Journal logo

About Me — Sally Frazer

An introduction to a creator you'll (hopefully) love

By S. FrazerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5

Hello, Vocal!

With the new Subscribe feature, formal introductions are being made, and I'm belatedly jumping on the "About Me" bandwagon.

My name is Sally Frazer. I'm 27 years old, and I grew up in Carmel, Indiana, which is normally a really nice place with a great school system... except for that one hellish week back in 2018:

I have eight sisters and a mom—they’re my best friends. My dad passed last year after a three-year battle with cancer. I also have four amazing brothers-in-law and three beautiful nieces. Our family is incredibly close and full of love.

I graduated from Purdue University in 2015 with a bachelor's degree in political science and sociology. I worked in a domestic violence shelter before starting law school in 2017, and I received my JD in May of 2020. Four months later, I self-published a book analyzing the trajectory of Game of Thrones fan favorite Daenerys Targaryen, and it… didn’t go well.

I spiraled and spent a year unemployed and living with my mom. I discovered the Little Black Book Challenge and became a Vocal+ member in March of this year.

For a while there, my life was pretty directionless. I knew that a career as a lawyer wasn't for me, but I couldn't figure out what was. Until, this summer, two things happened. First, I was accepted to a master's program for history. Then, two months ago, I got the internship of my dreams.

The position: research, which is what I'm good at. Benefits: free grad school tuition, health insurance, and a monthly stipend. Heck yes.

So... life is good! I was able to move into my own apartment over the summer and have been at my internship for a month. I just started classes a few weeks ago and am loving my colleagues and professors. I enjoy living by myself and am so grateful for the fresh start these new opportunities have afforded me.

My favorite movies are Titanic and The Silence of the Lambs. Favorite artists: Taylor Swift and Eminem. (Not sure what my deal is with romance and horror, but it’s a good balance.) I love The Golden Girls, Friends, Rick and Morty, Breaking Bad, Outlander, and The Crown. My favorite books are Harry Potter and Tuck Everlasting.

That's definitely the whitest paragraph I've ever written. I swear I have a personality.

I'm really defensive of Taylor Swift, Meghan Markle, Sansa Stark, and Brendan Fraser. I'm passionate about civil and human rights and think that every American should watch The Report.

And The Big Short.

My bucket list includes such aspirations as bungee jumping off of a bridge, visiting Graceland, and seeing an alligator in the wild. (I've already skydived and watched Pineapple Express high.) This year, I'd like to learn how to embroider.

I’ve struggled with mental illness and addiction, and I’m a maladaptive daydreamer. I'm happily single and have been for four years; I've spent this time working on myself and trying to grow as a person. I'm very introverted, but I have no filter and don't mind speaking vulnerably about hard topics. In the future, I plan to write more about singlehood, mental health, the royals, Taylor Swift, and whatever Vocal tells me to.

I love being a Vocal+ member and hope to begin writing more regularly again soon. I'm excited for the site's newest features and especially love being able to follow my favorite creators. (While you're making changes, Vocal, a filter option on searches would be AMAZING.) I can't wait to get to know everyone—please feel free to reach out and connect with me on Facebook, Twitter, or email!

Thanks for reading! Click the 🖤, subscribe if you're interested, and check out some of my other favorite pieces:

social media
5

About the Creator

S. Frazer

She/her • 29 • Aspiring writer

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.