Journal logo

A Scammer Darkly

Or, The Modern Icarus

By S.K. WilsonPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
'Let them without gullibility throw the first egg.' - S.K. Wilson (2023)

The following is a true story, or at least as true as any interaction on social media can be ...

It is also the final act in presenting this multi-sequence story and the laughable scammer tales ... perhaps to be retold again.

It all started months ago, when an online scammer contacted me and wanted to start building a friendship. I was polite at first, and then when they professed their love for me after 35 minutes of discussion. The distinct smell of something akin to a Bull's rear end wafted across my data plan ...

Unemployed, bored, and intrigued as to how far I could push things, I decided to play some games with them.

I gradually increased the odd things I said, sneaking in references to eating animals not often eaten (such as eating Porridge in bed, roast Wombat and Stone stew for dinners, drinking Platypus milk and Turnip juice, and many more odd things.

I spoke of my new (made up) job of sitting in bath tubs filled with slimy foods while people watched me eat cake. Of course I told them of the Dropbear attack I suffered in my backyard, and the sightings of The Silent Singer too, spotted creeping the garden at night.

Eventually beginning to add pop culture references such as the fact that, 'I love lamp.' All in order to see if they would call out the nonsense (as I felt any non scammer would do) perhaps they were translating everything on the fly and the context changed? For whatever reason they never really questioned anything I said.

Until I told them of my family ...

Them: "Your position in the family and the rest..?"

Me: "I was adopted by my family, mum and dad used to be Dodo farmers until their farm went bankrupt. Then grandpa Joe and grandpa George, and there's grandma Josephine and Georgina. My older brother Charlie who runs a chocolate company."

Them: "Ohh really that's so nice."

Them: "And where is the chocolate company at..?"

Me: "In England, he won it in a competition so moved there."

-Disabled accounts can't be contacted.-

Damn! I had flown too close to the sun, and like Icarus fell plummeting down. My fun and antics discovered, the game was over ...

Or was it?

Prepare, for final battle!

They were back! They scoured the endless void of the internet to find me once more! Back in each other's virtual arms, they were quick to tempt me away from one platform to another, citing safety concerns.

What we have here, is a failure to communicate.

As you may see, I was quick to return to my little game. Deciding this time, there would be no quarter. No limit to reference and the sharing of strange situations and details of my ever-forming life.

Somewhere, somewhere in heaven above me. I know, I know, that my mama's proud of me.

I will leave you now dear reader, to enjoy the tale. Both the ups and downs, the oddities of life, and the joy a loyal online love may bring in these dark times. Please enjoy, for life is short and should at least be fun. I'll see you on the other side of the tale ...

Thirty white horses, on a red hill. First they champ, then they stamp. Then they stand still.

You're probably wanted for murder.

Candyman. Candyman. Candyman. Candyman. Candyman.

A shortcut to what?
I sense much fear in you.

Have fun storming the castle.

Not now Silent Singer!

I just felt like running.

Cheer up, Brian!

There's always a bigger fish.

The Iceman, cometh!

Your house isn't haunted, you're lonely.

Why didn't you list that among our assets in the first place?

You don't have any friends, nobody likes you.

So damn hot. Milk was a bad choice!

Fly, you fools!

Yes, I can hear you Clem Fandango.

In my opinion, best day of the week!

Popeye's chicken is f#$#ing awesome!

People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.

I eat because I'm unhappy, and I'm unhappy because I eat. It's a vicious cycle.

Hello there!

These are our forests.

Here we only sell small rectangular objects, they're called books.

Fear leads to anger ...

Fashion show! Fashion show! Fashion show at lunch!

I'm not bad. I'm just drawn that way.
Goonies never say die!

His name was Robert Paulson.

This is a local shop, for local people. There's nothing for you here!

Frankly, my dear. I don't give a damn.

One girl, was very badly burned ...

That blast came from the Death Star, that thing's operational!

Hit… a hit... You have sunk my battleship!

Anything for my Princess!

Ha! Memory is RAM!

I will be the one!

You should have gone for the head.

What we do in life... echoes in eternity.

Do not cite the deep magic to me witch, I was there when it was written!
I'm simply saying that life, uh... finds a way.

To live... to live will be an awfully big adventure.

Now dear reader, this tale comes to an end ... After this final repeated question, there was no response or message for weeks. When they did eventually message, I felt the game was over and there was no more fun to be had from this source. I had originally started talking to them with the mentality; 'If I'm wasting their time, they can't waste someone else's time.'

But weeks away from the truest love I've ever known. My own life became somewhat busier and I found I had no time for this quest anymore. So I gave no reply, and waited for them to deactivate the account so I could capture the conversation.

I hope this tale acts as a warning, or even a 'how-to' guide for anyone else beset by these online scammers.

Shame really. I did never get to tell them the definition of insanity ...

pop culturesocial mediasatirequoteshumorhumanityhow tofact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

S.K. Wilson

She/Her | Australian 🏳️‍⚧️ Author

My short form writing mostly falls into the absurd, strange and nonsensical. I enjoy writing micro-fiction collections, been dabbling in poetry.

Debut Arthurian fantasy novel out now! The Knights of Avalon

🩷

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.