Journal logo

Adam and Eve, No Naval Buttons

DALL-E struggles (AI Bloopers, per LC Schafer)

By Lana V LynxPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
6
Image by DALL-E

I've put this story together by L.C. Schafer's suggestion, who thought AI bloopers could be a fun thing (thanks, LC!).

When I was writing my "Who's Eve 1.0?" story, I needed a good illustration of Adam and Eve in paradise. I didn't want to go with the images of famous classical paintings as all of them have Adam and Eve depicted with naval buttons, which as we know is a mistake since they were the first people created by God, not born of a woman, and couldn't have had the placenta.

So, I was hoping it would be a simple request for DALL-E. Wishful thinking!

Attempt 1 Prompt: Please create an image of Adam and Eve in Paradise; they should have no naval buttons and wear minimal primitive clothing.

Attempt 1 Output:

I did not like this image because it was too green, Eve was looking more like a fully wrapped Greek goddess than Eve and had what looks like a third foot sticking out. Besides, there were too many other people in the background, some with work tools (their slaves? or supervisors?), and Adam had a pronounced belly button. Let's take another attempt, shall we?

Attempt 2 prompt: Adam and Eve are the only people in Paradise, there should be no other humans in it, and Eve needs to have less clothing.

Attempt 2 output:

Woah! I said no other people! Who's that third woman walking along with them? And there are miniature humans all over the place?

Attempt 2 question: Who is the third figure in this image, behind Eve?

Attempt 2 response:

OK, I don't like that abstract representation of a nameless female entity. I'll give it another try. Perhaps I should be a little more specific. Let's start from scratch.

Attempt 3 prompt: Please create an image of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, where they are the only human or human-like figures. They are wearing minimal clothing, but Eve's breasts should be covered. As first people, they cannot have naval buttons.

Attempt 3 output:

Oooh, I liked this image a lot! Finally, no other people anywhere in the picture! It actually is still my favorite image, but I didn't like the fact that Eve was topless. That's the only thing I would have liked to be changed about this image. Second to naval buttons, of course.

Attempt 3 clarifying request: Please cover Eve's breasts. Erase their naval buttons.

Attempt 3 response:

Woah again! I'm in violation of the AI content policy, apparently! Because of the naval buttons the first people should not have??? Alright, let's try again, perhaps asking for more clothing?

Attempt 4 prompt: Please try again, create an image of Adam and Eve in Paradise with no other people (they were the first people ever created) and wearing primitive clothing.

Attempt 4 output:

Oy! Now Adam looks like Eve's grandfather and Eve looks like a ballerina from The Rite of Spring. And people in the background again! I'm getting tired of this.

Attempt 5 prompt: Adam and Eve must be much younger and there should be no other people anywhere in the background, please.

Attempt 5 output:

Well, now they look like children's cartoon characters! Or Pitycanthropes. And all those people at the backdrop again! I'm really tired of this.

Attempt 6 prompt: Please try again: Adam and Eve in Paradise are the only humans. If you need to create human-like figures in the background, make them into angels or cherubs.

Attempt 6 output:

I ended up using this image, even though I was not entirely happy with it: their eyes look hollow and Adam's naval button is still visible.

Just for the heck of it, I gave it another try just now with this prompt: Please create the image of Adam and Eve in Paradise, with angelic beings in the background. The result is the cover image for this story. And I noticed that DALL-E still screwed up Eve's eyes.

Thanks for reading! If you have time, here's my "Who's Eve 1.0?" story:

And here's another story about DALL-E struggles, or AI bloopers:

featurereligionlisthumorhumanityhow tofact or fictionartadvice
6

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Amusing...and frightening

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    This is hilarious - I had no idea it was so incompetent!

  • I was thinking the "people" were supposed to be angels and/or cherubim in the first images haha.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Whoops I spy Adam's side chick! My favourite is the one where the caption states they don't have belly buttons, and I'm screaming at the screen going BUT ADAM HAS A BELLY BUTTON, IT'S RIGHT THERE, I'M LOOKING AT IT!!!!

  • A great take on the perils of AI

  • Hahahahahahahahahahaha I loved the explanation it gave when you asked who is the other woman!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.