLY loud. I slowly assess my surroundings and have no idea where I am other than in a moving vehicle. A train??? I’ve never been on a train. How the hell did I get here?

Trying to ignore the fact that I feel incredibly hungover and have an uncontrollable urge to vomit, I force myself to sit up and look around.

It would appear that I am indeed in a very extravagant train car, moving at a very fast, and LOUD, pace. And I am in here ALONE.

I start to freak out. Where the hell am I and how did I get on a train for God’s sake?

Then I look down and see my hands and clothing. They’re covered in blood. Not just a drop or two, LOTS and LOTS of blood.

And it’s still wet.

I immediately vomit on the velvet cushioned seat, feeling guilty and embarrassed and scared to death. Thank God I’m alone until I figure this shit out.

I wipe my face with the back of my bloodied hand and take a few deep breaths, trying to make some sense of this. I look out the window and it’s dark outside, all I can see is trees flying past and an overcast sky. There’s a pull cord to call an attendant which I use but either there is no one to ‘attend’ or it doesn’t work. Or worse, someone is ignoring it, knowing why I’m here. I am fighting off having a panic attack.

I pry myself up off the stained velvet bench and try the doors on each end but they are locked and there are no signs of a way to break through or pick them. I look around the car and see no signs of anyone else having been in here, no luggage, dishes, clothing – nothing. There is literally nothing sitting out that would help me figure out why or how I am here – no weapons or bruises or wounds on myself to indicate what may have happened, just all of that blood. And no one else.

On top of it, the only trains that go through my area aren’t passenger trains, not like this one, and this one is obviously very expensive based on the décor. So where am I?

I have no information on me either, empty pockets, no phone, no ticket, just my bloodied self. And this train seems to keep going faster…

“Okay, take a deep breath and think about the last thing you remember…”

I close my eyes and take a deep breath, trying to recall anything prior to waking up here. I remember stopping at the cash machine on Tuesday and picking up take-out for myself and Eskimo, my girl. I played golf on Wednesday and met a friend on Thursday for dinner and drinks.

And then…nothing. A blank slate, as if I had been knocked out for who knows how long, which seems to be the case.

I don’t remember anything after Thursday’s dinner. Not going home, not anything about Friday. Nothing.

Suddenly the lights flash in the cabin causing me to jump and drop to the floor, I’m in full panic mode. After a few seconds a voice echoes over the intercom saying: “Good evening prisoners, we shall reach our destination an hour earlier than expected, thanks to unexpected favorable weather. We hope you are enjoying your trip and we aim to continue to keep you comfortable as we continue our journey. Thank you.”

Then silence.

Prisoners? Wtf?

I still can’t see anything but trees in the dark outside and no sign of other passengers or anyone for that matter on this train. It just keeps going faster and faster and, with the warning of an early arrival, I don’t even know if I should be scared or relieved.

I’m exhausted and after trying several times to break out of the train car I give up and sit back down to think. At some point I must have dozed off again, still feeling hungover and with a mad headache.

Out of nowhere, a maddening alarm goes off making me jump to my feet and an ethereal voice comes over the intercom again: “The train is now entering the station, please remain seated until the engineer has indicated that it is safe to gather your belongings and depart.”

To my surprise, the train was actually slowing down and it was now daylight, although I still couldn’t see any people or signs to figure out where I was. Eventually the engineer’s message came across that it was safe to disembark and the doors suddenly unlatched and slid open. I slowly moved toward the door at the front of the car, keeping an eye out for any movement, and then was able to step out and see the platform and train station, which was entirely empty. Not one person, there, or getting off the train. I stepped down to the overgrown pavement and looked around, alone again, and scared to death.

The train’s whistle blew, causing me to jump again, and then the train’s doors slammed shut behind me and it started moving forward with no announcement. I wasn’t sure if I should try to get back on or stay where I was. I ended up just watching it pull out of the station and stood there in disbelief and still scared shitless.

With no other options I turned to observe the empty station. There was a huge clock on the platform that read 12:26 and it had apparently been 12:26 for quite some time since it wasn’t working. None of the televisions or any electronic devices appeared to be powered. It was as if an apocalypse had happened, except that there were no bodies. I mean, not even birds or insects.

There were no signs or anything to even indicate where I was – what state, what city, what country for that matter. My mind turned inside and all I could think about was Eskimo, where she might be and was she wondering where I am? What is with all of the blood on me and the intercom calling ‘us’ prisoners? What did I do or get framed for??

I cautiously walked through the empty train station, abandoned years ago obviously, to overgrown sidewalks and empty countryside on the outer side. The only thing I could think to do was walk away from this place.

Was this Hell?

I was about to find out.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Warne

I am a novice author. My education is in engineering/programming but I had dabbled in going into journalism out of HS. I have just submitted my first short story into the 'Little Black Book' challenge on Vocal. Thank you for your feedback!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.