Journal logo

Adventure Of a Lifetime

Interesting Day

By Neek ColePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read

Well, you can say that today started out like a normal day. This was year 2018. I had been on my job for about 3 or 4 months. I had brought me a new car about 2 months into my job. I get emotional at times thinking about memories. One day I decided I wanted to go visit a place. My grandma past in 2014, she had a property in a old community on a long road. I didn't really remember how to get there so I asked my brother for our address and to my surprise he remembered it. My friend and I were sitting outside after a long days of work. I got off at 4 pm, and it starts to get dark around 6:30 around this time. I looked at her and asked, "Hey, do you wanna go on an adventure with me. " With no hesitation she agreed. Now I didn't tell her that I didn't really know my way around or that I haven't been out there in about 18 years. I googled the address and it was about 45 minutes away from where she lived. The whole ride there we talked about our day and listened to music. I knew I was getting closer because of the familiar scenery. It was path with mailboxes to show you were at the entrance of the highlands. I remember from when I was little. On the way in, my car almost got stuck. I had a Toyota Camry 1999. We laughed and joked about what would happen if we got stuck. By now it was around 5 something. Once we got to the old property I felt at home, and getting to share a piece of my childhood with my best friend was awesome. I pointed here and explained at one point it was a playground set up where me and my brothers were playing fear factor and my brother knocked my two front teeth out. I pointed to the woods and shared stories of all the times we would run and play through them. After I went down memory lane it was getting time to go. By now it was creeping closer to 6 and we're talking about a place that gets so dark you cant see your hands in front of your face. We were now approaching the same place we almost got stuck. I seen two paths, one that I could of went through on the opposite side and straight in front of me. I decided to keep going straight because we almost got stuck, but we didn't. Well, we got STUCK. We were both so scared. We both got out of the car. My friend started digging in the dirt, trying to get the back tire from unstuck. I got out and started digging. we were both on our hands and knees digging in the dirt like hungry dogs trying to break under a fence to get to some healthy cats. You know the dark right before it gets really dark, yea we were there. At this point we were frightened blue. We didn't know what to do. We didn't have much money and everyone we knew wouldn't have came that far. We decided to call a towing company. They answered and hung up. We just knew it was over for us. We kept digging and trying to drive the car, only getting it stuck more. Right before I was just going to give up and give my life to wolves or no telling what else was out there, a man drove by. He ended up stopping seeing that we needed help, went to his house and got his truck and chain. He hooked my car up and pulled us out of the soft sand. My friend and i were on our knees thanking him for his help. He told us it was his pleasure and to be safe. I got in the car and drove to the other side and left. When we were closer back to my friend house she looked at me and said, " I love you girl I do, but remind me, if you ever, and I do mean ever, ask me to go on an adventure with you, make sure I say no. "

humor

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Neek ColeWritten by Neek Cole

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.